We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well conceived facility”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A well conceived facility”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

A beautiful courtyard has been created by adding 3 buildings to an original building, and parking is out of sight from this area and the rooms. The Inn is several blocks from the Russian River and the rooms have no great views other than what has been created by on site landscaping and the courtyard which is adequate. There is great variety in the size and shape of the rooms, so ones experience could vary. My room was probably one of the smaller ones, but very well thought out and acceptable. If fact one of the other rooms I viewed had a door sized opening but no door between the bedroom and the bathroom. I hate that! This is a beautiful secluded feeling facility, and well worth your consideration. Note though that the ownership has recently changed hands and there were signs that the new team's vision differs from the previous team. A guest lounge had all the lights off and was dark and uninviting. This room was essentially the hall to my room, and turning on just the wall sconces was a vast impovement. They should never be off. Another public sun room has mostiy been converted to office/registration to be discovered by tacky pinned up paper notes from the entrance. Some diferred maintenance is showing at damaged tile on roof edges and pealing paint on windows not readily visable. The overall experience was great but it bears watching. The restaurant was fantactic as it has always been when I visited. A great space with two different atmospheres, excellent service, and most important of all superior food. A very nice included breakfast was also served in this space.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLouisTravelerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlosPippa, Owner at Applewood Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
Dear St. Luis Traveler,
As the new owners Sylvia and I would like to thank you for your praises of the secluded beauty of our Inn and our fine restaurant.
The pinned directions to our new office that you so rightfully disliked, will soon be replaced with professional signage. By moving the office from its old confined space to the existing location has allowed us to offer an environment where our customers plan their day adventures with our concierge in absolute comfort, have access to a computer, the internet, a printer and FAX machine while surrounded by spectacular redwood trees. The move also allowed us to convert the old office into a spa room.
The results are often praised by many of our repeat customers.
I have instructed our staff to make sure that the lights on our downstairs and upstairs lounges are always on because I agree with you that these spaces should always be warm and welcoming.
Please visit the Lodging page of our website and you will be able to see the pictures and read descriptions of each one of our rooms. There is a great variety of bathroom arrangements that will accommodate the most chaste as well as the most uninhibited of our customers.
Dear St. Luis Traveler, we sincerely hope that the next time you visit us you will find that Sylvia and I have been loving stewards of the property.
Sincerely.

Carlos F. Pippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    102
    35
    20
    7
See reviews for
24
375
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Beautiful grounds away from the fray. Very nice and helpful staff and delicious food .
We stayed in room 1 which had a nice patio but did have some road noise from highway.
Comfy beds very clean .. and romantic

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susi1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our stay at the Applewood was very relaxing. The Inn itself is set among the pines, ever the air seems crips and refreshing. The staff was very friendly and helpfull, and our room was perfect. It's close enough the Guernville to walk into "town" for supper. Everything about the Applewood Inn is Charming. As others have written,the only drawback was breakfast. First, they didn't start serving untill 8:30AM, not even coffee. And once they did the service was slow - but the food was really good.
If you are lucky enough to visit the Applewood - make sure togo to the Redwood forest - just 10 minutes away. That is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We were disappointed with our stay here. Our room was nice enough, and clean...but the place was just not great with hospitality. The office was set up in a temporary location, and we couldn't find it when we got there. It looked like some kind of renovation was going on. We were happy with our room, but were promised a mini refrigerator and instead were surprised with a tiny wine refrigerator that didn't even get cold. We could never find anyone who worked there, we needed towels and also could not figure out how to turn on the shower (it was a combo jacuzzi tub) and got no answer when calling the "office". I went there and could not find anyone. When I went for my massage the "spa room" was actually a guest room which was freezing (cold snap in CA when we were there). I could not really enjoy my massage because I could not get warm. My biggest complaint is breakfast. It starts too late, there is one waiter serving everyone SLOWLY, and there is only one item. I would have liked more choice, a fruit bar or even oatmeal as an extra to choose from.

In conclusion, just average for the money. Nothing to get excited about, and too many nicer places to stay in this area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachermomny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlosPippa, Owner at Applewood Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Team Applewood strives to satisfy all our patrons yet regretfully we do not always succeed.
Applewood Inn, Restaurant & Spa had a change of ownership at the end of last year and during the early months of the transition we made changes that required some disruptions.
My apologies to all our customers that were affected by them.
The new office includes a customer's desk with access to faxes, internet and printer and the old one has been transformed into a dedicated spa.
Office hours are 9:00AM to 8:00PM. The innkeepers are accessible by telephone from any room from 24/7
Breakfast is served from 8:30AM to 10AM but coffee and tea is served at the bar starting at 7:30AM.
A coffee, tea and cocoa machine is available 24/7 in the lobby of the old mansion.
Our breakfast menu always includes choice of fruit juices, an appetizer that could be our home made granola, fresh fruit with yogurt, crepes with fruit or a blue burry muffin. Our main courses include Frittatas, eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, blue berry pancakes and other exiting offerings paired with smoked bacon, chicken apple or pork sausages. Our breakfast is lauded by many of our customers.

Sincerely.

Carlos Pippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

The room and grounds were exceptional, and our dinner at the restaurant was terrific. The restaurant got great reviews, and didn't disappoint. We loved how the entire property was nestled in the hill side among the redwoods. The included breakfasts exceeded our expectations, far better than the typical bed and breakfast fare. Everyone on the staff was so friendly and helpful during our stay, and gave us great recommendations for wineries, other sights, etc. When my wife wasn't feeling well one night, I went to the restaurant, and they gave me some of their soup (which was fantastic) to take back to the room for her. Everyone really went out of their way to make our stay just great. About one mile from Guerneville, which has a few cool restaurants, and 5 minutes from Armstrong Woods, where we spent a late afternoon hiking through a beautiful redwood forest. Close to some wineries, though a bit of a drive to most--still worth the travel--Hey, you're driving through Sonoma County!

We won't hesitate to recommend the Applewood Inn to anyone traveling to the Sonoma wine country, and hope to return ourselves some day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpecialK40023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We truly enjoyed our 4 day stay at the scenic Applewood Inn. The rooms were quaint and clean. The beds/sheets were SO comfortable! The staff was warm, welcoming and very accommodating! We truly enjoyed our delicious breakfasts, along with our "lick your plate good" meal at Applewood Inn for dinner on our first night there. Also, the surroundings are gorgeous!!! We would highly recommend staying at Applewood Inn!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtpcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I recently spent two nights in Room 6 at the Applewood Inn, and overall we were very pleased with our experience.

We were satisfied with the inn's location, though it was bit farther from our favorite Russian River wineries than we expected. We drove 15-20 mins each morning to get to the nearby wineries and around 20 mins to get to dinner in Forestville, but it was a scenic drive so we didn't mind.

The property is beautiful and quiet, with wild flower beds everywhere we turned. We loved the peaceful courtyard and sat out there each evening enjoying the fountain with a bottle of wine. And the complimentary gourmet breakfast each morning was a real treat: absolutely delicious! I also enjoyed a wonderful massage from Tracy, who was warm and friendly and did an excellent job, though I thought the service was overpriced ($100 for 60 mins in one of the inn's spare rooms -- not a spa, though I believe one is currently under construction).

Though not "luxurious" by any means, our room was charming, cozy and clean, and we felt the $200 pricetag was perfectly reasonable. Really, our only complaint was the uncomfortable bed -- hard and lumpy. And dinner at the inn's restaurant also had its ups and downs -- we wrote a separate TripAdvisor review for it.

In all, since we're not the kind of people who go on vacation to spend an extended amount of time in our hotel room, we will gladly recommend Applewood to our friends. It was a perfectly pleasant, lovely experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,443 reviews
15.8 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing