We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick with the sushi”

Windermere House Pub & Patio
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Windermere
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is the place to gather with family and friends to enjoy great times and great food. Overlooking the beautiful Lake Rosseau and surrounded by spacious lawns, the setting is unrivaled. Here you’ll kick back and relax with a wide selection of beverages and a plentiful offerings of appetizing snacks, mouth-watering entrees and yummy desserts. Kick back with a beverage in the fresh Muskoka air overlooking the beauty of Lake Rosseau. Go Pub, and go happy!
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stick with the sushi”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited the patio twice this year and had a combination of sushi and the pub food. You can order both when sitting on the patio. The sushi is very high priced but very good. The other generic food is ok but not exceptional.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank teedee1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

You would think since this is the busiest time of year for Muskoka vacation spots that one's experience would be more than satisfactory at Windermere House. However that was not the case. The food was okay but the service was worse than just slow. One of our party had the wrong appetizer delivered. None of our meals came at the same time. We waited too long for delivery of drinks/food. Once we did get our dinners we didn't see any wait staff unless we flagged them down. One busser came by and asked if she could clear our table....she took away a few things and we never saw her again. Worse management of a busy vacation spot ever. Probably won't be back any time soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hemlockhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful venue, overpriced average food”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was at an event at Windermere House this past weekend. The accomodations were beautiful, lush and comfortable. However, the food at the event was very very average and wayyyyyy overpriced. I wouldn't suggest doing an event there if you can avoid it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perriloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“classic Muskoka hotel/restaurant”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

one of the remaining old style Muskoka hotels. We were in for lunch and sat in the upper patio overlooking Lake Muskoka, watching the boats and swimmers enjoying a beautiful summer day. Friends who have stayed at the hotel were quite positive about the accomodation. In past we have experienced a great supper meal at the main dining area. However, the food at the patio was average, at best. My boeuf au jus was a disappointment. Typically this meal is served with medium rare beef and the "juice" plain drippings from the roast. This meal consisted of overcooked beef between a large white bread bun and the "jus" reminded one of canned beef gravy - quite thick and little beef taste. The other folks also found their meals OK, but not remarkable to any degree. On the other hand, they featured sweet potato fries which were excellent. We would return for a main evening meal and will likely try the lunch again to see if this was a "one-off" experience. Anyone who is disabled would be wise to enter by the main door and use the elevator to access the patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such a Rip Off”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just finished dinner at this establishment. It was so disappointing. For example. the Kale and Goat Cheese Dinner Salad was served in a soup bowl for $13.00. It was a few Kale leaves and a sprinkle of goat cheese and two carrot slices. Unbelievable!! The quality and quantity of food is a joke. The wonderful location is their excuse to rip off their guests. Prices for wine are ridiculous!
The very idea that nachos could deserve a $19 price is laughable. Just because the location is upscale does not give the owner leave to treat their guest so poorly!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxyMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windermere House Pub & Patio also viewed

Windermere, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 

Been to Windermere House Pub & Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing