We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place we're returning to next month”
Review of St. Orres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Orres
Ranked #3 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2007

My wife and I love to camp, and are going to Yellowstone this June, tho others consider outdoor living to be a nightmare. So it is with St Orres, from reading some of the reviews here, not everyone truly desires rustic surroundings. To us, it is the perfect combination of rusticity and civility, and a more unusual property would be hard to find. We stayed in the Wake Robin cabin, with all of the windows facing the side of the creek. Looking out, all we saw was the redwood forest in all directions, immediately outside the glass. There was a small deck, which was in view of the parking area and 2 cabins, but we otherwise felt in our own world in the Wake Robin. The carpeting, bedding and furnishings were new or nearly so, the delivered breakfast in the morning was memorable, and the communal sauna and hot tub were just steps away from our front door. I thought it a nice touch that they had real wine glasses in the room, much nicer than a highball glass or plastic cup you'd expect. We ate at the restaurant the last night, and felt it was a 4-to-5 star meal, very good to excellent. My wife had the local salmon, I had the wild boar, and service was very attentive tho never intrusive. Their sous chef that night was remarkable.

btw, our other meal was in Gualala at the Bones Roadhouse, and for bbq was very good, the brisket being some of the best I've had.

We're returning in 2 weeks for 2 nights. See you there.

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2007

We had previously stayed in St. Orres’ Blue Iris and Sequoia cottages, and altho’ we loved both of them, this time we wanted to stay in the Black Chantarelle cottage which is located in the Meadows area on the hillside above the main hotel building. It became my favorite of all the cottages at St. Orres and it’s not surprising that it’s the most expensive of the cottages.

Black Chantarelle is quite expansive, and the feeling of the interior is bright and airy with numerous windows and a glass door out to the private deck. It has beautiful pine flooring in the main room and breakfast nook and very attractive tile floors in the immense bathroom. I commented to my husband that the square footage of the bath was larger than each of our bedrooms at home! The bath contained a large shower, a separate jacuzzi tub and a sauna--the ultimate stress-reducing experiences! The main room has a woodstove and forced-air heating, a wet bar area with small refrig., coffee maker and tea pot (plus ground coffee and a nice selection of teas); very comfortable queen bed, sitting area with loveseat and comfy armchair, separate breakfast room, MAGNIFICENT domed ceiling with timber beams, and so many artistic and architectural details and embellishments that it would be difficult to list them all. The deck had a lovely view overlooking the meadow area, forest, fruit trees and straight out to the ocean all the way to the horizon. The scenery was mesmerizing!

Walking thru St. Orres’ grounds is a thoroughly enjoyable experience. It’s filled with picturesque gardens, forest, meadows, fascinating rustic buildings, wild turkeys, deer--and friendly cats! We luxuriated in the sheer QUIET during our stay. The gentle sounds we heard consisted of the ocean, birdsong, frogs and the calls of turkeys and crows.

As we had done during our previous stays, we ate dinner at St. Orres’ restaurant which was a short walk from our cottage (the inn supplies you with a flashlight attached to your cottage’s key since the property is quite dark after sunset--all the better for some fantastic stargazing!) Our 3-course fixed price ($40 each) dinners were beautifully presented and excellently prepared, and the fresh quality of all ingredients was savored. From their ample choices of entrees, I ordered a halibut with pepper-potato cake and my husband had a mushroom medley ravioli. We barely had room for a delicious chocolate decadence cake! The next morning we received a gentle knock on our door at 8:30 a.m., signaling the arrival of our breakfast. We had scrambled eggs with sour cream, fresh fruit, orange juice and a good quality granola.

Our stay at St. Orres was nothing short of ideal. This serene place is exactly where one should go for restoration, re-energizing, contemplation and total relaxation. It nourishes the soul and the spirit!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

This is one of those special properties that make the California coast so unique, although it's not for people who demand every amenity or a huge degree of pampering.

We stayed at both the Wake Robin and Sorrel Glen cottages. We slightly preferred the layout and decor of Sorrel Glen. Compared to other lodgings in the area, the price is reasonable for the amount of privacy and beautiful forest views. The highlight is of course, the hot tub. We were there during the week in early March, so we had most of the place to ourselves and ever saw anybody else in the tub.

The design of the hotel itself and the larger cabins is gorgeous, although we were given the opportunity to tour the larger cabins and while they were nice, I don't know if they would quite be worth the price.

This is a great place to relax and recharge, or use as a base for exploring this section of the coast. We took a day trip to Mendocino, toured the Pt. Arena lighthouse, and just had a wonderful time. Splurge and eat at the restaurant! It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

We stay here each July or August for a few nights. LOVE IT! We always stay in the cottages. The staff is wonderful. Breakfast is brought to our door each morning. Always great. It's very peaceful and the scenary is beautiful. We look forward to our mini-vacation each year. We love everything about St. Orres!

1  Thank menechino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I stayed at the Black Chanterelle which is their best cottage for two. It is quite impressive and clean but not well maintained. We had to let the staff person know about a number of non-functioning items that they had to have already known about.

They bring breakfast to your door each morning and we were quite impressed by it on the first day. The second day, however, was very disappointing as they brought nearly the exact same meal again.

We ate dinner at their restaurant on one night. You should be warned that the Gualala area is not known for food. That would make the St Orres restaurant one of the best in the area but not extraordinary. The atmosphere is very good and the wait staff is exceptional. On the other hand, the prices are very high.

And now for the beware. If you don’t get your room rate in writing in advance, expect to pay significantly more (I was ripped off for an extra $90 per night). In the small print on their web site and brochures, it says that prices are subject to change without notice. That includes prices quoted over the phone. I guess they expect that once you get to Gualala, it will be too difficult for you to find a room elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2005

We stayed one night at the St. Orres on our way up to Ft. Bragg. We researched their website and knew our room would be small and that we would be sharing a bathroom. There was only one other couple there the night we stayed at the Inn so didn't have any trouble using the bathrooms. There are 8 rooms in the Inn and three bathrooms for all 8 rooms. If the rooms were all rented it would probably be difficult to use the bathroom when you wanted to. We also got breakfast in the morning with our room rate--it was a great litle breakfast servied with freshly squeezed orange juice.We found the grounds very nice around the Inn and there were several deer and wild and turkeys on the premises. The Inn is across the road from the ocean. There was an access to the ocean but we did not find it until the next morning. We would recommend staying at the Inn if you are just driving through. If you are planning on staying here for a few days there is not much to do in this area. We found a neat little restaurant in town called Bones Roadside BQ--very good and lots of food! If you have any questions please feel free to contact us.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BAFeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Luis Obispo, CA
17
Reviewed December 3, 2004

Well where to start...

I will preface these comments with the fact that it was a few years back but it was so terrible neither my wife nor I can forget the experience. Shoot maybe that's the appeal..an unforgettable stay.

When we stayed at this property they were renovating some of the cabins, ours was not one of them, hopefully they have tended to it by now.

From the lack of any window covering on the sliding glass door on the lowest level of the cabin, to the garage sale furnishings, to the 30 year old coffee table book about some unknown opera star, to the mold in the bathtub, to the wine bottle corks left by previous guests, to the completely thread bare carpet, to the non-functioning baseboard heater, to the hodge podge sheet set, to the patchwork comforter...nothing made this room comfortable, enjoyable or pleasant. They did bring a nice little assortment of baked goods in the morning but for $200 a night, I would have preferred a room that was comfortable and relaxing.

Unfortunately we stayed on a night when the restaurant was closed so we can't comment on that part of the property.

Not related to this property or this review, but Gualala doesn't offer much in the way of attractions either..We would definitely suggest passing by this wide spot in the road and continue on to Mendocino.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
10.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
787 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
1.8 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Orres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Orres

Address: 36601 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-8583
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: $60 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St. Orres Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing