We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of thew best boutiques I have stayed at”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Traveling.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of thew best boutiques I have stayed at”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Great service, great food, rooms are beautiful, staff are helpful and friendly, and nice and central to all the wineries. Very very nice and highly recommend. Also close to the forest if you like nice walks in the morning. Go!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
371
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was a great getaway and perfect location to do nearby wine tasting, hike in the Redwoods of nearby Armstrong Forest, and raft in the Russian River which you can walk to. Every member of the staff was terrific, the cozy grounds were relaxing and the restaurant - although perhaps pricey to some - was a great setting for our anniversary dinner. FYI, while it had no bearing on my review please note that the restaurant bar serves only beer and wine - after drinking wine all day I was hoping for a martini....oh, well! But the MAIN reason this review is not a 5.0 is because of what must have been a chef ordering snafu at the (only) restaurant there. Online menu boasted a delicious looking Miso Cod dish but it was noticeably missing from the in-person menu that night. We were told it had just been taken off -- we heard other diners grumbling about it being missing in action, too. The Salmon special being offered? Guess what...we were told they ran out of the Salmon but were offering Halibut instead - which I chose and found it to be pretty bland and a bit on the skimpy side portion-wise. My wife, disappointed since she had her heart set on the Cod and does not eat Halibut, ordered the lamb which was outstanding. In closing, there is one heads-up nit-pick tip for summer travelers to this location: I can't speak to any of the other rooms (we stayed in room #7) but ours had no screens on the windows. So if it gets warm the choice is turn on A/C (I dislike sleeping in A/C air) or open the windows. Problem with the latter is that we had a couple mosquito visitors which always seem to find me. We will go back again but will make sure we know what will actually be on the menu.

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the small side and looks down over main road. But it was quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Lack of window screen creates need to use A/C - energy waste.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Such beautiful surroundings, very clean and comfortable rooms, pretty views and flowers, great fruit & vegetable gardens, solar panels, close chicken coop for fresh eggs. Restaurant is so good with lots of local wines and baked goods. Great spa with talented masseurs. (Mine emphasized breathing into ribcage which really helped.) So much on site! Applewood Inn is very close to the Russian River, a kayak sport shop, and the Armstrong Redwoods for beautiful hikes. Also, they are just off the winery road. It was everything we were looking for! We will certainly be going back.

Green Features: Lots of green features, solar panels, gardens, fruit trees and more
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed in room 15 which is spacious and well appointed. The weather was so nice that we opened the windows and french doors for the breeze. Our couples massages were terrific, all of our meals in the restaurant were delicious, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They showed us around the grounds and gave us suggestions for wine tasting and dinner elsewhere. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 15 was our choice and would request the same next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danger916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Applewood Inn is an absolute delight. The grounds are magnificent; the pool and outdoor areas are nicely appointed and comfortable; and the meals in the dining room (dinner and breakfast the following morning) were perfectly prepared and delicious. The staff was most pleasant and accommodating - very familiar with the area and helpful in every respect. Our room, with whirlpool and fireplace, was large, charming and most comfortable. We had a balcony and warmer that could be lit. We definitely would return if we find ourselves in the area and highly recommend this property for a memorable get-away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rose20F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great little Bed & Breakfast....fantastic dinner, great rooms, friendly service--will definitely go back.

The restaurant is excellent--we tried the chef's tasting menu for dinner...fabulous....comes with breakfast and mimosa's, too.

Love the room, very private, each room is different....

Really lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smoberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

What a fantastic place! My husband and I had booked a Groupon for the Applewood Inn. When I called to make a reservation, the days that the Groupon stipulated were completely booked. The reservationist was able to accommodate us and honor the Groupon regardless. Upon our arrival, the staff was ultra-friendly, welcoming, and helpful. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of wine and the owner, Carlos, gave us a tour of the grounds while we waited for our room to be ready (we arrived early). The grounds were absolutely beautiful. We had dinner in the restaurant that night. The food was out of this world! We will definitely be staying here again when we're back in wine country. This was a perfect and peaceful place.

Room Tip: Cozy rooms are very cozy, but some have patios with table and chairs. Depends on what you want: your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,283 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing