We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no title”

Armstrong Redwood State Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.20*
and up
Small Group Sonoma Redwoods and Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Guerneville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A nature reserve that boasts soaring redwood trees.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no title”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

a nice quiet place to explore the redwoods and commune with nature. picnic tables are located thru out if you wanna have a picnic also hiking trails if you wanna walk thru the forest a nice place for some peace and quiet

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    167
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feel like a Hobbit in the Shire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is always humbling to see the giant redwoods in all their majesty. Definitely worth the trip from SF. Enjoyable stroll in the trees is typically 20 degrees cooler than in the sun so dress accordingly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cre8art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Majesty in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My first time started at the outside parking lot. A quick glance at a trail map and off I went up the East Ridge Trail. Up. Up. LOL. Lots of up. I should mention I am not a frequent hiker and nobody could consider me in shape. But the forest was inviting. The peaceful majesty of the trees. Given my conditioning I took more breaks than most. I still fell in love with this place. At some point the East Ridge Trail descended into the valley. My hike became a stroll down the Pioneer Nature Trail. Then on to the Armstrong Nature Trail. There I came to the namesake Armstrong Tree. This is an awe inspiring 308 foot tall 1,300 year old Redwood. Too many people race through the the trails and the trees. My recommendation is to gift yourself time to read the informative placards. Also take a moment to sit and just enjoy the gift of the forest. My path then wondered over to the Redwood Forest Theater. This area has some bench seating for people to sit and enjoy the forest. Many take the opportunity to break out the picnic lunch they packed in. Next time I plan to be one of those who pack in lunch. My trip ended with a casual stroll on the Discovery Trail. This was a truly wonderful experience. If you are new to hiking stop at the visitors center and get advice as to the best paths for your visit. For myself, I have already been back again and planning a extensive hike. One final note. If you don't like gnats a tad a bug spray applied before your hike/walk will get rid of those little.... gnats. :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cool Off in the Redwoods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Leave your car in the parking lot and admission to the park is free. Walk in along shaded paths through thousand year old trees to the picnic area, the most attractive site in Russian River country.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bring your baby strollers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Armstrong Woods is an awe-inspiring cathedral of redwood giants. Bring your children too, because they will be equally amazed by the majestic scenery. If you want a short-ish (1.7 mile) casual walk on a trail that is tamped down enough to push a stroller on it, take Pioneer Trail up to the picnic area and then Discovery Trail back to the visitor's center. We had a sleeping one year old with us and had no problem pushing the stroller along these paths. When there, be sure to close your eyes and inhale deeply. The air is clean and fragrant. On a hot day, you will really appreciate the shade and the silence here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armstrong Redwood State Reserve also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Armstrong Redwood State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing