We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Refreshing Russian River Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middletown, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Refreshing Russian River Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love the welcome sign to Guerneville, CA ... "Welcome to Guerneville, a hate-free community." That was the start to a fantastic weekend along the Russian River, Sonoma Valley, and up the Highway 1 past Jenner to Ft. Ross. Guerneville is a wonderful, peaceful small town with access to the Russian River and the entrance to the Anderson Redwoods State Park. While Guerneville itself is very casual and laid back, I would chararcterize the Applewood Inn as very relaxing with a touch of Italian countryside elegance. Combined with dinner and breakfast (the latter which is included), the Inn is a great weekend getaway. I think each of the rooms are unique. Ours was #15 and as I understand was just recently rennovated. Small in size but very comfortable with gas fireplace and king-size temperpedic bed. I would probably opt for a room with its own separate bathroom/bathtub and patio however. The restaurant in my opinion is 5 stars. For dinner, I had the squash soup and miso cod and for breakfast, french toast. Both meals were great. Simple, healthy, flavorable and elegant for dinner. And the french toast and bacon for breakfast were delicious. The inn is a 1/2 hour drive to Jenner (where the Russian River meets the Pacific Ocean). Plenty to do in the area and is about 10 minutes from the Korbel winery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    92
    32
    19
    7
See reviews for
22
343
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Applewood Inn provides a peaceful, romantic getaway in Sonoma County! The setting is serene & beautiful amongst all of the redwoods. Staff is extremely accomodating and friendly, and the included breakfast is fabulous! Our room was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found on our travels. We purchased a bottle of wine at one of our tastings and were able to enjoy it sitting next to the cozy fireplace. Some of the rooms in the main house are small, however we chose the Livorno room which was a bit larger and it was perfect. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Livorno room is a bit larger with more storage than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonder to behold in the redwoods all around your windows in your rooms. We stayed at Pisa room. It was a junior suite. It had a very nice new Pillow top mattress. The bathroom remodeled. The breakfast Was gourmet and came with all the mimosas you could drink excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDogCA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our third time staying at Applewood Inn and we'll be back again. This time we requested Room #16 with the jacuzzi on the upper patio. The pre-fixe "chef's tasting menu" dinner is some of the best food we've ever had and we are tough food critics. I'd highly recommend you bring a bottle of your favorite from the Russian River wine region to have with dinner.

We purchased a Travelzoo package that included the pre-fixe dinner, breakfast and a discount on a couples side-by-side massage and we were very pleased. Can’t wait for the next Travelzoo special at Applewood Inn.

Only go to Applewood Inn if you're looking for peace and quiet, a large clean room, drinking your favorite vintners' libations, dining on a spectacular 5-course pre-fixe dinner, romance back in the room, and then a fabulous breakfast in the morning.

They also offer a wine tasting pass good during your stay at many of the local wineries.

All in all, one of our favorite get-a-ways ranking up there with the Tu Tu Tun Lodge in Southern Oregon for lodging/food experience.

Room Tip: View the rooms online before you book your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Inn is a bit of an oasis in the Russian River. Really it's the only place to stay. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, fireplace & nice bathroom. Staff is very nice & helpful. Breakfast at the Inn is wonderful! I would say the restaurant is just ok for dinner. I would suggest eating there only as to not drive after a long day & plenty of wine.

Room Tip: Spend just a little more to get the fireplace & nice bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is our third visit to Applewood Inn and once again, everything was perfect. We happened to pick a weekend when the heavens opened up and drenched Northern California but it made our room all that more cozy. Breakfast was wonderful and when I asked for the recipe for their special Chilaquiles, they typed it up and mailed it to me. Service! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn Dec. 6-8. We enjoyed dinner both nights at their sensational restaurant. The first night we had the incredible tasting menu and the second a la carte. We both had the cod and thought it was fabulous. Service was exceptional, the room devine. The highlight was the couple's massage with wine, cheese and roses waiting for in the room. Wow! Meg and Sharon did a great job thoroughly relaxing us. Would highly recommend the Inn. Found nearby town of Guernville really dodgy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.8 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
10.4 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing