We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Windermere House is a great place to experience the heart of Muskoka. It is quiet but elegant and comfortable. The food is very good. Its important to understand that this is not a resort. You won't get drinks served pool side or a manicured beach with loungers. You will get a stunning view of Lake Rosseau. We had a very nice stay in mid-September when it is much quieter. There was a wedding on the saturday and that made it a bit busier but was not a problem.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room with balcony for the full experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
80
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Piermont, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was an incredible 10 day break from the hustle and bustle of life! This was our third time there and we cant get enough. With the golf, beach, water skiing, it is great for the entire family. Highly recommend for families as they have great rates on adjoining rooms! Our daughters still talk about how Windermere is true Muskoka!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Setzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our second trip to the Windermere house and we returned because the room is the best we have found in Ontario for the cost. The room had everything we could ask for and a great view of the lake.

The food and drinks were great in every bar/ restaurant that they offered but the service we found was extremely slow. Maybe they were understaffed, who knows.

As for the Spa, we found it was ok, but very overpriced. However, the golf course was quite nice.

If you are looking for crazy excitement this is definitely not the place. It is very isolated in northern Ontario which is great if that is what you are hoping for.

overall definitely a great place to go but be prepared for a quiet weekend.

Room Tip: facing the water ask for the rooms on the left side. Right side is above the banquet room which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our clean and updated lake view room was ready at 2:30 (check in is 4) so we were off to an early start. Our 12 year old had a great time learning to wakeboard at the marina ($35/session but they were really patient and encouraging with top of the line equipment). We stayed mid Aug and the lake was refreshing but tolerable. The pool was a little outdated but clean and warm although very noisy with screaming toddlers and parents who just let them shriek continuously. I have 3 kids of my own so I am very tolerant of shouts of joy or noisy games but these spoiled kids just screamed and screamed so couples beware. Dinners were excellent both at the outdoor restaurant (linguine with shrimp was fantastic, also smore skillet brownie) and at the outdoor pub (specials each night were great value). The view of the lake while dining was spectacular and service was excellent. After dinner, it was great family fun to play pingpong and shuffleboard.
We all agreed that the beds here are the most comfortable that we have ever slept in at a hotel. Next time though if I get a lakeview room, I would get one with a balcony as the window is really small. The resort itself is very compact so it is easy to zip back to your room to get stuff. The breakfast buffet was included and especially enjoyed the pancakes, eggs benedict and pastries. We were a little disappointed that the bikes were either adult size or child sized so nothing that would fit out 12 year old. We rented a 17 ft bowrider from the marina for half day and made it all the way around the lake. We also canoed and kayaked (included).
We would return as a family to Windermere House for the location, excellent lakefront dining, comfortable rooms, family activities and wakeboarding.

Room Tip: if you are going to pay for lakeview, make sure you get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location of Windermere House for sure makes this place worth visiting and staying.
Food is great, staff very friendly, rooms large and clean.

I will surely be going back next summer, the view of the lake is stunning.
The region so rich in sights, if you love nature Muskoka is the place to visit and location of this place is a huge score.

Room Tip: add couple $ and take lakeview :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Izabela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Windermere House this past summer and loved it both times. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds among the most comfortable that we have experienced.

The food is great whether using the formal dining room or the pub.

The staff were very helpful and courteous.

Windermere golf is a delight .. very playable but no pushover ..

All in all, a superb experience.

Room Tip: Any room that we've stayed in, has been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I bought a two night getaway including room and breakfast midweek. We were pleasantly surprised at the size and furnishings of our room. Although we had the cheapest accommodations, the room, facing the garden, vs the pricier lake view was very pleasant. The king bed was comfy and we even had a fridge to keep our fruit and snacks cold. I highly recommend that you bring your own snacks as there is nowhere close by to purchase food except the O &B restaurants in the resort. We could not even get a cold drink or sandwich around the pool. You had to dress and go to the pub. The resort is located on a very picturesque property on Lake Rousseau where we enjoyed that view from the surprisingly comfortable Muskoka chairs (what else). The beach and pool were another matter. The beach barely exists and does not have lounge or sitting chairs for the guests. I am past the lying on the sand on a towel stage. We then went to the pool and we were very disappointed to discover, a limited number of chairs and lounge chairs, with no umbrellas as there was a small covered area that one could drag their chair to if there was room. We did not fit under the canopy. The lounge chairs were not in line with a five star resort. They were extremely uncomfortable, no cushioning, few sitting positions and generally looked scruffy. Once we gog to the pool I discovered that the pool towels were NOT at the pool but located at the front desk. As you can imagine, we were not thrilled to have to walk back to the main building after I asked at the front desk for directions to the pool and was not offered towels at that time. When my husband returned from the sojourn for towels I was stunned to see the small, skimpy pool towels that did not cover either me or the lounger. The pool deck was not landscaped and the cement pool steps were very hard to see any myself and another hotel guest almost fell as you couldn't see the end of each stair. We could not have dinner in the fine dining room as it was closed on Mondays and we had to eat at the pub , where we had a good club sandwich at lunch, with a nice view. However at dinner, the chicken nachos were burnt. When I sent them back, the waitress explained that there was only one cook in the kitchen and he was swamped. Why would O&B not be properly staffed? As the resort was the only place to eat for miles, we decided to have dinner yhe second night at te fine dinning room. I ordered the ribs and my husband, the New York sirloin. The ribs appeared to boiled and thrown on the grill for 30 seconds with some bbq sauce. They were unacceptable. The manager, to his credit, had the executive Chef cook me a rib eye, which was excellent. My husband's steak was good. To my surprise, my dinner was gratis and the chef send a complimentary dessert as well. It did make a difference.
Breakfast was buffet but I recommend that you go at least an hour before it closes as the croissants, bagels, cream cheese blueberry pancakes etc.were finished. But the there were two kinds of eggs Benedict with runny yokes (yum yum). The staff were exceptionally pleasant. I would have loved to be able to make a coffee in the room at night or when we awoke but there was no machine provided. Although they had coffee in the bar in the morning complimentary, there was none in the evening.

We drove to Port Carling and around the Lake on a cool day. It was very nice. Bring some good books or good company as there was no entertainment during the week. A movie night, trivia night etc would have been a nice idea. I would stay here again and bring ny own beach towels.

Room Tip: Corner with a balcony and view of the lake is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddytravels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.3 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
12.0 mi away
Patterson Kaye Resort by Regalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Property: Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.”Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages.Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you.Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing