We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PLEASANT SURPRISE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seacliff on the Bluff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacliff on the Bluff
Save
You added Seacliff on the Bluff to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT SURPRISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was traveling up the coast to Washington and arrived at Sea Ranch Restaurant for a quick dinner and asked for their recommendation for a good place to stay going north. The young woman at the front desk gave me three recommendations--this being her favorite. I called immediately and booked the last room they had available. It was better than I expected . Oceanfront,fireplace,comfortable bed, and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmbp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
125
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

These little cabin-style cottages provide a fantastic ocean view experience. In the cool of the evening, the gas fireplace heater adds a highly romantic atmosphere. Step out on the private balcony (we were on the 1st floor) and watch the waves lapping at the shoreline, or take a stroll on the beautiful beach. Check-in experience with no reservations was excellent. Set just far enough back off the highway, there is no traffic noise (not much traffic anyway on Hgwy 1 in winter!!!). We lucked out again finding this gem.

Room Tip: Small pathway outside windows on 1st floor. Choose 2nd floor if more privacy is desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizzzzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I wanted a place not to far from home - where my husband and I (who were celebrating 30 years of togetherness) could enjoy the ocean right up close but not spend an entire fortune for the two nights - and we found it. This place was awesome. Clean, nice people at the front desk, even the cleaning people were friendly. The view was so wonderful and this place was so relaxing. There is a nice spa tub, great shower, fireplace and flat screen TV. The view from the room and the deck - were so beautiful - it is almost too difficult to review because I loved it so much. The price was reasonable, even on Saturday night and was really reasonable on Sunday night. I can't say enough about this place and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: All rooms have views - good views. I prefer second story
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayareaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice, the last time was in October for our honeymoon. This is our favorite getaway place! The staff is very accommodating and professional. Their advise as to where to eat and things to do locally is right on the mark. The rooms were second to none! Great views from the in room jacuzzi tubs and the recliners! I would recommend this place to everyone i know. We will be back in February for another special occasion. You have to experience this greatest kept secret of the north coast for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shasta412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great time of the year to visit - few people, clear skies. The hotel was fabulous! Quick, easy check-in, great upstairs room with a view over the river to the white-water shore. Clean and orderly room with a view to the horizon: whales and sunsets galore. Never slept better; window cracked, so we could hear the surf pound in the distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kh2u100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went to Gualala and stayed at Seacliff on the Bluff not expecting much except a simple room with simple furnishings based on reading several reviews and seeing pictures. The forecast was rain, rain, and more rain for us so we came prepared to stay in the room for most of the time and cozy up next to the fireplace. The room was very clean, the bed was more comfortable than our bed at home, the fire was warm, the jacuzzi tub was nice, and the view was perfect. The only thing that was weird was that the microwave and mini-fridge were in the bathroom area next to the bathroom sink. Not complaining really since having a microwave and mini-fridge really came in handy. We got lucky with 1 gorgeous sunny day which we took advantage of by going for a hike along the bluff, always looking out for our favorite sea creatures. The rest of the time was spent in our swivel lazy boys chairs, having cocktails, and looking out to the ocean. On one of the rainy mornings, we spotted a whale hanging out not too far out from our room and we were able to watch it for hours. We saw its fins and blowhole several times- it was pretty amazing! Overall, a beautiful and quiet coastal town. Great for couples who want to snuggle up and enjoy the amazing ocean view.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the 2nd floor if you can. There are guests who frequently walk a long the path in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have come back many many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The rooms are simple but comfortable. The view is unsurpassed. We have seen whales from the easy chair almost every visit.

Room Tip: the only limitation is that there aren't many restaurants in the vicinity to choose from. Have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marsha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 2 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
3.8 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliff on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff on the Bluff

Property: Seacliff on the Bluff
Address: P.O. Box 1317, Gualala, CA 95445-1317
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing