We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Highlands Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands Resort
Ranked #9 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just got back from the Highlands resort in Guerneville and have had a relaxing and quite pleasant time. The hosts are always friendly, the breakfast goodies always quite tasty, and the cabins quite comfortable. My partner and I stayed in cabin 2 which has a nice sized bedroom, living area, and a kitchen stocked with cook and tableware.

Room Tip: If you want to have a kitchen at your disposal try cabins 1 or 2. These cabins have a bedroom, livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfcelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
47
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In the Redwoods, two uphill blocks from the quirky fun loving town of Guerneville. Lovely Cabins, Staff makes you feel like family. The main house is open to all guests with a real living room. Best continental breakfast I have ever seen. Beautiful landscaping and large pool (clothing optional) . Free Wi-Fi. This resort is primarily LGBT just so you know whether or not to book. Leave your kids at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Europe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was booked into the Highlands Resort for 3 nights and over-all I thought it was ok but a few observations. On check-in the breakfast set up was explained that they do muffins at the week-end but as I was staying during the week it didn't help me much.
My room was spacious and clean but more thrift store than shabby chic - it really could do with a refresh even if it was only the curtains and bedding. The room was clean it didn't look or feel it. Bed was comfortable and the resort was quiet and peaceful as promised with a good location close to town, The shower was much more powerful than expected and good hot water. Overall the reception was friendly and the resort ticks alot of boxes but there is a tired air about the place so not sure I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Too bad, it's a nice location and the accommodations are quaint if a bit shabby. To us, it seemed overpriced by about 25%.

Most irritating of all, on the Saturday of our stay, the pool area was completely overrun with WAY too many people in on day passes. Several of the regular guests including us were unable to get pool lounge chairs because the owners let in apparently unlimited numbers of daypassers. Lame, it felt kind of bait and switch. And a couple of the day pass guys creepily hung around the hot tub late at night begging the regular guests to let them stay in our rooms.

The breakfast is minimal. The pool was absolutely frigid to the point where no one was using it. The hot tub is sorely in need of replacement and is too small for the number of guests, and is oddly on the opposite side of the grounds from the pool.

Close proximity to the resort's neighbors means lots of barking dogs, night time noise, car alarms. (of course, none of that is the resort management's fault...it's just an observation.) Some of the tent campers were very noisy early in the mornings. The place is billed as quiet and tranquil, but that did not describe our experience at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This really is a special place, created by the owners. They are also very special and welcoming people.We stayed here 4 years ago and they have made many improvements yo the garden. However, The decor of our room ( and I wont go into details ) was really poor. A door from our room (which had been filled in) ,into the reception area was very poorly refurbished. The toilet floor was rotting with the toilet sinking below the floor boards. All of this for 160 dollars per night.

We love this place, but were truly upset by what we saw in our room. I do not wish to do any damage to this amazing place, but do think that the owners need to accept the criticisms that I have seen on this site and they always respond to in detail ( while undertsanding this, I find their responses worrying and in denial ). I think they really must not try to dress up shabbiness, with a what they describe as 1950s original decor.They are taking advantage of what we call the " pink pound " or " gay dollar ". I think they need to wake up to the fact that in order to preserve the amazing place they created, they have to make many many improvements to the accommodation. I am sure this review will have a long response from Lynette, but it does not detract from the validity of my views or our experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandsgirl, Owner at Highlands Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Prior to your stay, we had not realized there was serious damage to the floor in the Pool Suite’s bathroom. We appreciated you bringing the problem to our attention during your stay and because of that, we were able to repair and replace everything within 4 days of being notified of the problem.

We also appreciate your comments about the Pool Suite’s décor. You are right that it needs more than just a little freshening and we will be working on improvements over the winter.

We take guest feedback, both positive and negative, seriously and we hope that during your next trip to the Russian River, you’ll consider stopping by and taking a look at the improvements that your comments have brought.

Thank you,

Lynette & Ken McLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

You will likely not find a more impressive setting in Guernerville as the property is nestled in a grove of redwoods and yet proximate to coffee shops, lunch and dinner spots, and the river. And we agree with most other reviewers that the hosts, Ken and Lynette, are great to work with and are most welcoming. By no means are we the typical pretentious gays, however, we expected that the room might be a bit nicer than what we paid for ($140/night midweek). The room was in an older building of the complex with floors that were slanted, windows that didn't seal tightly, and bathroom linens that were likely purchased at Wal-Mart. Despite these minor criticisms , you will not go wrong in staying here. Other reviewers commented that the breakfast should be more than granola and fruit, and that may be so, but in the end, it is our opinion that the price is a bit steep for what you get in return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cascader503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlandsgirl, Owner at Highlands Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Highlands Resort. We appreciate your comments about the Redwood Suite.

You’re right that it is in one of the oldest buildings at the resort and it sits next to the oldest Redwood trees on our property. There is a cluster of three 100 – 150 year old Redwood trees next to the building that are slowly growing and crowding the building. The size of the Suite has already been altered in the past to allow room for the trees. But it’s likely the trees have grown just enough for us to need to make some adjustments again. We’ll look into what we can do to improve the situation.

We are working to provide a better value for our guests. We are upgrading our bath linens this fall. We have already improved our continental breakfast by adding baked items during the week (as well as on weekend) and we are experimenting with new granola recipes. We just added Chocolate/Cherry Granola.

We hope you will be back some time to check out our improvements.

Sincerely,

Lynette & Ken McLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Set amongst towering redwoods, my cabin was a comfortable size and very clean (kitchen area with refrigerator, living room/bedroom and a large shower). With the windows open at night it was cool enough by morning to start the gas fireplace. Nights were very quiet. The grounds are meticulously maintained, including the expansive lawn and slope surrounding the pool. The water temperature in the pool was a constant and refreshing 78 degrees. Lynette and Ken are terrific hosts. Whether you need suggestions for restaurants or interesting drives in the area, they have a wealth of local information to share. Main St is a 5 minute walk down the hill for dining, groceries, etc. In the center of the parking area are a circle of 12 redwoods about 100 years old. This "fairy ring" was formed by the shoots that sprouted from the stump of a huge old growth tree. Ostensibly the "smoking" area, it is a magical spot not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeb256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.5 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverlane Resort
Riverlane Resort
#3 of 9 in Guerneville
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Resort

Property: Highlands Resort
Address: 14000 Woodland Dr, P o Box 346, Guerneville, CA 95446-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since the 1930's, Highlands 'came out' as a gay resort in 1980 (we're 'straight-friendly'). Individual cabins retain a vintage look with chrome and formica tables, inlayed linoleum floors, charming gas fireplaces and private porches.Two blocks from town, the resort is on 3 acres of redwood groves and gardens. Relax at our clothing optional pool! Our concierge assists with everything from restaurants and outdoor activities to wine tasting adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Guerneville
Highlands Resort Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing