We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to Stay Longer!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacliff Motel on the Bluff
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wow----I'm always looking for coastal motels where I can open the window and listen to the ocean while I go to sleep. This is perfect for doing just that.

I had an upstairs room with a small private balcony and 2 chairs. I spent every evening on the balcony and watched the sun set over the ocean. Doesn't get much better than that.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and there was no noise coming through the walls.

The vaulted ceilings have wood paneling and are very high----makes the room feel even bigger.

Internet connection was good----had no trouble connecting and downloading.

From Gualala, it's an enjoyable drive up to Point Arena and Mendocino. I did a day trip to Mendocino and came back to Gualala.

There is a great grocery store within walking distance of the hotel where you can buy almost anything and have dinner on your balcony. There is also a pretty decent pizza place also within walking distance.

The view, the convenience, and the price made this one a fantastic choice when visiting the NoCal coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with this room. Everything went great. If had to say negative the spa tub in room needs jets rinsed out with some kind of cleaner. Oh and toilet barely flushes. Continental breakfast had the best muffins!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mega_bb_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our best nights rest and most enjoyable views from our room during our entire PCH road trip. After a long days drive from San Francisco this was the perfect first night rest-stop. Also after two weeks of hotels and motels this was our favourite. If we ever come through here again I would stay a few nights longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Littlejoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a great weekend in Gualala, largely because of our stay here. The first day of our stay was incredibly windy and cold so we spent a good part of the time inside the room enjoying the view, the jacuzzi tub, and the solitude. The staff was friendly. The only downside was our very loud neighbors and because the office staff isn't 24/7 there wasn't anyone at the front desk we could call to complain about the neighbors (and I certainly didn't feel like trudging downstairs in the middle of the night to deal with loud people). If we come back to Gualala we'll certainly stay here. I definitely recommend getting an upstairs room. We did and were very glad we did. Better view and much more privacy.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a better view and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eleacali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is awesome. Oceanfront views. All rooms have jacuzzi tubs an fireplaces. Very reasonable place to stay. Balconies on the upper floor. The staff is really friendly. Nice and clean and the beds are really comfy. I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Check out the pictures - they are accurate. It is still friendly, comfortable, quiet, immaculate and a perfect night. Took an 1 1/2 hour bath with water up to my neck, a nap in the rocker/recliner, watched the sunset and fell asleep in the comfortable bed to the sound of waves rushing up the sandbar. You really cannot find a nicer place.

Room Tip: I pay the extra for an upstairs room. The feeling of the high vaulted ceiling is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was traveling up the coast to Washington and arrived at Sea Ranch Restaurant for a quick dinner and asked for their recommendation for a good place to stay going north. The young woman at the front desk gave me three recommendations--this being her favorite. I called immediately and booked the last room they had available. It was better than I expected . Oceanfront,fireplace,comfortable bed, and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjmbp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
785 reviews
21.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
141 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliff Motel on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff Motel on the Bluff

Address: 39140 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing