We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs warmth and festivity”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The Applewood Inn is a lovely property. Kudos to the housekeeping staff and the service staff in the excellent restaurant. However, it needs to do more to meet the price point.

As an in with an "over 21" policy on age, we expected some wine and basic appetizers in the evening. There were none. Also, the coffee and tea service was not on throughout the evening nor were there the small cookies or deserts usually offered in a inn of this caliber.

The fireplace was never lit in the main room. This was a great disappointment as it would have been a lovely place to sit and visit. Instead, it was cold and uninviting.

As we stayed past Thanksgiving, some holiday decorations were in order but there were none. Most of the time the management was missing.

The door between the original dining room and the swimming pool, spa area needs adjustment as I caught my thumb in it and received a nasty gash.

It appears the inn rests on the laurels of its excellent restaurant. But that is not enough for a B & B.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eurocat75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 538 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

Our room in the original historic home was delightful with sumptuous European linens and great attention to detail. The grounds, nestled in the redwoods, were gorgous and the healthy full breakfast a pleasure to linger over, and that we did. Planning to leave the first thing in the morning, we stayed until check-out to wallow in the experience and the deep down comforter. The owners private art collection is generously shared throughout the property, as well as their warmth and charm. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. It is a must return and a place we have recommended to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OjaiCountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The Applewood and its hosts, Sylvia and Carlos, were a wonderful refuge. Very welcoming and comfortable, and set amidst glorious redwoods. It was quite and soothing and the food at the restaurant was marvelous. The room with the balcony was beautiful and allowed us space to stretch out for our three night stay. Sylvia gave us great tips on places to see, like the Armstrong redwoods park nearby for a lovely walk in the giant trees. I can't say enough about the place and its caretakers...........I didn't want to leave! It was like being at home...................
thankyou so much, Sylvia and Carlos!!!!
barb and dave thomas Gainesville Florida

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillsbury_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My partner and I spent 7 nights at Applewood Inn recently and loved it! It is set in the Russian River Valley that is so gorgeous, and we had a wonderful view of some redwoods from our window. It was central to all the wine valleys (Russian River, Dry Creek, Alexander, Sonoma, and Napa), so it is easy to go wine tasting in any of those valleys. You have access to a wide variety of vineyards. Applewood's restaurant is terrific too. The chef is amazing. I do not like meat and eat vegetarian 90% of the time, but this chef made the most fabulous duck and venison. He could turn me into a hardcore carnivore. The waiter Jesse helped us select just the right wines that would go with each meal also. In the mornings the breakfasts were decadent, and Willis ran around like crazy getting food and drinks for all the inn guests even when some were very high maintenance. The office people were also so helpful with maps and directions, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartBirdsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is an amazing place to stay in Sonoma County. Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast (included), and friendly staff. Right by Westside Road with many great vineyards. Only downside is the beds are rock hard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linglemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We were bumped from another hotel on a busy triathlon weekend but the owners of both places were friends with each other. Applewood graciously took us and allowed us to stay at the rate we would have had at the other hotel. We already had reservations for the Zagat-rated Applewood Restaurant so we were thrilled we were able to stay there too.

The grounds are very lush and we had a private patio too. The complimentary breakfast was the best ever ... sit-down breakfast in that same Zagat-rated restaurant. We even had soy lattes. The menu changes daily and the food is so fresh. They even have some
gardens on site.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The inn was wonderful & restaurant was excellent. Attentive but not intrusive waitstaff, and innkeepers were very warm. Located very close to wineries and the redwoods. Would definitely recommend to anyone considering a stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discopantsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,718 reviews
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn at Occidental
Inn at Occidental
#1 of 1 in Occidental
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $239 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing