We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacliff Motel on the Bluff
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Looking for a Thanksgiving respite, we were able to get a reservation at Seacliff on the Bluff on rather short notice. We'd considered staying there several times, but always wound up further north up the coast at the more frequented areas (Mendocino, Fort Bragg, etc.) No more! Consisting of 4 buildings of 4 units each, we were thoroughly and pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay. The views are incredible, and sound of the surf is comfortingly muted, and the room itself well appointed. Microwave, mini-fridge, jacuzzi tub (with window out to the beach), binoculars and a king size bed. My husband loved the upholstered rocking chairs!

The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. We couldn't have asked for anything more. As evidence, we've already booked out next stay!

Room Tip: If your fond of foam pillows, like me, you'll need to provide your own. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 194 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite motel on the Mendocino Coast. The view is breathtaking. Rooms have been recently refreshed with new carpets, paint, bedding, etc. You can't do better for the reasonable price on the Coast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for a long break late last fall and were totally impressed with the laid back style and excellent care that these relaxing units offered. As many others have noted, there are great chairs for watching the sea, excellent jacuzzis quiet and built for 2, and enough in room facilities to easily stock one's own breakfast choices from the local markets. If you prefer a full cooked breakfast, there's quite a nice coffee house essentially next door. We've recommended it to family and friends with positive responses.

Room Tip: Both floors offer fine views; we loved the upper floor and the daily window washing to keep the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salt_City_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Big, comfortable rooms, complimentary chilled sparkling cider waiting for us in the room, two person jacuzzi tub, bathrobes, a fireplace, and more (like twin rocking, reclining chairs, fridge, and microwave). Very nice!

And then there's the view - large picture windows that overlook the mouth of the Gualala River and a huge sandy ocean beach. We saw gulls, ducks, raptors, songbirds, river otters, and whale sightings are common.

Many lovely beaches and coastal hikes near by, and a range of food options, despite Gualala's small size. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped for one night on our way to San Francisco, and our jaws hit the floor when we opened the door! Amazing view of the seafront and big balcony. This is certainly a place for a romantic getaway, with a large bathtub in front of a large window, also with views of the sea.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We come here every couple of years. It is a very nice motel which I hate to call a motel since it is so nice. I love the 2 person jacuzzi and the recliners to sit and watch the ocean outside. The people in the office were all very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that there is no dvd player and no breakfast. The price and view more than make up for that though.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and you don't have to directly see the people walking the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband was on business trip and chose to stay here. It was awesome! Incredible view of the ocean and clean rooms. Loved the Jacuzzi. The only issue was there wasn't any continental breakfast, but we bought a few groceries. It worked out well with refrigerator in room. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
787 reviews
21.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
142 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
4.1 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliff Motel on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff Motel on the Bluff

Address: 39140 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing