We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time for everything.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First time for everything.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went to do some kayaking with my girlfriend for her birthday and needed a place to stay on a Saturday that was also close to the ocean. The price was the best I could come up with given the geographical location I needed so I booked a basic unit. First impression of the basic unit is that it was very clean albeit small. No problem. The bed was comfortable and the hotel is located within walking distance of Safeway and kayaking rental places. Now I'm not so naive as to think that no one has sex while on vacation in a hotel room. Especially when the hotel furnishes complimentary condoms in the bathroom. But when we were looking for my girlfriends earring and instead found a used condom under the bed....that automatically lowers the review rating. I guess this was a complimentary used condom. Might just make this a day trip next time...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ultrasweatproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
33
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The cottage we stayed in was roomy, newly refinished, and filled with antiques. Being set back a few blocks from Main Street, The Woods is quiet and peaceful but handy to great restaurants, coffee shops, shops, and markets. Michael couldn't have been more accommodating. Our only regret was that we hadn't come in the spring to enjoy the patio, pool, and what must be his spectacular floral displays.

Room Tip: Although the basic cabin we first checked into had a nice kitchenette, the bedroom was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here two weeks ago with a few friends and we took 2 rooms. The cottage was convenient, well heated and spacious. The basic cabin was cramped, the heater took forever to work and the access to the room was not convenient if you had baggage. As we visited this place in the thick of winter, we didn't utilize the pool or the outdoors. However for the overnight stay we had there, we thought it was a little too pricey, particulary during off-season. Very close to town and a not far from Bodega Bay, Jenner and the beautiful Sonoma Coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupertinogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Compared to other options in the area, this is a decent hotel. It needs paint and some updating, but the room was large and clean. The walls are thin - I could hear coughing in the next room. The location is great - walk to everything in town, and the owners are very nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NWTraveler983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great location to get away for a few days.. Hotel very accommodating--in the heart of town. Guests are all interesting people. Good restaurants nearby and all the wines are "mighty fine." Best exploration nearby-Bodega Bay--also, Healdsburg. Bravo to Mike!

Room Tip: Carefully review the websight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carleton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Arriving at Woods it does look a little tired but after. A while you get used to the laid back feel of the place. Lovely roses but need dead-heading. Painted concrete that is rough. Cabins that are a little wobbly. However overall it works and is a great and convenient place to stay. Only a short walk through to the town shops and a good selection of restaurants. Sad to leave. Would be more interesting at a busier time of year. Gas fore in cabins is a nice touch but the chimney fan is unbelieveably noisy and we needed it as the bedding was summer weight. Happy to return and stay again. No breakfast served. Michael very pleasant but did not assist even to help with a trolley bag to take it round to our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Only one complaint: Hot tub above our room ran on the first night at 10 pm then again the next morning at 7 am! It only lasted a few minutes so it wasn't that bothersome to our sleeping, just kind of annoying.

That being said...the rooms were very clean, neat, quiet (except for the hot tub) and pleasant. The flowers were beautiful. Sitting on the deck it was peaceful and very quiet. The bed was very nice!

Definitely will be back on our next visit to Guerneville!

Room Tip: Hot tub over the penthouse was noisy when it was on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_and_L_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.4 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woods Resort at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Property: The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Address: 16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Woods Resort at the Russian River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Resort is the perfect answer for a relaxing, rejuvenating and (perhaps) slightly "spirited" escape to the Russian River. The Woods, centrally located in downtown Guerneville, is situated between the tall, swaying redwood trees and the hypnotic flow of the splendid Russian River for the ideal getaway.Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, dancing and live entertainment, The Woods Resort sits in a quiet corner bend of Fifes Creek. The serenity of the grounds will enchant and lull you, with rooms and suites outfitted with the highest quality amenities.The Woods Resort offers cottages, free-standing guest cabins and multi-room suites with full kitchens, gas fireplaces, private balconies and stunning views of lush redwood forests. The resort has one of the largest swimming pools in the area, has full sun all day long. With an outdoor fireplace, stone fountains and romantically lighted landscaping, your stay at The Woods is guaranteed to make you forget the chaos of the real world.Your hosts, Michael and Verna, are veterans of the local customer service industry with a familiarity of all the area has to offer in the way of recreation, adventure, wine tasting, dining, spa treatments and entertainment. They are happy to help you plan an exciting, memorable stay at the Russian River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Woods Resort at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Hotel Guerneville
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing