We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked a golf package for two for one night the last week of July for $414 plus taxes. This was a waterview room which turned out to be technically correct - but it was a small window that one needed to stand up on the very left side of the room beside the window to see the water. No view from chair or bed. The golf packaged did not include cart - another $40 plus taxes. On the positive side, the pub downstairs had very atmosphere and god food. Disappointed the fancy restaurant was closed on the Monday night during the height of the tourism season. Postice - breakfast is included. Basic buffet is included but closed at 10 am. At 930 there was a small amount of dried up scrambled eggs and two eggs Benny, sausages and bacon. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Parking is free but again limited. Rooms are spacious but do not offer coffee. Internet is slow and a bit of a hassle to get onto but again included. I understand Windermere frequently has mid week specials on discount websites that can save you big $$!!! Wished we had looked here first...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JohnMene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear JohnMene,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and offer our sincerest apologies. I have forwarded your comments along to the General Manger of the hotel as well as Oliver & Bonacini's Food & Beverage Manager so they are aware of your comments.

We hope that despite your concerns that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Windermere House Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Summer staff who make up a large portion of the staff complement are not sufficiently trained to offer a level of service that one would expect from a 4 star resort. We went to the pub on two separate occasions and were ignored by staff each time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COLL1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear COLL1550,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We appreciate all feedback we receive as it helps us improve for future guests. I want you to know that I've passed along your comments regarding the staff in the pub to the General Manager of the hotel as well as Oliver & Bonacini's Food & Beverage Manager so they are both aware. On behalf of the hotel, we offer our sincerest apologies.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Windermere House to make up for this negative experience you had in the pub.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family decided to stay a few days at this historic establishment on Lake Rosseau. Although charmed by the location and exterior of the building, we were disappointed that the hotel and its amenities did not match the price tag of over $400/night. (More like 435 when you tack on the 7% service fee - what is this for???) We stayed in a platinum level room that comfortably fit a family of 4. While it was ample in size it had a very dated washroom with no venting. Making it very steamy and humid for quite some time after showering. Although the bed was comfortable and the carpets looked new, everything else was rather ordinary. Our view of he lake and our expansive balcony almost made up for the rooms deficiencies were it not for the loud neighbours who kept taking our lounge chairs to their side of the balcony. The hallway carpets also needed some TLC. Restaurants and patio locations were great, breakfast buffet was decent but definitely not worth paying an extra $25 for each child. We loved the tennis courts and the fact that it was right by a golf course. The resort is a bit remote though so if the weather is not great you have to drive 30 minutes to Bracebridge or Huntsville for shopping and entertainment. The beach is very small but very clean and perfect for kids. If weather had been warmer we would have taken out some canoes. Would have liked a bigger lobby area where one could gather and perhaps get to know other families but the lounge was right beside the bar and an area that the salesmen use to pitch fractional ownership making quietly reading a paper with a cup of coffee a bit of a challenge on Sunday morning. Glad we experienced this place at least once but next time will likely choose something else for the same money.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lake view if you are going to stay here, preferably with a balcony, one suite ha...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GelQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear GelQuest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We appreciate all feedback we receive as it helps us improve for future guests. I want you to know that I've passed along your comments regarding your room and service charge to the General Manager of the hotel so she is aware. The service charge covers the ground maintenance and cleaning of our hotel rooms, and common areas.

If there is anything else we can assist with, please contact the hotel directly. We hope that despite your negative experience we will be able to welcome you to the Windermere House again in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a rustic, historic, fascinating old and amazingly, lovingly restored hotel. The rooms are more than ample, well-decorated and totally comfortable. Our room looked over a lovely garden, had a very fulsome bathroom and lots of space.
Our overnight package included a huge full breakfast that pretty well kept us going all day; the previous evening we had a delightful dinner in the outdoors section of the pub. The Caesar salad was almost a meal in itself, very tasty, and the nachos plate enough for two sharing.
Lots of amenities and the lake is right at the foot of the well kept property. We looked in to the spa and it looks very good indeed, but had too much else to do.
Given all there is and all there is to do and the setting on the famous lake, and the price was reasonable for two. Well worth it.

Room Tip: We opted for a more modest costing garden view and that was great; faced also the road running by th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear BartMBart,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Windermere House on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you had such a great experience while staying with us. I have forwarded your review to the General Manager of the hotel so she is aware of your positive experience.

We are excited to welcome you back to the resort at some point in the near future!

Enjoy the rest of your summer! Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed one night, the hotel is beautiful, rooms are very nice & clean. I have a bit of a germ phobia & felt comfortable at the windermere. We had breakfast & dinner at the hotel & the food was very good. Although, it was a short stay, I found there wasn't much to do. They do have small sandy beach area, however no lounge chairs are provided by the beach. The pool has the loungers for obvious reasons. I wouldn't be able to stay there for more than a night or two, because they lack activities. So I rate the hotel 5 star, just not much to do other than the pool & beach with no chairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Beachlover,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Windermere House on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel itself, however we apologize no one informed you of the activities that were available to you while you were here. For future reference please visit the "Seeing Muskoka" section on our website. Some activities are free and offered through the hotel and others can be arranged for you at the front desk.

www.windermerehouse.com/Seeing-Muskoka-and-Other-Area-Attractions/

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, so you can enjoy the local activities in and around the Windermere area.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had already written a great review. We just stayed over July 1/13 weekend. Well, I left my bathing suit (favourite one) and a t-shirt. They were kind enough to mail it back to me and I received it today!
I have never rec'vd this kind of personalized service
Well done to the staff of Windermere Resort

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Richard,

We were happy to do it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon we hope!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Better than the website;very close to the lake but up above it so great view. Nice variety of bars and eating areas. Not much of a pool, tennis court, canoes included. Golf a sand wedge away, okay maybe a pitching wedge and reasonably priced. Food and drink pricing reasonable; on The Verandah at least. Rooms well appointed. We were travelling as two couples,we all loved it here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#27 of 56 in Muskoka District
259 reviews
21.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
260 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: $227 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.” Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages. Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you. Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing