We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Orres
Nearby Hotels
Sea Ranch Lodge(The Sea Ranch)
$309
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timber Cove Resort(Jenner)(Great Value!)
$259
$251
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Ross Lodge(Jenner)(Great Value!)
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Cloverdale(Cloverdale)(Great Value!)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
46
30
9
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
30
9
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesthe main hotelgranolatree houseeach morningsleeping areaone of a kindlarger cabinswall heatermilk and orange juicesmall platesthree bedroomromantic weekendlabor day weekendget awaynice deckegg dishes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 103 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a really really lovely time at St Orres. We rented the Wake Robin Cabin for a couple of nights to end our California holiday and I'm very glad we did for lots of reasons. The views from the cabin were lovely and the bed was large and luxurious feeling. I absolutely love how the cabins have been built. They are really beautiful. Hand crafted everything - down to the breakfast boxes that arrive in the morning. I enjoyed opening up the present like boxes each day. Staff were very helpful, so helpful in fact the I feel a little bad for mentioning the down points here - as we didn't do so when there. There was a bit of an unpleasant smell in the place. This was solved by opening windows but it was not nice to be inside while the fresh air worked it's magic. Having the spa area of hot tub and sauna is a real treat, but the sauna electrics are alarming - they pop and fizz like a cartoon sound effect. I turned off the Sauna and did not use it...and went back to the hot tub instead. Also there was only one chair on the deck. I'm sure they would have brought us another had we asked (we didn't) but all the same, it was a bit odd. I still think it is a really excellent place to stay though and would more than happily return. With redwoods to the left of us me and ocean in front, I can't imagine a better place to round off a holiday. If you are interested in architecture with quirk and conscience, a beautiful setting and scrumptious dinners then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fizzingsaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We have stayed at St. Orres on several occasions over the past 10 years...bouncing between the TreeHouse and Sequoia. It has been a treat...the rooms are wonderful, the setting spectacular....and the breakfast second to none. However, this last week some of the magic was missing....the exterior looked old and weatherbeaten...the grounds were not kept up...at all...
and while the room (Sequoia) was very clean and "occupant" ready....the carpet had burn holes In it and was in tremendous need of replacing. We will come to St. Orres again, but are hopeful that focus can be placed on bringing the overall property and units up to the caliber and quality that we have enjoyed in years past....For us, the stay was nice...certainly not special (And is has potential of being very special!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mda1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Johnson house and were mightily disappointed. The house had a very musty smell, there was a bad smell in the bedroom, and we spotted a black widow on the outside ledge of the bedroom window. The little house has so much potential and could be really cute with a remodeling. The view from the deck is beautiful, and the front room and kitchen are pretty roomy. We had been looking forward to our getaway at the beautiful St Orres and we're shocked to get something so dated and unpleasant.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Johnson house!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrystallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

There is no place like St. Orres. It is quintessential North Coast, from the setting on a hillside covered with redwoods to the building-beams rescued from a local trestle bridge. The cabins have been beautifully renovated, and breakfast is brought to your door in a lovingly crafted wooden box.

Room Tip: We LOVED Black Chanterelle, with its own sauna.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awake_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is truly majestic, one-of-a-kind place on the Northern California Coast near Gualala! We made this hotel and restaurant a culmination point of a special trip with my father for his 70th and were not disappointed for a moment. Spectacular nature and terrific touch of owner/chef Rosemary and her staff made it truly unique and unforgettable experience. The attention to detail and quality is palpable in everything… well-appointed historic cottages with stacks of cured fire-wood with a backdrop of the majestic redwoods, exquisite main dining room, carefully crafted and perfected menu is imaginative and in the best Italian tradition stays true to the best ingredients and best preparations with addition of only freshest local favorites (like sweet local oyster or rare black California Chanterelle), or even still-warm and simply perfectly made quiche Lorraine in the famous breakfast box delivered to your door on the crisp morning around 8am… Ohh, just perfect! This is the place to stay, to get away from noise, to reflect, to indulge and to create special memories. I cannot wait to go back and will be planning another trip ASAP!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews