We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value On The North Coast?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Orres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Orres
Ranked #4 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Value On The North Coast?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

I just got back from my second stay at St. Orres (the first stay was in March 2005) and still find myself charmed by this slightly funky but enchanting place.

We stayed in "Sorrel Glen" and "Wake Robin" on the Creekside Cottages" side of the property (not next to the main inn). Along with "Fern Canyon" and "Sea Pines", these cottages may be one of the best deals on the north coast. Having seen the inside of some of the larger and far more expensive cabins, I'm afraid I can't say the same thing for them. I'd even classify them as overpriced! The smaller cottages are $120-$135/night, while the larger ones are $220 a night. For that price, you'd expect a lot more attention to detail and nicer furnishings. However, the slightly worn look and somewhat outdated decor isn't really an issue when you're enjoying your own stand-alone cottage for $135, cheaper than most hotel rooms in the area.

I'd say Wake Robin is slightly nicer than Sorrel Glen, and they're both the same price. The big selling point in Sea Pines is that it has an ocean view from inside the cottage, but it doesn't have a deck like the other three I mentioned.

The main appeal to the cottages I mentioned is their access to the lovely hot tub gazebo deck (includes a sauna and changing rooms). The hot tub is available to all guests of those cottages, but when we've used it we've always been blissfully alone (we've also only visited on weekdays).

The cottages come equipped with mini-fridges, coffee maker, coffee, tea, wine glasses, corkscrew, and cutting board which is a must. We enjoyed several great bottles of wine here.

Eating at the restuarant is a must. Staying here at not eating here would quite possibly be a crime against humanity. The wine list is actually reasonably priced for a "fancy" restuarant, or you could get away with a gourmet dinner for two for $80 if you skip on wine and an appetizer. We always spend considerably more, though. The wild game is fantastic.

The really nice thing about St. Orres is that management just leaves you alone. We stayed here for 3 days and never saw anyone except at dinner. If you don't need super-luxury it's a great place to get away to.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    8
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

St. Orres is located in a small Northern CA coast town. Though out in the country it is just a few miles from shopping. We stayed in a small cabin (called the Guest House) on the property. It was very cozy but a little rough aroun the edges. Could use a little paint here and there. A full breakfast was delivered to our door; it was delicious. We chose a cabin because the hotel's rooms had shared bathrooms. We did not eat in the restaurant but would certainly plan to do so if we ever get that way again. The dining room was completely booked the night that we were there. The food looked delicious!

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Bathroom in our cabin was very small; difficult to move around.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

This is a place you can come to for a romantic weekend, family reunion, solo getaway, or weekend with friends. It all depends on the lodging you choose. Not all cottages have the same amenities, so if you have specific needs (fireplace, privacy, Jacuzzi, ocean view), be sure to mention that when you call. Some places are much nicer than others, so be aware that they are priced accordingly.

Three friends and I just got back from spending two days at the Osprey, which is a creekside cottage that can be used as a one, two or three bedroom. Our house was not as charming on the outside as most of the others, but it has an absolutely wonderful ocean view and was perfect for us. It also has a full kitchen (stovetop but no oven), woodburning stove, sauna and Jacuzzi (The other creekside cottages share a sauna and hot tub, and it was wonderful to have our own.).

There are meadow cottages and creekside cottages. The main difference between them is that you cannot walk to the restaurant from the creekside cottages. So keep that in mind if you are interested in dining at the wonderful restaurant (which you should do). The drive on Highway 1 is incredibly short (maybe 40 yards?), but it is a drive nonetheless.

Breakfast is cheerfully directed every morning between 8:30-9AM. They knock on your door, sing out "morning, breakfast!" and then leave you be. The two breakfasts we had were nearly identical: granola, milk, juice, and a plate of fresh fruit, a sweet bread, and a baked custard dish. The first morning it was savory - with mushrooms, and the second morning it was sweet - with rice and cinnamon. They were too similar for two mornings in a row. It seems picky to say, but that was our honest reaction. There is a coffeemaker and quite acceptable coffee provided in the kitchen.

The grounds are lovely - apple trees, deer and quail wandering around. I will definitely come back here again, probably to splurge on the Black Chanterelle or Sequoia.

  • Liked — Location! Escapes the fog, lovely beaches.
  • Disliked — A bit sleepy at night, not much variety in what to do. A long drive to anywhere.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaiSai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del mar california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

This is our third and last stay here. The $140.00 room was a shack. The welcome was quick and harried and the directions we asked for to our next location were flip and incorrect.

The dinners and breakfasts at St. Orres are delicious and very popular. Presentation and service are excellent. Eat there but don't stay there.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank pattyperfect_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

I think that, as R&D wrote, this hotel is a wonderful balance of the rustic and the civilized, and has great value. We stayed in Fern Canyon, one of the little cabins. It was very much like a cottage and did not have a lot of frills, but was stunning with two decks (upper and lower) nestled in the redwoods, and great privacy. The hot tub and sauna were right out our front door, and views from the common sundeck of the ocean were beautiful. The breakfast delivered to the door is really special, and dinner at their restaurant easily 4 star. I had duck, and for those duck fans, you'll know this is not easy to do well. It was pink and tender with crispy skin - possibly the best duck I've had. I will be back to this inn.

  • Liked — Privacy of cabin in woods.
  • Disliked — Walkway to main building not clearly marked/unsafe in dark.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChillinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

My husband, toddler and I stayed here for a night and had an alright experience. We stayed in the Rose Cottage. Our toddler negotiated the short, carpeted steps no problem, and slept fine up in the sleeping area (the cottage is a stepped loft-type one-room arrangement). It was great having a small refrigerator and kitchen, and the breakfast was very generous--they even made special food for our toddler.

The management would do well to upgrade the furniture, however; the ocean view out the living room is spectacular but the furniture is very worn out, the carpet shabby. I would bring a favorite throw or put a blanket over the furniture before sitting on it. Make sure you know how to use the wood stove (shut the doors!) or you'll really smoke up the place. I would say this was a good stop on the way to Mendocino, I was disappointed that we couldn't use the hot tub (for the other side of the property, apparently) but good to have as a child-friendly place.

  • Liked — Great ocean views.
  • Disliked — Really old furniture.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

My wife and I love to camp, and are going to Yellowstone this June, tho others consider outdoor living to be a nightmare. So it is with St Orres, from reading some of the reviews here, not everyone truly desires rustic surroundings. To us, it is the perfect combination of rusticity and civility, and a more unusual property would be hard to find. We stayed in the Wake Robin cabin, with all of the windows facing the side of the creek. Looking out, all we saw was the redwood forest in all directions, immediately outside the glass. There was a small deck, which was in view of the parking area and 2 cabins, but we otherwise felt in our own world in the Wake Robin. The carpeting, bedding and furnishings were new or nearly so, the delivered breakfast in the morning was memorable, and the communal sauna and hot tub were just steps away from our front door. I thought it a nice touch that they had real wine glasses in the room, much nicer than a highball glass or plastic cup you'd expect. We ate at the restaurant the last night, and felt it was a 4-to-5 star meal, very good to excellent. My wife had the local salmon, I had the wild boar, and service was very attentive tho never intrusive. Their sous chef that night was remarkable.

btw, our other meal was in Gualala at the Bones Roadhouse, and for bbq was very good, the brisket being some of the best I've had.

We're returning in 2 weeks for 2 nights. See you there.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
10.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
23.6 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
2.4 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Orres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Orres

Property: St. Orres
Address: 36601 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-8583
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St. Orres Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing