We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as we had hoped for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gualala Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our room was located downstairs and was pet friendly. The beds were not that comfortable and the furnishings seemed old and the room felt sort of dreary. The refrigerator was located in the bathroom under the counter. During the night water started leaking through wall behind the refrigerator onto the bathroom floor. The town closes down at 9:00 and the staff told us to get our food before then. We didn't much care for this place and will not be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wyorancher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Over priced, but quiet and comfortable. I would say a little corny.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in the "Horizon" room, which has very nice views of the ocean and the Gualala river, and while the views are spectacular and predominant in the room, I had the strangest experience I have ever had in a hotel. The energy was a bit "Murder She Wrote" to put it in the lightest words. The furniture and carpet are old, and though I know some things like this are common up the coast, it didn't do much for the vibes that are already there. At first glance the room and ocean are, of course, beautiful, but if you are the type that can tune in...well.....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank louis123-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing getaway and Gualala fit the bill. We stayed at the Gualala Country Inn in June of 2010 and we were very pleased with the hotel, our room and the hotel staff. We paid a little extra for a room on the second floor, which was worth every penny - the view was breathtaking. The spa jacuzzi tub was great after a long day of hiking. I would recommend the Gualala Country Inn to couples looking for a peaceful relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2008_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Gualala Country Inn had all we could ask for - great view of the ocean, room with a small fridge & microwave, comfortable beds. The "country" part, as best as I could tell, meant a usual standard size/layout motel/hotel room, but the furniture was not uniform, and lots of surfaces had cloth on them. It wasn't bad, but nor was it particularly charming. There were also some old books in our room - they were actually kind of cool. But don't go looking for a boutique inn. The continental breakfast was fine - bagels, mass-produced (Costco?) muffins, coffee, juice, and some real fruit (even plums one day). We spent some time in the Anderson Valley wine area, which is a bit of a drive on hilly, curvy roads (but is was very pretty).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Our overall impression of the motel is that it is decent without being outstanding. The price of this motel was the most expensive of our 10-day stay which included more touristy cities such as Monterey and San Francisco. To be fair, the price is a fair value when compared to other hotels / motels along the US-1 coastal highway that runs thru towns such as Bodega Bay, Jenner, Gualala, and Mendocino. The proximity to the ocean combined with the relative lack of competion pushes prices up. The motel is run by a friendly couple who were very helpful in answering our questions. As promised, our room had a clear view of the Pacific ocean and was equipped with microwave and fridge. It was not terribly spacious but was of acceptable size. There is no air-conditioning in the room, which is itself not a negative because of the relatively cool temperatures. However, the lack of a fan resulted in a stifling environment at night (especially because we were uncomfortable in leaving the windows open on our first floor unit). The continental breakfast was acceptable and included boiled-eggs in addition to the typical fare of muffins and breads. In the unlikely event that we visit Gualala again, we would stay in the hotel again as long as a fan was available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkenkare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This hotel was probably the best choice on a budget. It was the least expensive, available hotel in town, and it's not disgusting. It was pretty clean, although the smell of carpet freshener haunted me as I tried to sleep. Also, the mattress pad kind of squeaked as if it were water resistant.

It's also on the noisiest corner in town, but it's a pretty quiet town.

The management were more than helpful, and the other guests were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 001Slo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
7.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
790 reviews
21 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
316 reviews
4 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gualala Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gualala Country Inn

Address: 47975 Center St, Gualala, CA 95445-7538
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $159 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gualala Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gualala Country Inn is situated on the Mendocino coastline, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the Gualala River and the beach. Accommodations have either a Pacific Ocean and/or Gualala River views. The parlor & ocean view rooms offer an excellent vantage point to watch the fall and spring migration of the California Gray Whales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gualala Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gualala Country Hotel Gualala
Country Inn Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing