We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, relaxing, and convenient”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dock Calm

Dock Calm, Deck With River Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dock Calm, Deck With River Views
Dock Calm, Upstream Russian River Views from Deck Dock Calm, Russian River Valley Wine Country Home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Dock Calm, Deck With River Views
Dock Calm, Upstream Russian River Views from Deck
Dock Calm, Russian River Valley Wine Country Home
Dock Calm, Back Deck faces the Russian River
Dock Calm, Livingroom with Gas Fireplace & Sofa Bed
Dock Calm, Stairs up to 2 Bedrooms and 1 Full Bath
Dock Calm, Sliding Glass Doors off Living Rm to Deck
Dock Calm, Dining Area with Russian River Views
Dock Calm, Full Kitchen with Dishwasher
Dock Calm, Open Kitchen, Dining & Living Area
Dock Calm, 1st Bedroom with River Views
Dock Calm, 2nd Bedroom with River Views
Dock Calm, Upstairs Full Bathroom, Downstairs 1/2 Bath
Dock Calm, Dog Friendly Vacation Rental in Guerneville
Dock Calm, Dog Friendly Russian River Vacation Rental
Dock Calm, Back Deck has Gorgeous River Views
Dock Calm, Doors to Deck with Outdoor Dining & Gas Grill
Dock Calm, Many Stairs down to Cement River Dock
Dock Calm, Relax in the Russian River Valley, Guerneville
Dock Calm, Cement Year Round Dock on the Russian River
Dock Calm, Modern Riverfront Home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Guerneville, Sonoma County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing, and convenient”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Dock Calm is a lovely house with even more beautiful views. It's convenient to dining, outdoor adventures, and wineries. The home is clean and comfortable. I loved having breakfast on the patio every morning!

The stairs leading down to the river are a little steep, but I found them do-able. However, anyone with mobility issues should know that stairs are unavoidable in the home.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Dock Calm! I'd definitely recommend it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely River Views”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful house, fully equipped - even with dog beds, toys and a leash!
The deck was wonderful to watch the sun rise and set and enjoy the river dwellers below.

My only criticism of this place was the river access - you must descend down a steep staircase - accessed from the outside and the cement slabs can be a bit precarious for human and dogs alike .

Don't let that keep you from renting this place - just be prepared.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Thank you for the review!
We're glad you enjoyed Dock Calm! The views are unmatched along the river! Of course, they come at the price of being up high... In the last couple weeks, we've had the hand railing along the stairs to the river reinforced and a small section of fencing added at the lowest terrace before the dock. We think this will make folks more comfortable along the stairs and down at the river!

I hope we'll see you again!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSanDiego...
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“River was warm, calm and lovely for two day of canoe/kayaking/swimming."”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Location is convenient to main part of town, wineries and river. Inside is quite cute with instant fireplace for cool mornings. Beds were comfortable. Good pots an pans for cooking. Zero for spices, oil or anything like that. Plenty of paper products. Washer/dryer and dishwasher worked well and soap was provided with both. Views from dining and bedrooms were wonderful. We didn't use upper porch or lower deck for sitting as we thought we would. Just not that inviting. The way down to the water/deck is steep but we had no problem with it. The lower deck was covered with dirt so my husband spent about a 1/2 hour cleaning it off so were weren't sitting on mud to get in and out of boats. No yard really for dogs or teens to get off their leashes due to steepness, poison oak and an absence of landscaping. As mentioned by others the parking is on a weird slant so could be tricky for some. The hot tub is no longer an option so no comment there. Overall was satisfied, but would have liked even better with more attention to the lower deck and somehow making the yard more useable.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for the review and feedback! The pots and pans are very new, so thank you for noticing! And we love the views here too! We appreciate your comments about the yard and river dock. It is difficult to keep the dock clean as the river level fluctuates and debris runs down hill, but we'll look at ways to improve the upkeep at the dock. And our best recommendation for parking: carpool! Bringing as few cars as possible will make the parking easier by far.

Thank you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louisville
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed October 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2012
Hello!
Thank you for sharing such a great review of Dock Calm! We love that both bedrooms have awesome views of the river... Being up high certainly helps with the views. We know it's odd for folks that aren't used to "lifted" houses to be up on stilts, but it's very safe and we're all pretty darn used to it here. It is better than the very wet alternative when the river comes up to kiss us goodnight! We're glad you enjoyed the house so much - it's very well located to get out and explore the area...

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dock Calm
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2012
Hello!
Thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate the feedback and try to address it as quickly as possible. We wish we could move it just a bit further from River Road, but it just isn't an option. We have inspectors and cleaners sweep down the front of the house for spiders and cobwebs before guests arrive, but under the redwood trees spiders come back very, very quickly. And some of them are beneficial insects, so pest companies won't spray for them. We're sorry they made it into the house!

Anytime you stay in a house, if the cleaning is not up to par, please give us a call! We'll send a cleaner over to touch up!!!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing