We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty-but not alot to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
woodbridge, ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty-but not alot to do”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed one night, the hotel is beautiful, rooms are very nice & clean. I have a bit of a germ phobia & felt comfortable at the windermere. We had breakfast & dinner at the hotel & the food was very good. Although, it was a short stay, I found there wasn't much to do. They do have small sandy beach area, however no lounge chairs are provided by the beach. The pool has the loungers for obvious reasons. I wouldn't be able to stay there for more than a night or two, because they lack activities. So I rate the hotel 5 star, just not much to do other than the pool & beach with no chairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Beachlover,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Windermere House on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel itself, however we apologize no one informed you of the activities that were available to you while you were here. For future reference please visit the "Seeing Muskoka" section on our website. Some activities are free and offered through the hotel and others can be arranged for you at the front desk.

www.windermerehouse.com/Seeing-Muskoka-and-Other-Area-Attractions/

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, so you can enjoy the local activities in and around the Windermere area.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
51
81
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had already written a great review. We just stayed over July 1/13 weekend. Well, I left my bathing suit (favourite one) and a t-shirt. They were kind enough to mail it back to me and I received it today!
I have never rec'vd this kind of personalized service
Well done to the staff of Windermere Resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Richard,

We were happy to do it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon we hope!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Better than the website;very close to the lake but up above it so great view. Nice variety of bars and eating areas. Not much of a pool, tennis court, canoes included. Golf a sand wedge away, okay maybe a pitching wedge and reasonably priced. Food and drink pricing reasonable; on The Verandah at least. Rooms well appointed. We were travelling as two couples,we all loved it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything was amazing from the drive up to the view. The rooms were lovely. Beautifully appointed and comfortable. All the food in the restaurants was great and the staff outstanding....attentive and professional but easy to chat to at the same time.
We had a very relaxing 2 days but in all fairness it was not busy at all and we like that. I imagine when summer is in full swing or there is a wedding, it gets quite noisy.
The only thing I would say as a negative is that the bath towels and pool towels were unacceptable. The pool towel I had was worn with a hole in it. The bands on the bath and hand towels were severely shrunken from washing and difficult to use. We did have one new towel the first day which was lovely and soft but they need to replace all those others.
The same shrunken towels were even in the beautiful posh bathrooms of the fractional cottages. The person that showed us the cottage said she thought they were supposed to be that way...nope !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Judith,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Windermere House on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback on the towels. We are going through them so that no future guests have the same problems. We apologize for that.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again at some point in the future.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First off, the wedding I attended at Windermere House was exceptional, especially the gorgeous room for the ceremony. However, the overall experience of the hotel itself was poor on almost every count.

The room itself was beautiful (though my "garden view" consisted of a paved road and some bushes). The bed was too soft for my liking, but that's only based on a personal preference.

The staff did their job - but nothing above and beyond that. I did not feel especially welcomed or treated warmly. In fact, most of the staff seemed smug, put-upon, and even standoffish (except for one young gentleman, dressed impeccably, who seemed to be a manager of sorts).

The breakfast was good, but my coffee and water had a pungent, repugnant odor and taste (as did all the water I experienced during my stay). Without exaggeration, they smelled almost like sewage.

Speaking of water, the water in the shower would repeatedly trickle down to nothing. I had to wait for at least a minute each time it stopped in order for it to turn on again and heat up to a bareable temperature. This happened two days in a row, so it wasn't a fluke.

The worst part of the trip was the unexpected 7% "Service Charge" at the end, which was entirely unacceptable. Why should I have to pay for access to the pool, tennis courts, etc. when a) I was there for a wedding and did not have time to utilize these amenities and b) by definition, hotel amenities are supposed to be benefits that come with staying at the hotel? I, in no way, should have to pay extra for them, especially if I didn't even use them.

Disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeybelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mikeybelcher,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We appreciate all feedback we receive as it helps us improve for future guests. I want you to know that I've passed along your comments regarding the staff, water, and the service charge to the General Manager of the hotel so she is aware. She is currently reviewing your comments with the different Managers of the hotel so that we can improve on them right away.

I'm glad the wedding was a success, and you enjoyed your time at that event.

If there is anything else we can assist with, please contact the hotel directly. We hope that despite your negative experience we will be able to welcome you to the Windermere House again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A dinner in the Windermere House dining room is an excellent experience . Four generations of our family has dined at WH since the late 19th century.
Guests should be warned that the dining room charges a $ 25 per bottle " corkage " fee ( including screwtops ) just to take a bottle from the dining room.
This is an outrage bit of opportunistic greed from the Oliver and Bonicini crowd.

Selby Martin
14 Burnham Rd
Toronto
mselbye750@rogers.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorontoSelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TorontoSelby,

We have received your review regarding the corkage fees with Oliver & Bonacini. I want you to know that I've forwarded your review to the Food & Beverage Manager at the resort so she is aware of your feedback. I'd like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns, so that we can improve for future guests.

We look forward to having you dine with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Came to Windermere for a spa experience - massage and facial. The women's change rooms are terrible... small, grimy, not a lot of security in terms of the lockers. Plus, they are on a different floor than the rest of the spa. Very questionable.

However, the spa services itself are fantastic. Very professional and extremely nice. The quality of the services are 5 star indeed.

One watch-out: be careful of the recommended products to purchase. They are extraordinarily expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoNd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear TorontoNd25,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sanctuary Spa at the Windermere House. I want you to know that I've passed your comments along to the Manager of the Sanctuary Spa so that she is aware of your feedback. We appreciate any feedback so that we can improve our facility for future guests.
We hope to welcome you back to the Windermere House at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
21.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Property: Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.”Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages.Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you.Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing