We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget about Napa, Settle in at Applewood Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Forget about Napa, Settle in at Applewood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Applewood Inn. The place is very cozy and makes a wonderful base for exploring Russian River Valley, the rest of Sonoma, and even Napa. You won't find a bad meal here; the food is absolutely terrific. I would definitely book a reservation for dinner one night. You should do this before you arrive so as to ensure a table. Bypass the a la carte menu and go straight for the Tasting and Pairing menu. It's not cheap, but it is a meal that you will remember for a long, long, time.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay up for the suites. The regular rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    95
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
22
365
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

So many choices - and all of them wonderful.

Starting with sipping a glass of premium champagne while waiting to be taken to our beautiful romantic room that had luxury linens and a patio with a jacuzzi tub. Dinner - when we shared the fixed prix menu - was outstanding, especially the cream of artichoke soup that was one of the five courses. Breakfasts were also enjoyable and are included with your room rate.

What to do? Enough to fill weeks and weeks: visits to the beach to see all kinds of sea creatures, gorgeous drives through redwood forests, walks in the woods, and, of course, visits to world class wineries.

Would we return? In a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go on the web - you can see them all. We had room 10, a first floor room with a small private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrentwoodHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The woman who greeted us was lovely and even admitted while showing us the room that the dressing area was dark. Yes, DARK is the operative word here. The whole place is dark and oddly laid out. We stayed in Room 16, the most expensive room at the Inn and it just was not special. We ate at the restaurant, which by the way, WAS SPECIAL...REALLY excellent food. I am from San Francisco, a foodie...it WAS GOOD! But..back to the INN....on the way to eat..there were empty boxes by the stairs....and other unkempt somewhat messy looks all throughout the grounds. My feeling was..nobody seems to care about the grounds, the darkness of the rooms, or the overall experience. If this INN was in the middle of a fun town it would be a nice retreat, but, it is not, and the grounds do not lend themselves to a resort feel. So, if you decide to stay, just know it will be an ok place to sleep and have a good meal but it will not be a resort like Auberge in Napa or Ventana in Big Sur. And do not splurge for the 500 dollar a night room...not worth it. Oh..yes..we did have a hot tub on the deck, but it looked RIGHT INTO THE RESTAURANT...which meant, of course, they could look at us. From what I could see, all the rooms looked at one another or at the restaurant...so...again...just go to lay your head on the pillow, eat a good meal..and then go somewhere else to enjoy Sonoma.

Room Tip: I have no good tips...the rooms are totally average
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

After reading all the reviews on this place, my husband and I were really looking forward to wonderful meal at the Applewood Inn.. What a major disappointment for both of us. The service was OK. The atmosphere again OK. However the food was extremely disappointing. We both ordered the fish. I ordered the Bass. The size portion was 2 inch by 1 inch in a lukewarm bland broth. I could have eaten the portion in two bites but tried to portion the meal to last atleast a few minutes. My husbands Halibut was overcooked. Again the portion size was appetizer size at best with alot of rice added for filler. After one glass of wine, a shared salad, and two entrees we left with a bill over a hundred dollars and both still hungry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice grounds. Comfortable rooms. Breakfast very good. Unique every day. Large for a B&B so you don't get to know other people or the innkeeper. Stayed 3 nights. Couldn't get the heater to work in either room. We had to reschedule our trip at the last minute in Jan & were accommodated without a problem. With so many B&Bs around, think We'll try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong -- certain things were amazing. The food, for example is spectacular. The rooms are pretty nice. The beds are really quite lovely. Customer service was ok, seemed a little stiff to me and not very warm. We paid a lot of money to stay here and it was a good experience, but I won't be going back. Also, a word of warning -- I walked around the grounds of the Inn (on the path in the wooded area) and I was bitten by a tick. Just be careful during tick season and wear some bug spray!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bunny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Applewood inn from 3/18-3/22 for our anniversary. We did take advantage of the stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free offer. Which made the not so good a little easier to take, I would have been even more dissapointed if we had paid full price. We had stayed here in 2009- before the change in owners, and it was amazing, so in contrast, this was not at all what we expected.

The Good:
Property is beautiful, very convienient to many vinyards and cute towns to visit, I like Guernville for all it's rough edges. Our bed was nice- the mattress, sheets, and duvet were clean and comfortable. When we actually got helped by somebody, it was generally pleasant. This is also one of the only adults only properties in the area, and it was free of children.

The Meh-
The room- We stayed in #3- which is on the bottom floor, you could hear every person walking around, and it was quite noisy- there was also a small sitting area outside our room which got used, and it sounded like people were in the room with us. The floor to cieling windows do not have any kind of sheers or anything on them, and look out onto a walking path, so I was not inclided to open them in the morning, so the room was pretty gloomy. The breakfasts are ok, but really nothing special,most notably the asparagus omlette- which was not an omlette, more like a scramble, and while my husband had a ton of asparagus, mine had one tiny spear in it- fourtunatly he shared, but really. All the other breakfasts were also ok, but nothing great, usually lukewarm, and really seemed like "home cooking"- and not in a good way.

There is also no coffee maker in the room- you have to trek out to the dining room for any, the supposed coffee in the lobby is a keurig machine, that was only turned on during the evenings. The sodas are in the office, so if you would like one after 6pm- you have to go buy one elsewhere. There is also no mini fridge, and also no food options after 9pm when the restaurant is closed, without a mini fridge, there is no way to store anything, and the only option in Guernville at that hour is a mini mart, so if you like to eat late, you will be having corn nuts. I would have appriciated a warning that things closed early, or having at least having some power bars availabe. The Conciere was helpful in pointing out wineries to visit, but kept answering the phone every 2 min- I assume they have some kind of answering machine?

We also ate dinner there on our last night, granted it was restaurant week, but the place was not even half full, and the best part was the salad- everything else was fine, but not great, the dessert, which was a tuille with marscapone cream, was burnt, and the lamb was oddly tasteless, except for the giant cocca nibs, which were unpleasantly hard, I had heard that the chef who was there when they got the michelin star is at another place now, so that could explain it.

The Bad-

We flew in from seattle, and our flight was to arrive at 5:45pm, assuming that the drive would be about 30min, my husband called to let them know that we would most likely be there by 6:15 or so, after the office was closed, he was told that they would put our key in the late arrivals box. We arrived at Applewood around 6:20, and it was totally empty, the main house, which is where the office is, has sheers on every window, and looked dark and closed, we checked the late arrivals box, and there was not an envelope with our name on it. So, we rang the doorbell- after a few minutes a man yelled out the upper window "what do you want? we said we were late arrivals, and he said "the box is right in front of you" we were trying to explain that our envelope was not in the box, and then the door was opened by a lady who showed us into the office. It turned out that the office person was still in the office, and was in the process of getting our envelope ready- she made the comment- we did not expect you until 9.. to be honest, starting your vacation being yelled at by the owner I assume, does not bode well. It was hardly the middle of the night, and if he does not want to be disturbed, then the door bell should go to the office, or they could maybe put an open sign on the door. That was the only interaction I had with the owners the duration of the visit.

Overall- this place seems to want to be a luxury B&B, but the execution is just not there, it's like amature hour with passive agressive amatures.

Room Tip: Stay out of the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p00gle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
12.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.2 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing