We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner, great location, good breakfast”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The building may be a little older, and the room on the small side; but the room features all the amenities you would get in a more upscale hotel and the owner exudes genuine hospitality.

It was a little tight manuvering around our room, which had a queen bed, two bedside tables, a dresser, simulated fireplace, small table and chairs. There was also in-room coffee, clock radio (I think with an IPOD dock, but I'm not sure), WiFi and a good size flat screen TV. In the bathroom closet was frig and microwave. The bed was comfy, the shower hot, and the room was clean.

We had no cell signal in Gualala, and needed to participate in a very long business conference call. The Surf only charged $3 for unlimited telephone calls, which I consider very reasonable.

The location is great, on the top of the cliff right on above the Gualala River and the ocean. Behind (on the ocean side) of the The Surf is a short path that is a good place to stretch your legs. The Surf also has nice, mature xeroscape landscaping and chairs to sit and enjoy the view.

The owner projected very genuine friendliness. Even making a point of letting us know which local restaurants were open the night of our stay. He was just as friendly in the morning. The breakfast spread was very complete, with cereals, fresh cooked waffles, sausage, gravy and the real fresh cooked scrambled eggs. I feel compelled to mention the eggs, because I'd swear that The Surf was the only hotel/motel breakfast buffet I've had recently where the scrambled eggs that actually tasted like scrambled eggs, and did not taste like chemical, powdered eggs.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdtravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfmotelowner, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We never get tired of hearing your kind words, from all of the staff my I say thank you. All our best to you and yours

Eric R. Cogdill
Your humble servant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 251 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love The Surf Motel, having stayed there many times. It's always clean and comfortable, and Mike and Heather are welcoming hosts who keep the place in tip-top shape. Plus you get a fantastic home-cooked breakfast including their famous cooked-to-order Waffles! The bedding is good quality and comfortable, nice extras - like coffee in every room, Wi-Fi, DOG FRIENDLY (Yay!) plus a little kitchenette area, too. The nearby ocean waves lull you to sleep and greet you in the morning. There's a nice area with ocean view where you can do some Yoga or read or relax, and a little trail to walk your dog - even poop bags are provided! Plenty of parking for the boat and the Subaru--we heartily recommend this place which is run so well by such nice people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfmotelowner, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

My I say that you naming Mike and Heather in your post makes me so happy. I am not always there at the inn, it give me great comfort to know that the level of service is noticeable. Mike and Heather are great and we, Caron and I love them both.

Your humble servants at Lodging on the North Coast

Eric r. Cogdill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Surf Inn is charming, very clean and welcoming. It is managed by a wonderful couple named Mike and Heather. They love their work, Gualala and the ocean. This is evident in their warmth, cheerful energy and how well they treat you. If you love nature you will be thrilled. The beaches, river and state parks are breath taking! The combination of a great property, beautiful beach and nice people is unbeatable. Thank you very a wonderful getaway!

Kevin D

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfmotelowner, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Wow, loved your last line, " Great place, beautiful beach and people" Thanks for helping others understand what we are all about.

Your humble servant

Eric R. Cogdill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel while travelling up the California coast. The stay was entirely pleasant. The room was clean and well appointed with an efficient kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding and pillows were also great.

It was evident that the owners have pride of ownership. The exterior of the motel was neat, well kept and decorated with many interesting pieces. Allow some time for morning coffee on one of the benches or chairs overlooking the ocean. Enjoy the hummingbirds feeding on the flowering shrubs. What a great way to start the day!

Breakfast was top-notch. The scrambled eggs were great as were the fresh waffles, sausage and assorted other breakfast treats. The scones were amazing!

Don’t plan on arriving late. This sleepy little town rolls up the roads pretty early at night. This really isn’t a hardship though because you will want to enjoy the trip in daylight!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice, clean motel style Inn, atop the cliff, over-looking the ocean. The price was modest. The room was clean and maintained. Mike & Heather, the managers, were very friendly, and quick to respond to our needs. The free breakfast was good, (great waffle), and there's a couple wood chairs in the back, where you can sit and watch the ocean. Just look for the whale tail sign and you'll find it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Motel is located in central Gualala with great ocean views from the grounds. The staff is very friendly, especially Mike and Heather who provide morning breakfast as well as guest services. The room was small, but clean, comfortable and a little noisy at times. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfmotelowner, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

It is folks like you that make our humble little motel a perfect place enjoy. Making the most of the area and it's surroundings is what it is all about.

We are so happy to have Mike and Heather, love them both knowing that they want to please us as owners but more importantly you as our Valued guest.

Thank you for trusting a non franchised property. We are always at your service.

Eric R. Cogdill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took a long weekend and went up the coast. We stayed in here, since we had never stayed in Gualala before. The room we stayed in was a bit small (but it did have two comfortable chairs and a table - perfect for eating in or email), not a problem for us though. Great shower, largish bathroom, fridge and microwave. Bed was very comfortable and there was a nice tv. Nice bluff trail to take a walk with dogs and grassy area with chairs overlooking the river and ocean. Both our dogs loved it. Good breakfast in the morning (fresh warm biscuits, yum!). We were stragglers so we had a lovely opportunity to chat with the inn managers Heather and Mike. They are both very friendly and delighted with the Motel and the area. Their enthusiasm is contagious. Even though new to the area they had great recommendations of local eateries and things to do. They made our stay and we are planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfmotelowner, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

I am one proud Owner! To know that Heather and Mike did such a great job in the service of you our guest made my DAY.

They will receive a bonus from us for your kind words about them. Well Lets Just say you made both our days.

We value that you trusted us with your Travel dollars and so happy you enjoyed our motel.

Hope to see you again.

Eric R. Cogdill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
790 reviews
21.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
22 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
4.1 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 39170 S Highway 1, P.O. Box 695, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $121 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel was the first lodging facility in Gualala on the Ocean built in 1965, it has seen upgrades over the years to include 3 full ocean view rooms and 1 suite; 5 rooms have full kitchen. The inn was redone in 2008 when bought by new owners and now serves a full hot breakfast each morning. Free Wifi and parking are your to enjoy. Office is open from 8:30am until sunset. 24 hour phone service and night service is avalible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Gualala
Surf Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing