We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect getaway spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seacliff on the Bluff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacliff on the Bluff
Save
You added Seacliff on the Bluff to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1317, Gualala, CA 95445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

All we could ever wish for! Quiet, private room; spectacular view on the ocean at the mouth of the Gualala River. In-room jacuzzi, bathrobes, gas fireplace, Internet mid-week special, WiFi, microwave, refrigerator, etc.

Room Tip: 72 hour cancellation. You probably don't need reservations mid-week. Vacancies now in January...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fotobag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    44
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
120
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just spent a long weekend at the Seacliff. The view from the room was amazing...the Gualala river crashing into the Pacific Ocean. Seagulls, pelicans, and harbor seals provided further entertainment. Our room had a large front window with matching recliners at the helm; kinda felt like captain's chairs :). The room is large and clean with fridge and microwave. Office managment was very friendly and helpful, and they had an adorable mascot Dudley, a labrador-poodle mix. Coffee pot is in the room but Trinks, across the parking lot makes a very nice latte. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask front desk, they will help you find the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We drove down the Mendocino Coast enjoying the beauty and looking for a place to stay for the night, when we ate at The Chowder House our waitress recommended The Seacliff! What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

As I write this the ocean is breaking on the sandy beach just outside the large picture windows of my room at the Seacliff Hotel in Gualala. The sound of breaking waves will be a constant backdrop to your visit here.

The rooms at Seacliff are simply, but nicely, furnished (see pictures), and the facilities are clean and well maintained. Flat screen TVs have been installed in the rooms and a good wireless internet is available at no charge. Cell phone service is also now available in town.

A gas fireplace provides heat, and there is a deep Jacuzzi tub for soaking. Bubble bath is also provided! Binoculars and robes are provided, which are nice amenities as you relax, and do some whale watching.

With the recession, some cuts have been made. You used to have a choice of a bottle of champagne or sparkling cider; now it is just sparkling cider. Also, the soaps and shampoos are now smaller in size.

Restaurant choices in town are somewhat limited, and many places close at 8:00 PM, especially in the winter.

For a two-night (Friday & Saturday) stay I paid $355.00 (including taxes). This is for an upper floor room, which has a nice vaulted ceiling.

There is no food service in the hotel, but a local café (Trinks) is a very short walk away. That is a good place to go for breakfast.

The hotel is a quiet, peaceful, place and a great location for a restful or romantic getaway. What truly makes this hotel special are the incredible views out over the Pacific ocean.

This hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
140 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We turned up on spec having eaten in Gualala and it had got dark. The place looked deserted. It seemed a bit pricey when we asked but decided to stay and were pleased we did. The rooms are huge and face straight onto the pacific. We then found out the room had a whirlpool, and a fake log fire. The whirlpool was great - only downside was that the whole room filled with chlorine smelling steam and took a while to clear. The log fire was a great idea but it didn't work. We then found a complimentary bottle of sparkling apple juice. Was great to sit out on the balcony and drink it - shame they had only provided cheap plastic chairs to sit on. The bed was very comfortable; unfortunately the TV looked to be 20 years old and the remote control didnt work properly.

There was only one other couple staying in the place the night we were there - surprising they don't drop their prices more and/or improve their marketing in the quiet periods to atract more customers........

One final thing - they didn't offer any breakfast. This was very unusual given the price charged and they fact they had a huge lobby that wasnt being used for anything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here one night on our way down the coast. The views from our room were amazing! The sun set over the Pacific was beautiful. The rooms were nice, with large windows overlooking the ocean. The whirlpool tub was a nice treat after the gorgeous sunset. The staff was friendly and courteous, offering numerous dinner options.
This hotel is a must if you are going to be in the Gualala area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hjk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very clean, delightful staff, comfortable bed. We stayed in the top floor, it had vaulted ceilings so the room feels bigger. (spend the extra $10.00 for upstairs if possible) The little balcony outside your room overlooking the ocean and the sunset, what else needs to be said. We had spectacular weather. You are on the coast though and the ocean is at your back door, so a coat or sweater is a good thing to pack. Easy ride up the north highway one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstrrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 2 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
3.8 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliff on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff on the Bluff

Property: Seacliff on the Bluff
Address: P.O. Box 1317, Gualala, CA 95445
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing