We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some grooming”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could use some grooming”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Applewood could be lovely but the grounds seems a bit shabby and unkempt. They are putting money and effort into the vegetable gardens but some time needs to be put into the exterior of the building and the surrounding area. The beds were very comfortable and the room was nice but not outstanding. Our breakfast was wonderful the first morning and mediocre the second. The highlight was the scent of redwoods outside our bedroom windows which we could open for a wonderful breeze. Having said this, I did not see any lodging in that area which would have been superior.

Room Tip: Room #7 is right off the lobby and we were awakened by other guests in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
371
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you want a quiet getaway oasis in Sonoma, you'll love the Applewood Inn. It has a wonderful owner, staff and restaurant. The complimentary breakfasts are fabulous and eating at the restaurant is worth every penny. There are many stairs, however.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a fitness center or whether room service was provided. There was compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 19 for two days and nights. The bed was wonderful, room spacious and setting gorgeous. The redwoods all around this region create a majestic setting with the coast a few miles to the west and the Russian River wineries meandering north and east. Couldn't have been more relaxed! Then we had the wine pairing 5 course meal! Wow! What a wonderful treat at the end of a perfect day.
If everyone had our experience there could only be 5's as ratings! We will definitely recommend it. We will also encourage anyone interested to check out Travelzoo and Groupons to lessen the relatively expensive stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdesirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san rafael, ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just home from a wonderful overnight at the Applewood Inn. We had purchased the Travelzoo offer to give it a try and were so glad we did. The Inn is lovely and in the perfect spot just outside of Guerneville. Great place to chill after a day of amazing wine tasting. Dinner was a true standout....exceptional food and stellar service. We have the tasting menu with wine pairings and I believe it was the best meal I have ever eaten...every...globally! Joe was our main server and he is absolutely a standout. So...If you feel like a bit of a splurge, we don't think you can go wrong choosing the Applewood Inn. We plan on making it a tradtition!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We absolutely loved the Applewood Inn. It was a lovely spot. We had a beautiful room overlooking the courtyard. We had a relaxing massage followed by a delicious dinner. The service was very professional and prompt. We loved the food and the wine. The gardens were beautiful! It was so worth the drive.

Room Tip: An upstairs room was a perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Applewood Inn. The place is very cozy and makes a wonderful base for exploring Russian River Valley, the rest of Sonoma, and even Napa. You won't find a bad meal here; the food is absolutely terrific. I would definitely book a reservation for dinner one night. You should do this before you arrive so as to ensure a table. Bypass the a la carte menu and go straight for the Tasting and Pairing menu. It's not cheap, but it is a meal that you will remember for a long, long, time.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay up for the suites. The regular rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

So many choices - and all of them wonderful.

Starting with sipping a glass of premium champagne while waiting to be taken to our beautiful romantic room that had luxury linens and a patio with a jacuzzi tub. Dinner - when we shared the fixed prix menu - was outstanding, especially the cream of artichoke soup that was one of the five courses. Breakfasts were also enjoyable and are included with your room rate.

What to do? Enough to fill weeks and weeks: visits to the beach to see all kinds of sea creatures, gorgeous drives through redwood forests, walks in the woods, and, of course, visits to world class wineries.

Would we return? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go on the web - you can see them all. We had room 10, a first floor room with a small private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentwoodHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,283 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing