We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakers Inn
Nearby Hotels
Surf Motel(Gualala)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gualala Country Inn(Gualala)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Coast Country Inn(Gualala)(Great Value!)
$220
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
79
51
20
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
51
20
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgualala rivercontinental breakfastjacuzzi tubduraflame loglarge balconybagelsocean viewgrocery storethe wi fione night staythese folksinto considerationlove seatsonoma countysmall townpoint arenawatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 178 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2005

The room was very nice and homey. Loved the fireplace. We stayed in the Mendocino room - which is a 'partial ocean view room', but still had a great view of the ocean an river, especially from our patio. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smcjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

After seeing the photos and reviews of the BREAKERS INN, I chose it for our one night stay on our car trip. Unfortunately, we got severely detoured and arrived VERY late and VERY stressed at 8:30 pm. We were greeted very warmly at the front desk and made to feel 'at home'. We only booked their partial ocean view room for this trip, but it was perfectly fine. I did view/photograph their luxury room before leaving the next morning (see photos).

The rooms are very quaint and comfortable, each with their own decor. Ours was the 'Napa' room and one of the three partial ocean view. Even so, we had our own private deck that had an ocean view, as well as an ocean view from part of our room. Some of the jacuzzi rooms have tubs that are oceanfront in the room, some are in the bathroom, and two have a sauna in the bathroom.

Our bathroom was basic and very clean. The room was average sized, but the luxury oceanfront rooms are very large. We had a high four-poster king bed, real fireplace, two chairs and a table, a coffee maker, and wet bar.

The lobby is very cute. There is always coffee, fruit and cookies available. In the morning, they do an excellent job with their free continental breakfast and provide trays for you to take your breakfast to your room.

The town looks very cute -- though we didn't have time to explore it. We're looking forward to that on our return trip. There is also a market, which I believe has a deli, right next door to the Inn, as well as a few other resturants within walking distance.

Onsite with the BREAKERS INN is the Oceansong restaurant. It shares the same stunning view that the room at the Inn have. Everyone in the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. They couldn't have been nicer to us. We were trying to get take out food at 8:40 before everything closed. We only wanted sandwiches and they let us order from the bar menu. We had two sandwiches to go and ate in our room -- with wine and the fireplace. The sandwiches were EXCELLENT. I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

The BREAKERS INN has a stunning location that would be hard to beat.

It's one of the nicest places overall that we have stayed, and a huge value compared to some other properties. Don't forget to ask for your AAA discount!

It was a great stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ALadyNCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2005

The Breakers Inn most notable features are first and foremost the absolutely incredible location and amazing view of the ocean and Gualala Point/Beach from inside the room and on the balcony. Situated on a bluff directly above where the Gualala River meets the Pacific Ocean - pictures cannot do it justice. I reviewed the pictures in their online gallery before I booked the reservation and thought the location looked decent; I was blown away when I walked through the door and looked out over my balcony.

I booked one of the Deluxe Corner Oceanfront Rooms with Spa and the room itself was quite nice. It looked to be recently renovated, well maintained, clean, nicely appointed with the standard 4-5 star amenities. Don't expect a Hyatt Regency or Ritz Carlton quality room; it's slightly more motel'ish, but still very nice. This comes from someone who frequently stays at resorts such as the Ritz Carlton Kapalua or the Grand Wailea Resort and Spa, so I'm accustomed to pretty nice places. The room had a large King bed and a nice couch and love seat near the fireplace and window overlooking the beach. The bathroom had a nice deep ceramic and tiled Jacuzzi tub with plenty of room for two. The jets were decent and you can easily and quickly adjust the temperature by adding hot or cold water which could be dispersed at a ferocious pace if you cranked the valve open. Bring some candles and bubble bath for extra romance. I'd recommend spending the extra dough to get the Luxury Oceanfront Spa Room with the tub inside the room overlooking the view.

The town of Gualala is also quite nice; a few little shops, some places to eat, and not too many people unlike Monterey/Carmel. The drive on Hwy 1 South of Gualala is simply amazing; blows Hwy 1 through Big Sur away hands down. Lots of little State Parks where you can stop and walk on trails down to and along the rugged Pacific Coast where Redwoods meet amazingly blue waters. The Hwy snakes in and out of gulches along the coast and at some points you'll find yourself hundreds of feet above the ocean with incredible views - keep your eyes on the road, or stop to look.

It's a wonderful place to visit, and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank d-the-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Rosa, Ca
18
Reviewed November 19, 2004

My expierence with the Breakers Inn was horrible! I was so disappointed in the lack of professionalism from the hotel manager and the cleanliness of the hotel! When we arrived in our room we greated with seven huge spiders and many other strange insects. When we were looking for something to kill the spiders with we found ROACH killer! There were spiders webs all over the room and it was obvious that the room was just not clean! The room was three hundred dollars and when you pay that much money for a one night stay you should not have to deal with being an exterminator. When we contacted the hotel manager with our disgust with the room we were offered another room in the hotel and because we declined we were verbally attacked by her. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone! Never Stay at the Breakers Inn!!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Novato, CA
310
Reviewed August 19, 2004

We have stayed here twice. The first time we got the most expensive room which was a large corner room with a spa for two and a sauna. We had the greatest time and the bed was so comfortable! They have a lovely continental breakfast included with your stay in the morning with coffee, pastries, fruit and some other things. My husband would go get it for us and bring it back to our room. We were on the top floor and hear no noise from any other patrons. It was as if we were there alone. The second time we stayed, we got the more inexpensive room which was much smaller and had the spa in the bathroom as opposed to in the room by the fireplace. This time someone was above us and we could hear them running their spa. It wasn't horrible though but more noisy than before. We were close to the restaurant next door and late one night after the bar closed we could hear people outside fighting, drunk. The less expensive room had no robes and no VCR but still very nice, clean and comfortable. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews