We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Boon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of boon hotel & spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
boon hotel & spa
Save
You added boon hotel & spa to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Boon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Boon is a small hotel on the outskirts of Guerneville; it is an easy 15 minute walk to the Main st. There are 14 rooms around a pool, lawn and bar area, it is very quiet and serene. Our room was a deluxe queen with a small deck off patio doors at the rear of the room. The room is modern, within minimal furnishings but quite stylish. When we arrived it was super hot but Evan has placed fans in the room and by the time we retuned from dinner it had cooled to a reasonable temp.
Breakfast is bagels, fruit and coffee served around the pool; and easy start to the day.
I would return for a relaxing stay or to go hiking or riding in the Armstrong Woods.

Room Tip: There is some road noise, rooms 13 and 14 are closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice modern-style rooms (about 14 in all) arranged around the central pool and hot tub area. Pool is heated and the hot tub is super hot. Very nice after a long day on the Russian River. I think no kids under 18 allowed, we really enjoyed the atmosphere lounging by the pool and relaxing with a book.

The bed in our room was very comfortable. We also had a cool fireplace that we used each night. Great location -just a few minutes to Guerneville (a funky little town) and just down the road from Armstrong Redwoods. Breakfast - pastries, fruit, coffee, and juice - is put out each morning in the self-service bar by the pool. Sitting on the deck with coffee and breakfast (and maybe a few minutes in the hot tub) is a great way to start the day. Staff was super nice, helped us make some plans in the area via email/phone before we showed up. We'll stay here again next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Boon Hotel is about a halfmile from "downtown" Guereneville, easy ride on the hotel's free bikes. The room was nicely decorated and spacious (we'd upgraded a level or so). The rooms are arranged around a heated pool with attached bar which doubles as the breakfast area. Breakfast was fine -- bagels, fruit, juice, and coffee. Friendly, helpful, and accomodating staff. Within easy reach of the spectacular Armstrong Redwoods park -- best seen (I think) on one of the hotel's free loaner bikes. There is so much to do in Guerneville and the area and this is an excellent base foriall that.

Room Tip: We upgraded one level, and had a very spacious room with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Boon did not disappoint. I booked a room here for my husbands birthday weekend and we had a wonderful experience. The room was minimal but still very cute. Everything was clean and the room was stocked with all the necessities plus more. We stayed in room 10, its away from the road and very quiet at night. I feel that if we had stayed in a room next to road we would not have slept well, it's a small road but still quite load. The jacuzzi was a huge win and you can't beat the pool side honor bar. Morning breakfast brought to the room was perfect, just a light snack with awesome coffee to get us started on our day.
I was worried about the distance to the wineries/vineyards but in the end this didn't bother me at all. The drive into Santa Rosa is quick and the scenery along the way is very pleasant.
This place is not for the snooty and the high maintenance peeps out there. The vibe here is relaxed and minimalist.

Room Tip: It seems that the rooms in the back farthest from the road are quieter. Most rooms surround the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were thrilled to find this little hotel on the edge of Armstrong Woods, a gorgeous Redwood forest. Every detail of this hotel is perfect. The owner, Crista, obviously has a great eye for detail. The rooms had been transformed from what I imagine where dark and woodsy to white and sparkling. The fireplaces are sweet and romantic, the products are eco-friendly and the logo design is fresh and effective to my graphic designer eye. The owner also owns two restaurants in town that are both really good with great local wines and cheeses. Evan brought us a lovely breakfast in the morning with home-made baked good and the best coffee I have ever had at a hotel. We enjoyed the steaming jacuzzi after a long day of driving. They have bikes for the guests to use to ride into the woods, which is a short easy ride. We rode into the woods and got engaged! What a special place this is. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked the hotel room as part of a group up in Guerneville for the annual Barrel Tasting
Wine Road in Northern Sonoma County. the Hotel is in close distance to many wineries and in walking distance to Guerneville downtown. The room was comfortable, clean and welcoming. The bathroom is not very spacious but is functional with a larger shower with a very good shower head. Impeccable service and excellent breakfast made the stay a real pleasure. Bonus was dinner at the owners Boon Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaTozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've been meaning to write this review for 2 years. The good news is that this is a trendy, funky, cute place in Guerneville convenient for touring the small organic farms in the area. The pool area is charming with guests bringing their pets and their bottles of wine out to the lawn to socialize. The rooms are spare but comfortable; some have fireplaces.
The bad news is that it is not up to luxury hotel service standards. The phone is not always answered and there isn't always someone at the reception desk.
Sometimes you have to wait.....
The ugly is that after checking out, while we were speeding down the freeway toward the airport I realized I'd left my watch in the room. I called the hotel. No answer. I kept calling and finally got an answer. I explained that I'd left my watch. They promised to check with the housekeeping staff (which was waiting outside our room when we walked out) and call me back. They called back and said a "sports watch" had been found that day. Unfortunately my watch was a Rolex; I never saw it again.

Room Tip: Nice place to bring your doggie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larsthorwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to boon hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about boon hotel & spa

Property: boon hotel & spa
Address: 14711 Armstrong Woods Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at boon believe the earth and its resources are gift and we must do our part to preserve them. We believe in luxury, design and amenities. We believe a hotel should amaze you and leave you eager to return as soon as possible. Welcome to boon. You're gonna love it here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boon Hotel & Spa Hotel Guerneville
Boon Hotel And Spa
Boon Hotel & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing