We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Armstrong Woods is an unearthly experience”

Armstrong Redwood State Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.00*
and up
Small Group Sonoma Redwoods and Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Guerneville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A nature reserve that boasts soaring redwood trees.
santa rosa, ca
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Armstrong Woods is an unearthly experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Travel into the story of Robin Hood when you explore the giant Redwoods of Armstrong Woods. Nice trails and a wonderful experience if you love the outdoors. If you are from the Midwest, these woods are a MUST SEE!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank womanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    876
    170
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
500 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Great Day Hike”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We hiked the 5.6 mile loop. Then, we took the approx. 1 mile trail thru the Redwoods where the Armstrong tree was located. The trail is well marked and a great day hike. We even had time to stop at Korbel for a tour and tasting afterwards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Hike, picnic, explore, take photos!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in Sonoma County since 1973! That is when we discovered this place! Now we take all out of town visitors to see the beautiful redwoods, walks, nature and breathe the cool oxygen from the grove! My brother was even married out here. Beautiful setting, and amphitheater for a crowd. Why fight the crowds at other redwood groves...we have it all

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique and inspiring Plac”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a treat - incredibly beautiful setting. 300 foot Redwoods that are majestic and a great place to spend an hour or two.
Easily walkable on flat terrain you can take in a serene and inspiring walk of around a mile or so.
If you're looking to get away from the masses and want some quiet time that you won't see most anywhere else this is it
And less than an hour's drive from wine country.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always on our list of "must visits"”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Whenever we are in the area we visit Armstrong Redwoods State Reserve. No matter how many times we have seen them, the grandeur of the Redwoods are always awe-inspiring and restful. The walk into the grove is very pleasant and peaceful and a treat to have so close to civilisation which makes it so accessible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sognoCortona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armstrong Redwood State Reserve also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Armstrong Redwood State Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing