We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Coastal Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2007

In this couples-focused world, peace, quiet and comfort are also treasured by single travelers! I found The Whale Watch Inn to be a lovely, relaxing getaway where I felt warmly welcomed by owner Kazuko Popplewell and her marvelous staff. The location is stunning, my room was beautiful, and I may just make this a Christmas tradition. Thank you, Whale Watch Inn, for making my Holidays really special!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BarbGBurlingame_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2007

Expected at least a strong three star rating for the price of over 300 for one night. I would rank it as a two star hotel.
As others stated rooms are outdated. Linoleum coming up in bath, shower needs caulking, patched paint in ceiling, chipped porcelain in sink, finish coming off "garage sale' quality dresser, cracked fireplace tile, paint coming off patio chairs etc. Not only room was a fixer, but common grounds and buildings are not being cared for. Breakfast was ok if you like pancakes.

Yes' it is a special spot if you are in a room away from Highway 1. The view is spectacular--Too bad "hotel" is not.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adiosamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2007

This hotel seemed shabby to me. It cost more than I wanted to spend but I decided to splurge and have a nice romantic get away with my husband. The property is in a very nice location, on a bluff overlooking the ocean with a beach at the bottom of a stair case.

Although the room was clean it was also small and shabby. The flooring, bathroom fixtures, etc. were all rather old and not particularly nice even when they were new. The small refrigerator was in the bathroom but it was so loud that we had to unplug it so we could sleep.

The breakfast was extremely nice. They definitely did a nice job on the breakfast. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Anne_CA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this property in October 2006. It was a spur of the moment trip and we arrived fairly late on a Saturday evening. Check in was easy and we were shown right to our room. Our room had a fire place (fire wood was provided) a balcony with an amazing view of the ocen through beautiful redwoods and a very large jacuzzi tub. (No phone or TV in the room, which was fine by us and we did not have cell reception. There is a phone in the lobby to use if necessary).

We were invited to a gathering in the main room for wine and appetizers. There was a very large round fire place in the center of the room and the hostess/owner was serving the wine and appetizers. It was very nice and we enjoyed talking with some of the other guests. We drove back to into town for dinner and it was very good, sorry don't remember the name. We enjoyed the hot tub (warning....do not turn on the jets until the water has COMPETELY covered them). The fireplace was wonderful as it got pretty cold and romantic! There was a delicious breakfast delievered to our room in the morning and newspaper. We explored the property after breakfast and went down to their private beach. It was very nice but be prepared to climb many stairs. Overall our stay was great! For the price however, I do think the owners should consider updating the rooms and definately update the mattress. Otherwise, fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keybjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My wife and I were taking a weekend to drive CA 1 home after being apart for much of three months due to work assignments. We were looking for a looking for an oceanfront property in the general Mendocino area that would allow a Saturday only stay. This was one of the few that was available. It turned out to be a good choice.

The property is small and cozy and sits atop an 80 foot ocean bluff just north of Anchor Bay - about 5 mile north of Gualala and 45 miles south of Mendocino. We stayed in the "Swan" unit.

Pros:
1)The first thing that strikes you is the sense of privacy of the small cluster of buildings nestled in lush vegetation just off of the highway. You could easily drive by and miss it. The mature landscaping was particularly beautiful and in full bloom the first week of June.

2)The owner/hostess and staff are absolutely delightful - pleasant attentive and friendly. Seems like a small, mostly family staff. All expressed a clear and genuine interest in their guests.

3)The room was spacious and well decorated in mint green and crimsons - a bit dated in some regards. Very small kindling wood is supplied for the fireplace which lights easily. Nice attention to small details - two wine glasses with corkscrew and champagne bucket were on a small table just inside the door. Comfortable bed. Classical music piped in (until 10 PM) with variable volume control.

4) There is a "private" beach that is accessed by a quirky (but safe) 138 step wooden stairway down the face of the bluff. (The beach isn't really private, only the access.) It was a beautiful little spot for an early morning walk. Two small groups of fisherman/abalone divers were just pulling up their boats. A tiny rivulet cascaded down over the bluff and there were starfish and anemones galore in the tidepools at low tide. All in all pretty idyllic.

5) The delivered-to-your-door breakfast was very good if not overly abundant - homemade banana crepes and cranberry muffins, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. If you're looking for a hearty bacon and eggs farm breakfast this isn't it, but my wife and I aren't big eaters so it was just fine for us.

Cons:
1) The "spectacular" ocean view was not quite up to its billing (see photo). The "Swan" is a second floor unit and you see mostly the roof of the unit next door. There is a nice vignetted view through the trees, but most of the vegetation has grown up and the view is limited from the small balcony - not quite as pictured on the website. I would recommend a unit in the main building for a better view, but even there it is not a sweeping panorama. A little trimming could go a long way toward opening up the views without impacting the sense of "lushness" and privacy.

2) Interiors - Can't speak to the other rooms because they were occupied and we could not get a look. Ours was nice but not perfect. Very clean but fixtures and some of the furnishings needed upgraded. The double jacuzzi tub was plastic and cracked. Stained mirror over bath lavatory. Bathroom needed an overall update. The window blinds throughout were cheap, plastic and in need of repair. Kitchen appliances were serviceable but older.

3)Cost - a bit high for what you get - $220-290. Add the 10% tax and you're into a good chunk to shell out per day even for a coastal stay. For this rate in a non-historic facility I expected the rooms to be immaculate with no needed upgrades or repairs.

4) Location next to the road made our unit a bit noisy, although there is very little traffic on CA 1 after 11 PM. One interesting and funny note - we were awakened early by what sounded like woodpeckers loudly pounding on several different places on the building - went on for over an hour around dawn. Couldn't find any evidence of woodpecker holes. Just before leaving we noticed robins landing on the roof part of the garden windows in the kitchen and bath - their landings, takeoffs and pecking were what made the reverberating noises!

This is not a luxury resort property and is not meant to be. It is a cozy, romantic little retreat that will provide a respite and recharge your batteries. Overall a property I would definitely recommend but only in competition with some other very interesting spots all along that section of the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CascadesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

OK, I admit I was a little skeptic by some of the review I had read of this lovely B&B, but took the leap and booked. If you are looking for excitement...this is not the place. It seemed to be just the place for us. We were not disappointed. The Inn is beautiful and sits on the rugged coast north of the town of Gualala. The rooms are all different, and furnishings are somewhat modest but clean. We stayed in the Cypress room. Its not the Ritz Carlton, but the ambiance, sounds of the ocean, peacefulness and the thoughtful staff that make this place. A delicious breakfast with fresh muffins, fruit and egg dish and a big pot of coffee arrive at your door each morning. There is a wine list in the room and there is a small fridge. We played cards, read, drank wine and watched the wild winter surf from our deck and slider door next to a nice fire. There are no TV's or radios. There is classical music piped in but we opted to bring a CD player to listen to our own music. There is a wine and cheese reception in the lobby in the early evening, however we did not attend. I would stay here again. Its a lovely little gem.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KTzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

I've been to this inn six times over the last few years (each time in a different room) and have not tired of the gorgeous views, privacy, and unique open airy feeling the rooms here provide. This is a place you come to if you crave hearing the sound of waves crashing beneath your private deck while decadently soaking in a jacuzzi tub with a fire roaring and nothing to do except relax. This is NOT a place to come to if you need TV, phones, internet access, newspapers, action and excitement, or perfectly modern and updated decor to have a good time. Some things at the inn are a bit hit and miss (some days a great breakfast is delivered to your room, other days a so-so breakfast with the order mixed up appears, and not uncommonly one thing or the other in the rooms is broken and in need of repair or replacement). However, I've found the management responsive to requests and concerns and friendly and the overall setting and experience remains seductive and enjoyable. I will definitely return.

4  Thank relaxed53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
773 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $267 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing