We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!!!!”
Review of Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakers Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a wonderful place. Shauna greeted us after a long drive down the coast and made things smooth and comfortable. The best hospitality our family has ever had. The room was unbelievable and the view from our balcony was stunning. Shauna invited my wife and I to the parlor for a glass of port wine. When we told her it was our 17th wedding anniversary she complimented us with a nice bottle of wine. I would strongly recommend this Inn to anyone traveling to the Northern California coast. We cant get back soon enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 176 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Breakers Inn for three nights in late June. The room was large, clean, and well decorated. Every room has a breathtaking very of the coast line. We stayed in the Wales Room. There were two queen size beds, a wood burning fireplace, a TV, microwave, coffee maker and mini-fridge. The bathroom was huge. There was a large shower and a jacuzzi tub. It is a very romantic place, but also good for kids.

The Breakers Inn Staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. It was very cold during our stay and we ran out of warm clothing. I called the front desk to find out where the closest laundry mat was located. Instead, the desk staff got permission for us to use housekeeping's washer and dryer after hours.

The location of the hotel is great too. There is a grocery store (with everything you could possibly need) right next door. The is a hotel on site (that is also fantastic) and several places to eat in walking distance.

I would highly recommend the Breaker's Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was in Gualala for a wedding and stayed at the Breakers Inn for three nights. We were in the Virginia room and it was clean and had amazing views from the balcony. The service is friendly and we really enjoyed our time there. The restaurant at the Breakers has amazing clam chowder and the wait staff and bar staff are top notch. I want to return to Breakers again and let the rest of my family experience the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a great place to relax and enjoy a beautiful ocean view. Rooms are large, and very nice with comfortable beds and chairs. Be sure to drive up to the Point Arena Lighthouse - beautiful area and a great tour of the lighthouse.

Side note: We took the Steward's Point-Skaggs Springs Road from the Napa Valley area to the Pacific Coast, this with out a doubt is the most crooked road we have ever traveled and it goes on for miles and miles. We have driven many mountain roads and this one tops them all. If narrow, winding roads are a concern, find another route.

Room Tip: Limited wi-fi access in building "D" which the front desk confirmed was a problem for this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okla-Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Happened upon this wonderful location after driving Hwy 1 all day with no place to stay. Much to our surprise, the price was very good, the rooms were great and the management, Jim and Kim, made us feel as though they had known us for years. We loved it so much, we asked about an additional night stay even though we hadn't planned on being in the area that long. Since the room we were in was booked the second night, we got to stay in another one of their rooms and enjoy seeing how it was decorated. Each room is decorated differently with different "location" names. See their website to view these lovely rooms. The Pizza resturant across the street had an excellent pizza which we enjoyed on the balcony the second night while awaiting the sunset. Just after we left, we stopped to take a picture of something and I fell and broke my leg - we went back to the Inn and were told where to go for emergency help.

Being that we live in Alabama, it may be a while before we get back there but I do plan to go back as I loved the area, rooms, and hospitality.

Thank you - Dixie

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view and are decorated differently - don't think there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DidiPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What an awesome place to stay! Reserved a smaller, cheaper room, but upon check-in we were upgraded to the England Room; however it would have been well worth the extra money to reserve this particular room since it has a private sauna and jacuzzi tub. Great view of the ocean from the balcony. Wouldn't recommend on site restaurant...poor service, quality of food poor, not worth the price you pay.

Room Tip: England Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The breakers inn is a very nice place. They had a newly opened rest. that serves very good food. Friendly staff. All around a great experience. We husband, son and I will go back. The town is full of very nice people.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bule1kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
785 reviews
21.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
4.2 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Inn

Address: 39300 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9571
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** The Breakers Inn has graciously greeted guests for fifteen years. Dramatic and ever changing ocean views provide a breathtaking backdrop for your stay. Offering twenty-eight individually decorated rooms built on a cliff overlooking the mouth of the Gualala River and the Pacific Ocean. Along one of the country's most storied roads, the Pacific Coast Highway. Custom designed with European elegance, the inn is enhanced with large private decks, whirlpool spas, fireplaces, radiant floor heat, fine furnishings and artwork, kingsized beds, wet bars, microwaves, refrigerators, television and DVD players, free wireless internet, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, beveled glass windows and copper roofs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing