We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
73
14
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
14
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hosts rooms are comfortable phil pia coast retreat
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017

The Inn is in a beautiful location that's very convenient to enjoy the Mendocino coast. The rooms are comfortable and cozy and there's a number of lovely spots around the property to relax and enjoy the outdoors. Pia and Phil were lovely, helping us with everything we needed and providing pleasant company during the breakfast, which is absolutely incredible.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

My wife and I live near San Francisco, and we recently escaped for a two-night stay at North Coast Country Inn. Not only are NCCI and Gualala perfect locations for your basecamp - centrally located for exploring California's gorgeous coast - our hosts, Phil and Pia, were extraordinary. We highly recommend NCCI and will be encouraging family and friends to visit.

Room tip: The two rooms at the top of the property have ocean views.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

From the time we made our reservation for a 4-day stay, owners Pia and Phil were a delight to work with. Their Inn is exactly "as represented' on the web site; our selection of the spacious Southwind room on the upper terrace afforded us an ocean view, vaulted timber ceilings, a most comfortable king bed, and room furnishings that included a dining/game table, gas fireplace framed with two swivel rockers and plenty of space for all the 'stuff' we manage to bring when we take a road trip. The full breakfast each morning was exceptional - - whether dining in the cafe or having it brought to your room by the owners, the eggs benedict, garden-fresh fruits and homemade flan were both delicious and plentiful. The innkeepers' hospitality extended to "after hours" as well. Although guest rooms do not have TV's, Pia and Phil made a special effort to enable us to watch a Golden State Warriors NBA playoff game in the cafe. How thoughtful. We especially liked the serenity of their property, giving us a sense of "getting away" from it all during our stay, even though the Inn is adjacent to Highway 1 just a couple miles north of Gualala. When we have the opportunity to return to the north coast, we will visit once again with our new-found friends and innkeepers at the North Coast Country Inn.

Room tip: For best view, ask for rooms 5 or 6.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

I definitely liked the layout and setting of this place. It is also important to consider that the first of the rooms are located less than fifty feet from the highway. There is road noise. It's also time to do some sprucing up. The front decorative fence is leaning, and has a few makeshift repairs to hold it together. The entry parking area has a number of areas where the asphalt is worn down to the dirt. Lots of weeds growing through the asphalt in other areas. Yard debris was also piled high in an area near entry parking. The lawn is totally dead except for the dandelions.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevecz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Inn keepers are very welcoming and made sure we were comfortable. The room was very comfortable, we enjoyed the fireplace and comfy chairs. The breakfast was wonderfully made, and the Inn keepers helped guest with ideas to their days. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews