We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sherwood Inn(Port Carling)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky Crest Golf Resort(Muskoka District)
$170
$136
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bracebridge)
$120
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellington Inn(Bracebridge)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bracebridge Inn(Bracebridge)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestwood Inn(Port Carling)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
70
69
35
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
69
35
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake rosseaugreat musicdining roomnearby portboat tripnachosbeautiful spotcaesar saladmuskoka chairsthird floordining experiencesushi barwater sportshousekeeping stafftook advantagestone patiomy husband's steak
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 189 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A group of us stayed there for 1 night the weekend after Labour Day. We had rooms on the 3rd floor, which are the best. The rooms are lovely, good size, comfy beds and very clean. We had lunch on the patio when we arrived, and it was really good. Nice menu and good service. Not so much for the breakfast the next day. It was in the dated back dining room and the service was terrible. The help yourself buffet was empty, not even any plates. We asked for tea and our waiter brought hot water and poured it in our mugs, then left. We thought he would come back with the tea, but never did. I looked around and noticed a box of tea at the front of the room, and went to get it myself. I guess he forgot to bring it. Strange. The food was just OK, nothing special. The pastries seemed store bought and a little stale.
Muskoka is one of the most beautiful places on earth and Windermere House is a lovely place to stay, I highly recommend it. It has great views of Lake Rosseau, a nice small beach for the kids, a nice lobby bar and clean, bright rooms with soothing decor and modern bathrooms.

Room Tip: Always choose rooms on the 3rd floor, they are the most recently renovated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimberleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Windermere House is a great place to experience the heart of Muskoka. It is quiet but elegant and comfortable. The food is very good. Its important to understand that this is not a resort. You won't get drinks served pool side or a manicured beach with loungers. You will get a stunning view of Lake Rosseau. We had a very nice stay in mid-September when it is much quieter. There was a wedding on the saturday and that made it a bit busier but was not a problem.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room with balcony for the full experience.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was an incredible 10 day break from the hustle and bustle of life! This was our third time there and we cant get enough. With the golf, beach, water skiing, it is great for the entire family. Highly recommend for families as they have great rates on adjoining rooms! Our daughters still talk about how Windermere is true Muskoka!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Setzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the Windermere house and we returned because the room is the best we have found in Ontario for the cost. The room had everything we could ask for and a great view of the lake.

The food and drinks were great in every bar/ restaurant that they offered but the service we found was extremely slow. Maybe they were understaffed, who knows.

As for the Spa, we found it was ok, but very overpriced. However, the golf course was quite nice.

If you are looking for crazy excitement this is definitely not the place. It is very isolated in northern Ontario which is great if that is what you are hoping for.

overall definitely a great place to go but be prepared for a quiet weekend.

Room Tip: facing the water ask for the rooms on the left side. Right side is above the banquet room which is booked every weekend for weddings
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our clean and updated lake view room was ready at 2:30 (check in is 4) so we were off to an early start. Our 12 year old had a great time learning to wakeboard at the marina ($35/session but they were really patient and encouraging with top of the line equipment). We stayed mid Aug and the lake was refreshing but tolerable. The pool was a little outdated but clean and warm although very noisy with screaming toddlers and parents who just let them shriek continuously. I have 3 kids of my own so I am very tolerant of shouts of joy or noisy games but these spoiled kids just screamed and screamed so couples beware. Dinners were excellent both at the outdoor restaurant (linguine with shrimp was fantastic, also smore skillet brownie) and at the outdoor pub (specials each night were great value). The view of the lake while dining was spectacular and service was excellent. After dinner, it was great family fun to play pingpong and shuffleboard.
We all agreed that the beds here are the most comfortable that we have ever slept in at a hotel. Next time though if I get a lakeview room, I would get one with a balcony as the window is really small. The resort itself is very compact so it is easy to zip back to your room to get stuff. The breakfast buffet was included and especially enjoyed the pancakes, eggs benedict and pastries. We were a little disappointed that the bikes were either adult size or child sized so nothing that would fit out 12 year old. We rented a 17 ft bowrider from the marina for half day and made it all the way around the lake. We also canoed and kayaked (included).
We would return as a family to Windermere House for the location, excellent lakefront dining, comfortable rooms, family activities and wakeboarding.

Room Tip: if you are going to pay for lakeview, make sure you get a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews