We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Follow Up to Previous Review - Amazing Response”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Follow Up to Previous Review - Amazing Response”
Reviewed April 28, 2010

As a follow-up to our previous review....We were on a weekend motorcycle trip and stayed at the Surf Motel last weekend in Room 104. We were able to get the room at a great rate of $99.00. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and given our key. Our room was a disappointment though. It was extremely small, had several issues that needed attention but thought we'd just write after our stay. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Cassie, the manager, was in attendance at the breakfast and extremely friendly and informative. The breakfast included waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, juices, coffee etc. Actually, I felt it was unbelievable for the price we paid for the room. When we got home, I immediately wrote the owner a letter addressing my concerns and literrally the next morning received an email indicating how he would address each issue and when they would be resolved. One of the comments was the condition of a table and chairs in our room. The owner Eric responded that he was having furniture refinishers come in on Thursday to refinish the items. I have never received that kind of response from any comments I've made for any facility. It's obvious this owner cares for his customers and for this reason, we will go back. I'm sure my grading will be different next time. The location is perfect, the breakfast is outstanding and the issues we commented on are being resolved immediately. Amazing customer service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
125
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed in room 104 on a discounted rate of $99.00 through Travelocity. I was excited because we are almost "retired" motorcyclists who enjoy staying at little "Mom and Pop" facilities, not just generic Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott facilities, and had heard wonderful things about the Surf Inn in Gualala. We've stayed at unusual places all over the world and was looking forward to adding this one to our album.

Cons:
We arrived last night and were given room 104. I have to tell you, after the reviews I saw on Trip Advisor, I expected a quaint room in a family run facility. What we got was an awful room. I have attached a couple of pictures to let you know I'm not a complainer and to verify what I'm describing. I give accolades where due but I also let people know when something is not right. The room itself was small which was fine. When we came in, I took off my motorcycle riding boots only to discover that the carpeting made my white socks black almost instantly. It appears as if the carpet hadn't been cleaned in years. There were obvious spots and the room felt dirty. The featherbed cover had spots of food and what appeared to be blood stains on it and hadn't been washed in some time. The bed itself, looked like it had old sheets on it. They did not smell fresh and were pilled and threadbear. The blanket was so pilled and thin, it was disguisting. The furniture was fine (some of it beautiful) except the table and chairs had so many nicks, theylooked like they were from a dump. Instead of refinishing the top of a table, they put a piece of glass on top of it. That really doesn't make it look any better. The TV remote didn't work. I spoke with the front desk the first night and they told me people get button happy and to just press the Input button and it should work. It at least turned it on but you couldn't adjust the volume with the remote at all. You had to turn on two buttons to turn on the fan in the bathroom which was filled with dirt. The heater, which we never used, was rusted. The lighbulbs in the lamps were different style which looked cheap. If you're going to replace bulbs, make them uniform. One had a circular bulb and the other had a hanging bulb and because the lights were hung so high, the bulbs were all you saw. The featherbed on the bottom over the mattress was a waste. It kept coming off during the night so I was always sleeping on a plastic cover. It would be better to just sheet the matttress and have the nice thick feather bed on top or put some kind of clasp to hold the feather bed on. The walls were so thin...there were several men in room 103 next to us that came and went all night long slamming the door and talking. I don't think the facility was full that night so it probably would have been better to separate people with rooms to avoid the noise problem. The bathroom floor should have a large mat. It felt dirty whenever you walked across it with bare feet. I laid several towels down to make it cleaner for us. The chairs, as you can see in the attached pictures, need refinishing. I would suggest, since the rooms are so small, that you only have one small comfortable stuffed chair and table and if people need to eat, to use the bed as the second seat to make the room larger .

Pros:
Towels were thick and clean. The breakfast was fantastic. Chrissy (Spelling?) was extremely friendly and informative when we ate our delicious breakfast. Good variety of food and the biscuits and gravy were wonderful. If it's a mix, we'd love to know which one it is. Friendly staff. Great decor in the breakfast room. :)

At this time, I just can't recommend your inn unless you make some substantial improvements to rooms. It seemed as if it could really be a nice welcome place but was a great disappointment to us both. This information will be put on Trip Advisor and Yahoo so people can make an informed decision for a room in Gualala.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
320 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Of the limited choices for a reasonable price this is a good choice. This is an older motel where the rooms have been upgraded. Our room was very small, but had nice furnishings.The bathroom needed more shelves. The fridge is stored in the bathroom, very awkward. The lobby is very pleasant, some of the breakfast items were not all that tasty, but the effort was appreciated, great coffee. The owners are friendly and helpful.. There is a fun walk along the cliffs and a nice place to sit outside.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The Surf Inn was more than I could have hoped for. The town of Gualala is so lovely, and every local we met was openly friendly. The location on the Mendocino/Sonoma county border is absolutely beautiful. Even though our room was not listed as ocean view, we could look out the window and watch the surf breaking off the river mouth and headland.
Lovely room, and the breakfast buffet incluides eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, fruits, etc., etc. !
The staff are totally interested in your welfare and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrotherRedwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We travel to the coast a lot and have never stayed in Gualala. We loved the hotel & wish we could have stayed longer. It is right on the ocean, we had breakfast made to order and the beds were awesome!! It is quiet and very relaxing. The owner & his daughter were in town & they were so friendly & hospitable. Next trip we will be staying longer!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed here in mid January because of a recommendation from a local New Age Bookstore owner. In our entire 3 day trip up the California Coast this is the one place that we would have spent more time at and returned to. The location is scenic beyond compare. Although it is located right beside the road our room was very quiet. We were able to leave the windows open at night and be lulled to sleep by the surf. But, most important, it was very clean and affordable. Probably the least expensive beach front accommodations on the whole coast.
Beds had thick pillow tops and were very comfortable. The whole place was spotless. Great breakfast in the morning with home made scones and biscuits with gravy. Service and hospitality were at the highest end of the scale. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k9taos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Surf Motel has some clear pros and cons. Pros: great location-- you can see the ocean from the parking lot and there's even a beachside trail that also starts from one end of the parking lot. It's in the center of town (not that the town is that big), and the price was right. The beds were really comfortable, with very warm and soft comforters.

Con's: while they have flat screen tvs and ipod players, they didn't work for me. The iPod player seemed to only fit smaller iPods and we found our tv wasn't plugged in to anything (we had to figure out the cables and plugs behind the tv and finally got it to work). There seemed to be a universal remote that didn't work with anything. They advertised dvd players but when we got there ours wasn't working. We asked the front desk woman the next morning (since nobody was staffing the office the night we were there) and she said how the DVD players were all new and not yet working. So that was a bummer for us, but hopefully they will be working soon. All the same, I would have been happier with a regular old tv and clock radio that worked immediately.

The rooms were clean, but they were pretty small, and overall somewhat dark at night.
As for breakfast, the waffles were a nice touch. The other items were very dry biscuits and muffins, and then the standard motel fare.

Overall, if you're looking for a decent, cheap motel in a beautiful location, this place will do. But don't let the fancy technology or breakfast offers fool you-- this is still your basic budget motel. A good budget motel, but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
21.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
22.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
14.0 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 39170 S Highway 1, P.O. Box 695, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel was the first lodging facility in Gualala on the Ocean built in 1965, it has seen upgrades over the years to include 3 full ocean view rooms and 1 suite; 5 rooms have full kitchen. The inn was redone in 2008 when bought by new owners and now serves a full hot breakfast each morning. Free Wifi and parking are your to enjoy. Office is open from 8:30am until sunset. 24 hour phone service and night service is avalible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Gualala
Surf Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing