We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cottages on River Road in late Fall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cottages on River Road in late Fall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I agree with all of the previous reviews that the Cottages are charming, that the s'mores fire pit is delightful, and the staff warm and inviting, as is the continental breakfast that includes healthy stuff like yogurt and fruit.

Driving there was a bit of a challenge, but then I'm a timid driver that's intimidated by winding, two-lane-no-passing country roads. We would definitely go back -- when the weather is warm.

We stayed in a very tine studio, cabin #11, which was charming in spite of its lack of a closet or even hangers--but no adjoining walls. HOWEVER, the wall heaters leave a lot to be desired. The woman who checked us in told us that, in spite of the numbers on the thermostat, the heater had two settings: on and off. Too true!

It was very cold the night we were there (mid-November) and the excess of and/or lack of heat was very uncomfortable. Not to mention that none of the heat reached the bathroom -- needless to say we chose not to shower in the morning before we checked out. I spoke with two young couples we had met at the fire pit the evening before, and they concurred that the heat/cold was very uncomfortable.

Our suggestion, therefore, is by all means go there IN WARM WEATHER.

Room Tip: Some folks have said that rooms away from the highway were more quiet. Traffic noise was not a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnClaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    93
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
93
187
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like this place. The cottages are clean and the garden is very well maintained and peaceful. The staff was very friendly. However, I recommend splurging for one of the bigger options if possible because our studio was very small and shared a thin wall with the next room. Although the couple next to us were not particularly loud, I could hear their conversations, coughing and movement. I'm sure they heard us just the same. Yes, I could hear the road but that wasn't so intrusive.
Breakfast was sufficient: apples, bananas, bagel and coffee.
I love the property so I may go back and stay in a larger, free standing cottage but I would not go back and stay in a studio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice property and great place to relax and stay for a few days. The hosts are great and the evening fire and smores are a nice way to give the guests a chance to mingle a bit. The property sits by a fairly busy road, but the noise isn't bad, particularly if you stay in the inner courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I, along with our small dog, stayed here for one night recently. The cottages surround a wonderful garden. The studio we stayed in was really sweet (lacking storage/closet...). Our bed was very comfortable.

The hostess lights a fire in the central gardens at 8PM & leaves the makings for S'mores. Just great.

Our dog had a welcome box waiting for him. Although he's not a big eater, he loved the dog biscuits.

The hostess was wonderful. High quality continental breakfast.

The only issue we had was the traffic noise. We were only comfortable in our room with the windows closed and were really bothered by the traffic noise on our patio. It was just way too noisy for us to feel like we were on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punkingee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Loved, loved, loved our stay in our cottage! Stayed 3 nights and couldn't have picked a more cozy place. Deanne the manager was absolutely AWESOME! She gave us great tips while on our stay and even booked our wine tour for us, which was just what we were looking to do . As a bonus she even upgraded my husband and I to a 2 bdrm which was great to have the extra space and a nice surprise. Every morning they serve fresh coffee, bagels, bear claws, fresh fruit, yogurt, and provided a tray in case you decide to take it back to your cottage or eat outside to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The property is well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The location is about an hour away from Napa which was our main destination but the drive was gorgeous and we made several stops along the way.Everyone was very friendly. Our money was well spent here. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Our cottage was right in the middle sandwiched between other cottages and we loved it. There is no A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank santanam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, during our annual fall vacation.
Living in Southern Ca., we miss the leaves falling, and the cool air. We found everything that we were looking for within a short drive from our cabin, not to mention the fresh apples, and great food.
The cottage itself was modern and tasteful. I don't like clutter and "antiques". Good linens, good tv, kitchenette, spacious bathroom, fresh paint, nice deck with table and chairs. Very well landscaped, we brought the dog, welcome for a small pet fee, he loved it too. There was no traffic at this time of year. There were easily 100 wineries as well as Sonoma, Napa, Healdsburg, and Bodega Bay..all an easy drive. We didn't get to everything on our to do list, but we loved bringing home gourmet treats and cheeses and relaxing in our comfortable cottage.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom free standing. Nice little living room. Pet area behind our cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

These cottages were a delightful find. We appreciated the great bed linens, wine glasses in the room and the quiet and private feeling of the grounds. The cottages were very close to the road, but the fencing and vegetation gave us a feeling that we were in a private oasis. Breakfast was included and was adequate for the price we paid. This area is close to a wonderful state park with a redwood forest and to manysmall towns with great little restaurants. We had some great meals in that area of California. The owner/manager gave us lots of good information about wineries to visit that fit our criteria, so we could narrow down the choices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
1.2 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing