We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A slice of civilization in Guerneville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of boon hotel & spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
boon hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A slice of civilization in Guerneville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I just spent a truly lovely weekend at Boon and recommend it highly. A great oasis of simple design and nice touches (such as candles in lanterns throughout the property at night). Tom, who manages the place during the day, was extremely helpful with tips on wineries to visit and checked in a few times to ensure we had everything we needed. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning is a great luxury. Yes, the food is simple, but it's good and the coffee rocks. We also ate both nights at Boon's restaurant in town and once at their market (Big Bottom Market) and were equally impressed with both. Will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We found room 9 to be a good one - about mid-way down the property with a nice deck in front, good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    39
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
97
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I first walked into our room, I was disappointed. Ratty looking carpet, bad tile job, ikea stuff scattered throughout. However, as the ambiance of the place sunk in, I fell in love with the cool vibe and particular vision of the place. First off, for those who hate eating breakfast with strangers, this is the bed and breakfast for you. In cooler months, the tray with french press coffee and a light continental breakfast is delivered to your room. Ingredients are excellent (eg. delicious yogurt, fresh berries, boiled farm egg), but there are no "choices", so if you are particular, this may not work for you. The stoves (firelog only) are fantastic at night and in the morning. The outdoor area is a blend of whites, blues and weathered wood, with the occasional injection of the places' trademark orange. The saline pool is FREEZING like a plunge pool (we were there late October). However, sitting out in the saline hot tub under palm trees and redwoods is emblazoned in my mind as one of those lovely vacation moments. Also, the place is practically in walking distance of an amazing redwood forest, which just adds to the magic. Staff are friendly, but not on-site all the time (you can call them if need be), so don't expect hand-holding, concierge service etc. This place is almost a whole different model of running a hotel, so if you're up for that, I think you'll love it. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tobytyler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Boon was over priced, the room was too small and out dated, but breakfast was good. The room was clean however, but TV was sooo tiny that it was hard to watch. If you are looking for luxury steer clear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1006kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Like all the other reviews, this hotel was peaceful and relaxing. An oasis near Guerneville. Clean, simple, ---on the verge of being dated. Clean white bedding with an incredibly relaxing mattress. Great in-room mini bar /snack basket and a spectacular honor bar near pool. The wine selection at the honor wasn't super, on our visit-- only red wine. However, I was able to make 2 great gin and tonics. Great breakfast! Was expecting typical continental breakfast foods but was surprised to find excellent savory biscuit sandwiches, muffins and fruit. All items, including coffee were delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyRoxyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Boon is a small hotel on the outskirts of Guerneville; it is an easy 15 minute walk to the Main st. There are 14 rooms around a pool, lawn and bar area, it is very quiet and serene. Our room was a deluxe queen with a small deck off patio doors at the rear of the room. The room is modern, within minimal furnishings but quite stylish. When we arrived it was super hot but Evan has placed fans in the room and by the time we retuned from dinner it had cooled to a reasonable temp.
Breakfast is bagels, fruit and coffee served around the pool; and easy start to the day.
I would return for a relaxing stay or to go hiking or riding in the Armstrong Woods.

Room Tip: There is some road noise, rooms 13 and 14 are closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice modern-style rooms (about 14 in all) arranged around the central pool and hot tub area. Pool is heated and the hot tub is super hot. Very nice after a long day on the Russian River. I think no kids under 18 allowed, we really enjoyed the atmosphere lounging by the pool and relaxing with a book.

The bed in our room was very comfortable. We also had a cool fireplace that we used each night. Great location -just a few minutes to Guerneville (a funky little town) and just down the road from Armstrong Redwoods. Breakfast - pastries, fruit, coffee, and juice - is put out each morning in the self-service bar by the pool. Sitting on the deck with coffee and breakfast (and maybe a few minutes in the hot tub) is a great way to start the day. Staff was super nice, helped us make some plans in the area via email/phone before we showed up. We'll stay here again next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Boon Hotel is about a halfmile from "downtown" Guereneville, easy ride on the hotel's free bikes. The room was nicely decorated and spacious (we'd upgraded a level or so). The rooms are arranged around a heated pool with attached bar which doubles as the breakfast area. Breakfast was fine -- bagels, fruit, juice, and coffee. Friendly, helpful, and accomodating staff. Within easy reach of the spectacular Armstrong Redwoods park -- best seen (I think) on one of the hotel's free loaner bikes. There is so much to do in Guerneville and the area and this is an excellent base foriall that.

Room Tip: We upgraded one level, and had a very spacious room with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to boon hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about boon hotel & spa

Property: boon hotel & spa
Address: 14711 Armstrong Woods Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at boon believe the earth and its resources are gift and we must do our part to preserve them. We believe in luxury, design and amenities. We believe a hotel should amaze you and leave you eager to return as soon as possible. Welcome to boon. You're gonna love it here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boon Hotel & Spa Hotel Guerneville
Boon Hotel And Spa
Boon Hotel & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing