We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our top-5 list of best B&Bs in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the Cypress room for three nights and enjoyed every moment. The breakfasts, served each morning exactly at the time we requested, were sumptuous by any reckoning; the sound of the ocean just outside the open windows was calming; the view was amazing, even when the fog rolled in on our last morning. We strolled often on the beach, which was clean and uncrowded. We even saw a whale, out of the normal migration season! We can't say enough about the charm of this place. We were welcomed with a lovely wine and cheese gathering with other guests. After that, we never saw (or heard) another guest - exactly as we wanted it. We drove up to Point Arena twice and along Route 1 to the Navarro River Redwoods State Park and back over the mountains (what a trip - don't do it if you are scared of heights!). Our week was all we could have hoped for - and more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danishlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had to leave an inn further up the coast, and Whale Watch had rooms available. Private, GREAT views from everywhere, and beach access! Also, a beautiful area to sit at the top of the hill and look down at the ocean. The room was beautiful, with a real fireplace that we used daily. New wood was stocked, along with wonderful fire starters that really work! Convenient to a couple of small towns and a regional park area. Breakfast was brought to the room and was delicious every day.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great. The rooms in the common area building are smaller, but still nice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I noticed that another reviewer also stayed in the Cliffside room as we did. They were absolutely correct about the small room and paper thin walls. We also got the experience of a toilet that didn't work. When it wouldn't flush we took the lid off and found the chain to be attached with paper clips! The next morning we told an employee about the toilet and she said they hoped they could fix it that day but if not we could use the toilet in the common room. Not exactly the response you hope for at $200 a day. They did show up later and "fixed it" but one flush later it was broken again. It was not repaired again before we checked out the next day. The hot water ran out halfway through a quick shower. This place has definitely seen better days about 25 years ago.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarbaraR352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Dining

We have stayed at the Whale Watch a few times over a five year span. We always return to the same excellent service and surroundings. With direct beach access and the white water views you can't take your eyes off the ocean and beach below. At night you get a full show between the bright stars and the sound of the crashing surf with sea lions barking off in the distance. My family is planing to return again during the winter to catch the grey whales moving up the coast with there new baby's Go to unwind and unplug and you too will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were treated like valued guests. The delightful staff greeted us with a nice glass of wine in a beautiful common room overlooking the ocean. The grounds were stunning - a fabulous collection of native plantings.
We had reserved the Love Song Room with private patio and private hot tub. We were thankful that the evening was cool enough to enjoy the fireplace in the room. Laughing - we realized the next morning that the room did not include a television. Everything was neat and clean.
At dusk we were visited by a huge deer wandering in front of the deck like he owned the place.
Let's talk about breakfast in bed. Delivered to our door at the time we pre-selected the evening before was a beautiful basket with fruit, coffee, bread and a fabulous raisin studded custard.
If you are traveling up the Pacific Coast Highway north of San Fran make sure you include this wonderful little inn as part of your trip.

Room Tip: The Love Song Room - private deck and hot tub. Quiet. Great view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We must have had the smallest room (Cliff Side) in the place, it was just big enough for a queen bed and walking room around it. You get a bed, chair and a small fireplace. This room backs up to the common room, Whale Watch Lounge and the walls are paper thin. The radio speaker is right up against the Cliffside wall, thank goodness no one was ever in there, but I did have to go in and shut the radio off several times to enjoy my peace and quiet.

We were disappointed that the only views we had were if we were standing up at the deck, I must say I was expecting to sit, relax and enjoy the views, but they've let the grow to the height of the deck railing. Food was delicious, no choices though and no seconds and no late night snacks either. The surrounding towns are small and close up at 8 pm, so grab your snacks before closing time. It's time for the owners to sink some money back into the place and do some upgrades.

Room Tip: Without seeing all the rooms, my guess is the Cliffside and Morning Light are the smallest rooms in...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Amazing location, lovely rooms with fireplaces/decks and a few with full kitchens. Also pet friendly which is a plus in our search for a place to stay. We can not say enough about the staff who made every arrangement to accomodate us. Peaceful, a place where you can forget your worries and soak up solitude and ocean breezes to your hearts content. The staff of Whale Watch Inn was excellent, the suites comfortable, and the ocean views incredible. A few furnishing updates are in order but it doesn't take away from the finer points the Inn offers.

Room Tip: Gretchen was very helpful in discussing the rooms available for our stay. We have stayed in the Swan...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
773 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $263 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing