We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Applewood inn from 3/18-3/22 for our anniversary. We did take advantage of the stay 3 nights and get the 4th night free offer. Which made the not so good a little easier to take, I would have been even more dissapointed if we had paid full price. We had stayed here in 2009- before the change in owners, and it was amazing, so in contrast, this was not at all what we expected.

The Good:
Property is beautiful, very convienient to many vinyards and cute towns to visit, I like Guernville for all it's rough edges. Our bed was nice- the mattress, sheets, and duvet were clean and comfortable. When we actually got helped by somebody, it was generally pleasant. This is also one of the only adults only properties in the area, and it was free of children.

The Meh-
The room- We stayed in #3- which is on the bottom floor, you could hear every person walking around, and it was quite noisy- there was also a small sitting area outside our room which got used, and it sounded like people were in the room with us. The floor to cieling windows do not have any kind of sheers or anything on them, and look out onto a walking path, so I was not inclided to open them in the morning, so the room was pretty gloomy. The breakfasts are ok, but really nothing special,most notably the asparagus omlette- which was not an omlette, more like a scramble, and while my husband had a ton of asparagus, mine had one tiny spear in it- fourtunatly he shared, but really. All the other breakfasts were also ok, but nothing great, usually lukewarm, and really seemed like "home cooking"- and not in a good way.

There is also no coffee maker in the room- you have to trek out to the dining room for any, the supposed coffee in the lobby is a keurig machine, that was only turned on during the evenings. The sodas are in the office, so if you would like one after 6pm- you have to go buy one elsewhere. There is also no mini fridge, and also no food options after 9pm when the restaurant is closed, without a mini fridge, there is no way to store anything, and the only option in Guernville at that hour is a mini mart, so if you like to eat late, you will be having corn nuts. I would have appriciated a warning that things closed early, or having at least having some power bars availabe. The Conciere was helpful in pointing out wineries to visit, but kept answering the phone every 2 min- I assume they have some kind of answering machine?

We also ate dinner there on our last night, granted it was restaurant week, but the place was not even half full, and the best part was the salad- everything else was fine, but not great, the dessert, which was a tuille with marscapone cream, was burnt, and the lamb was oddly tasteless, except for the giant cocca nibs, which were unpleasantly hard, I had heard that the chef who was there when they got the michelin star is at another place now, so that could explain it.

The Bad-

We flew in from seattle, and our flight was to arrive at 5:45pm, assuming that the drive would be about 30min, my husband called to let them know that we would most likely be there by 6:15 or so, after the office was closed, he was told that they would put our key in the late arrivals box. We arrived at Applewood around 6:20, and it was totally empty, the main house, which is where the office is, has sheers on every window, and looked dark and closed, we checked the late arrivals box, and there was not an envelope with our name on it. So, we rang the doorbell- after a few minutes a man yelled out the upper window "what do you want? we said we were late arrivals, and he said "the box is right in front of you" we were trying to explain that our envelope was not in the box, and then the door was opened by a lady who showed us into the office. It turned out that the office person was still in the office, and was in the process of getting our envelope ready- she made the comment- we did not expect you until 9.. to be honest, starting your vacation being yelled at by the owner I assume, does not bode well. It was hardly the middle of the night, and if he does not want to be disturbed, then the door bell should go to the office, or they could maybe put an open sign on the door. That was the only interaction I had with the owners the duration of the visit.

Overall- this place seems to want to be a luxury B&B, but the execution is just not there, it's like amature hour with passive agressive amatures.

Room Tip: Stay out of the bottom floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p00gle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    100
    35
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
371
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Best dinner, from making the reservation to paying the bill, experience we have had so far. I don't know if I have enough good things to say about this place.
We called to make reservations and the person who took our reservation asked us if we had any coupons or deals. We did not but it got us to thinking!
We found an amazing travelzoo deal for both dinner and a stay at the Inn. We already had our accommodations so we bought the one for the dinner.
Our experience was amazing even with out the coupon, that was just the icing on the cake!
The restaurant itself is rustic and elegant. Not crowded and the noise level is just right for conversation or not.
We were brought fresh bread with butter.
We loved our starters. My boyfriend was still raving about his Quail egg on crispy pork belly this morning. I do know the sauce of lobster reduction was incredible. I had the scallop with caviar. Really really nice.
We did the red meat en tree's. I had the lamb. I am getting misty just thinking of it. The lamb was cooked to perfection and the mint chimi chimichurri was a perfect balance of mint and parsley. So fresh.
He had the beef tenderloin. Cooked to a perfect medium as he requested.
We ate every last bite of our dinners.
The service is impeccable. Every person who came to our table was five star. Each dish, as presented, was described for us.
The wine menu looked great but I love beer, I had the Puddle Jumper pale ale. Also amazing.
For dessert we ordered the Profiteroles of Peanut Butter and the Three-Layer Chocolate Mocha Mousse. Both were poetry in taste and textures.
You can tell that every part of your experience, the minute that you walk through the door, is the most important thing to the staff. Even if you have a travelzoo coupon!
We will be back.

Room Tip: We had dinner here only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondgirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love the welcome sign to Guerneville, CA ... "Welcome to Guerneville, a hate-free community." That was the start to a fantastic weekend along the Russian River, Sonoma Valley, and up the Highway 1 past Jenner to Ft. Ross. Guerneville is a wonderful, peaceful small town with access to the Russian River and the entrance to the Anderson Redwoods State Park. While Guerneville itself is very casual and laid back, I would chararcterize the Applewood Inn as very relaxing with a touch of Italian countryside elegance. Combined with dinner and breakfast (the latter which is included), the Inn is a great weekend getaway. I think each of the rooms are unique. Ours was #15 and as I understand was just recently rennovated. Small in size but very comfortable with gas fireplace and king-size temperpedic bed. I would probably opt for a room with its own separate bathroom/bathtub and patio however. The restaurant in my opinion is 5 stars. For dinner, I had the squash soup and miso cod and for breakfast, french toast. Both meals were great. Simple, healthy, flavorable and elegant for dinner. And the french toast and bacon for breakfast were delicious. The inn is a 1/2 hour drive to Jenner (where the Russian River meets the Pacific Ocean). Plenty to do in the area and is about 10 minutes from the Korbel winery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Applewood Inn provides a peaceful, romantic getaway in Sonoma County! The setting is serene & beautiful amongst all of the redwoods. Staff is extremely accomodating and friendly, and the included breakfast is fabulous! Our room was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found on our travels. We purchased a bottle of wine at one of our tastings and were able to enjoy it sitting next to the cozy fireplace. Some of the rooms in the main house are small, however we chose the Livorno room which was a bit larger and it was perfect. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Livorno room is a bit larger with more storage than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonder to behold in the redwoods all around your windows in your rooms. We stayed at Pisa room. It was a junior suite. It had a very nice new Pillow top mattress. The bathroom remodeled. The breakfast Was gourmet and came with all the mimosas you could drink excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our third time staying at Applewood Inn and we'll be back again. This time we requested Room #16 with the jacuzzi on the upper patio. The pre-fixe "chef's tasting menu" dinner is some of the best food we've ever had and we are tough food critics. I'd highly recommend you bring a bottle of your favorite from the Russian River wine region to have with dinner.

We purchased a Travelzoo package that included the pre-fixe dinner, breakfast and a discount on a couples side-by-side massage and we were very pleased. Can’t wait for the next Travelzoo special at Applewood Inn.

Only go to Applewood Inn if you're looking for peace and quiet, a large clean room, drinking your favorite vintners' libations, dining on a spectacular 5-course pre-fixe dinner, romance back in the room, and then a fabulous breakfast in the morning.

They also offer a wine tasting pass good during your stay at many of the local wineries.

All in all, one of our favorite get-a-ways ranking up there with the Tu Tu Tun Lodge in Southern Oregon for lodging/food experience.

Room Tip: View the rooms online before you book your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Inn is a bit of an oasis in the Russian River. Really it's the only place to stay. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, fireplace & nice bathroom. Staff is very nice & helpful. Breakfast at the Inn is wonderful! I would say the restaurant is just ok for dinner. I would suggest eating there only as to not drive after a long day & plenty of wine.

Room Tip: Spend just a little more to get the fireplace & nice bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,281 reviews
12.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing