We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a fabulous time and thank you for the warmest hospitality. The cottages are nicely decorated, warm and have everything you might need to feel at home.
The massages are out of this world and the breakfast is very good. We watched a couple of recent movies on the complimentary DVD and the Internet service was excellent too. Though we did not bring our animals we loved seeing some cuties on the property adding to the cozy feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    85
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
87
168
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I'm glad we found this place as we enjoyed our stay in the Russian River Valley very much. We were only here one night but it was very pretty and well located. We visited the beach, the Korbel champagne cellars, some small local tasting rooms, and Armstrong Redwoods State Preserve. And we walked to a bar down the road that had an outstanding burger and fries (watch the traffic). Our cottage was very cute and comfortable except that, since it was late fall, the floor was pretty chilly and the heater was a little loud clicking off and on during the night. I didn't really notice the road noise but a neighbor's big dog got to barking for about an hour in the evening and again in the morning. I would stay here again. The courtyard is lovely, the s'mores by the fire were tasty (we had it all to ourselves), the breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly, even a little zen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkaseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed with our two children, 5 & 7, for Thanksgiving. It's a really great spot. Very clean large rooms with nice linens, small kitchenette and big bathroom. The property is very well maintained and the best part are the smores when the sun goes down. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I would recommend The Cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnm60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

One of the best family trips ever! The staff was amazing. S'mores at the fire pit was so much fun. My kids had a great time and even my dogs were given special treatment! They had water bowls, treats and towels waiting for us when we got there!

Thank You!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fortunately, we got a good deal to stay here. On the plus side it was cute, charming and quiet. I was actually surprised how quiet it was because the cottages are right next to a busy street. But they must have been pretty well insulated. I think it's a pretty nice place. The bed was fine. The shower was hot. And it was near downtown, which was also cute and charming. On the other hand, the heater was loud, the chairs in the room were broken and the biggest disappointment was that the lady working there did not start the fire so we could eat Smore's (the one thing I was looking forward to about staying there). It did stop raining so we asked if she would turn it on. But she said she would check the weather because if it rains again, the fire pit would turn into a big mess. We kept checking as it never rained the rest of the night. But no fire. Still it was an okay stay though.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room that's away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newlyweds608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I agree with all of the previous reviews that the Cottages are charming, that the s'mores fire pit is delightful, and the staff warm and inviting, as is the continental breakfast that includes healthy stuff like yogurt and fruit.

Driving there was a bit of a challenge, but then I'm a timid driver that's intimidated by winding, two-lane-no-passing country roads. We would definitely go back -- when the weather is warm.

We stayed in a very tine studio, cabin #11, which was charming in spite of its lack of a closet or even hangers--but no adjoining walls. HOWEVER, the wall heaters leave a lot to be desired. The woman who checked us in told us that, in spite of the numbers on the thermostat, the heater had two settings: on and off. Too true!

It was very cold the night we were there (mid-November) and the excess of and/or lack of heat was very uncomfortable. Not to mention that none of the heat reached the bathroom -- needless to say we chose not to shower in the morning before we checked out. I spoke with two young couples we had met at the fire pit the evening before, and they concurred that the heat/cold was very uncomfortable.

Our suggestion, therefore, is by all means go there IN WARM WEATHER.

Room Tip: Some folks have said that rooms away from the highway were more quiet. Traffic noise was not a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like this place. The cottages are clean and the garden is very well maintained and peaceful. The staff was very friendly. However, I recommend splurging for one of the bigger options if possible because our studio was very small and shared a thin wall with the next room. Although the couple next to us were not particularly loud, I could hear their conversations, coughing and movement. I'm sure they heard us just the same. Yes, I could hear the road but that wasn't so intrusive.
Breakfast was sufficient: apples, bananas, bagel and coffee.
I love the property so I may go back and stay in a larger, free standing cottage but I would not go back and stay in a studio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#9 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Creekside Inn & Resort
Creekside Inn & Resort
#6 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing