We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is spectacular. Breath taking views of the ocean. Serene and peaceful environment. The staff is so courteous, friendly and accommodating. Great place to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhav-sj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    36
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
111
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

From the moment my mother-in-love and I arrived, we felt at home. We arrived at night time and had the lovely privilege of staying in the Showcase Suite and in no time found ourselves chatting in front of a real wood fire. The following morning we woke up to breath taking views of the northern coast. It truly was awe-inspiring. Shortly after we woke, we were spoiled with a delicious homemade breakfast. Everything from the frittata to the vanilla muffins was mouth-watering. (Including the raspberry butter) The grounds are so relaxing and there are plenty of places to sit and just be happy. Saturday evening was complimentary wine and cheese in the Whale Watch room, with panoramic views of the ocean and rocky coastline. We had an amazing time and these were just a few highlights. I proudly suggest this Inn to anyone wanting to get up the coast for some home away from home relaxation. The staff is wonderful and goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Go visit The Whale Watch Inn!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileeMom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed for the first two nights of our Pacific Northwest 2 week adventure. VERY friendly staff who were efficient and delightful hosts to the 2 couples in our group. We booked the 2 rooms that surrounded the great room, which was a perfect way to enjoy our daily delicious breakfast, evenings by the fireplace, and the breathtaking views off the balcony! The rooms were a bit "tired" but clean and functional. Loved the communal wine, cheese and appetizers in the great room from 5-7 pm. We met some fabulous people, and shared restaurant ideas and places to visit. The cliff walk down to the beach is an adventure not to be missed! This is not the most upscale inn you'll ever stay at, but certainly will be one of the most relaxing, peaceful, and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went there with family on an off season. Simply the most beautiful and calm place I've been in a while. The cabin we had booked had its stairs under construction, so they upgraded us to a bigger cabin for free! Their beach is awesome and walking down there through the cliff rock is a trip in itself. The breakfast was good too (huge piece of blueberry cake) and they offered us a free glass of wine also. In short, highly recommended. Just remember to take the iconic HW 1.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

There's a line from an old song from the 60's..."to see what condition my condition was in". Well, this is the place to do just that. If you're addicted to that Blackberry, or TV, or sports shows, or the Internet, this is not the place for you! If getting in tune with yourself and Nature is on your agenda, you'll love Whale Watch Inn.

I've been going there for years (and have yet to spot a whale) but everything about this place is rejuvenating, serene, and peaceful, with those awesome vistas up and down the Coast! The gardens are lush and photo-worthy. I always stay in Golden Voyage and the view is beautiful. I like having a separate bedroom (which also has a great view for my quests), a large living room/dining area that opens from a fully-stocked kitchen. ( There's a wonderful market in Gualala with imported wines and cheeses and a small but delicious buffet and salad bar.)

There's a comfy sofa bed in the living room but I always sleep in the window seat of the humongous wrap-around windows. There has been a full moon almost every time I've been there and I watch it traverse the sky through the skylight overhead as it tracks out over the ocean. With a ready-to-light wood fire and the spectacular view, I am one happy camper.

And having breakfast delivered hot and fresh, at the time I request, is a major perk. It's lovingly prepared on the premises and beautifully presented: Everything is locally grown, from homemade preserves to eggs to breads/muffins. I'm not a breakfast person but I AM a food-aholic and I never leave a crumb on the plate at Whale Watch! Having breakfast out on the large wrap-around deck with really clean fresh air and a view that goes on forever is especially invigorating.

Getting there is half the fun: The drive North up the Mendocino Coast is fantastic and awe-inspiring! And from Whale Watch Inn you're just a short drive to historic towns like Mendocino and Ft. Bragg (Glass Beach) and to wineries, the giant Redwoods, the Skunk Railroad tour, great restaurants -- there's something for everyone, every age. I'm going again next week!!

So slow down, get in touch with yourself, and see what condition YOUR condition is in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WomenOutForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went back after 25 years of marriage to one of the most memorable hotels that my wife and I stayed at over the years and it did not disappoint. Views are always great. Service is outstanding. They provided a glass of wine when we checked in just as they did so many years ago. This time we stayed for two nights and the second night there was a wine and hors douerve happy hour that was also very good. FIreplace is stocked with real wood and ready to go. Private hot tub was clean.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view and you can see a selection on the web. We stayed in the Cypress room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband I just stayed in the Reflection room for two nights, celebrating our third anniversary. We booked just a few days prior, looking for a pet friendly place on the coast. We were lucky to find the Whale Watch Inn. They welcomed our 3 little dogs at a reasonable price, and us, with a bottle of champagne (they knew it was our anniversary). The hotel is just out of the 1980's: think mauve, moss green, floral tapestry print... but it was clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Our room was at the waters edge. We left the sliding glass door open from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The sounds of the waves crashing below was truly relaxing and romantic. I can not say enough about the view. This is what it's all about. This is why we paid the price we did! The fireplace was lovely, but we did have a bit of a problem with the smoke detector going off sporadically when we added wood. Not sure that was a fixable problem. Probably wind gusts?

The jetted tub was big enough for both of us to enjoy. The bed was not as comfortable as I would expect, but the cotton bedding and down comforter were lovely.

The place is for couples in love. Staff left us alone to enjoy our room. We ventured out to the beach (the stairs aren't as bad as described in previous reviews) to enjoy a stroll. It is connected to Anchor Bay beach at low tide, but it was quiet and peaceful.

The best surprise of the Whale Watch Inn was the wonderful hot breakfast delivered each morning to our door. Delicious food in sufficient quantity to feel decadent and pampered.

I recommend booking by phone. Although our room was on the first floor with a balcony, there was no direct access to potty the dogs off the balcony. (Luckily we have well behaved animals.) Rooms are in 5 different buildings, some at cliffs edge, some with garden/grass in front, some with direct access outside, some with interior hallways/lobby.

One of the staff told me the hotel is for sale. Let's hope the retain the character of the place that let couples enjoy each other and nature: no phones, clocks or TV.

Room Tip: I recommend booking by phone. Rooms are in 5 different buildings, some at cliffs edge, some with ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.7 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Property: Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing