We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed August 20, 2008

The Windermere was a very nice hotel. But personally I found the people too snooty. There was alot of "old money" and the hotel obviously catered to them. We took a garden view room, which really had no view except to a run-down house on the other side of the road. And there was only a broken and dirty plastic lounge chair to sit on. The room was nothing special considering the price. I will admit the bed was amazing. The hotel facilities were not what I expected. The "world class" gym, was lacking. Old machines, all of the sanitizers were empty, and the lounge deck outside the gym, was embarrassing. The chairs were so old and dirty you could not sit in them and the garbage bin was right underneath which under the hot sun, did not smell good. . The restaurant and bar were good , obviously where all the recent renovation money went.. Although the staff all young and not very helpful.
I felt that we had to ask about hotel info as nothing was told to us. Apparently there had been a hotel boat cruise which we would have enjoyed, but it was not posted nor did anyone tell us about it, until the day later. The hotel did have a great verandah for nightime drinks or breakfasts, and it would have probably been nicer to have a lake view room, but I don't think I would spend the money to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 186 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2008

3 Floor rooms have just been renovated and are world class. The new sushi restaurant and the seafood/grill restaurants would be well regarded in NY, where i live.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank student_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The resort / hotel is in a wonderful spot on the lakeside. A 19th Century building with extensive grounds, golf course and water sports. Delightful gardens. rooms spacious and very comfortable, king size beds, well equipped bathrooms and all the usual amenities - TV etc.

Staff at front desk very casual and obviously working for the season ao short term contracts and as a result knew little about the district and tourist attractions. Neverhteless a courteous welcome. But be aware that the restauarant is poor and over-priced. The chef obviously wants to show off his talensts. The result is an attempt at 'designer dishes' with little quality in ingredients or cooking.

If you avoid the restaurant, the hotel is a delight and in a wonderful village, easy to explore the area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveler2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Берите номер на втором этаже с видом на озеро )))) там есть террасы ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ksiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 56 in Muskoka District
262 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
21.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: $225 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.” Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages. Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you. Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing