We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”

Yamato Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 55 Restaurants in Grover Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Came with a big group(6). Place was packed because it was a friday night. Oir food came out very quickly. The servers were friendly and the place was clean. Ordered a variety of menu items from the spicy tuna roll, Philadelphia roll, lobster roll, fireball and even teriyaki chicken. No complaints

Helpful?
Thank bethluvjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, CA
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wonderful service, completely friendly all the time. And, the food is to die for.
You cannot go wrong when you step into this wonderful little sushi house.
The best in town. And,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Your always greeted with a "LONG TIME NO SEE" :-)
Its Awesome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaArroyoGrande_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I have been going here since it opened in the 1980s”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

When Jimmy Yamamoto opened this converted doughnut shop to a Sushi Bar in then "Grover City", I was amazed at the level of pride, authenticity and excellence he gave the food. When it was sold to the new owners in the 1990s they added and refined the offerings to expand the menu. Today in "Grover beach" Yamato's is the only Sushi restaurant I have ever been to in the U.S. to serve such huge pieces of fresh fish ! Twice the size of most sushi it is twice the size of the rice ! Great service wide variety of fresh fish and great drinks. A great place to have a Birthday too ! C&H

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahdiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Rolls on the Central Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our favorite Sushi chef in Fresno recommended Yamato to us and we are so glad he did. We went for lunch and we were not disappointed. It's located in a small strip mall across from Von's Supermarket. As we entered we were greeted by the staff as are all who enter.
The fish was fresh and flavorful and the rolls were delicious with the right amount of sauce. The service was great and the prices were decent. I cannot wait to return to the Pismo Beach area to try the rest of the menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malerntogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ok we are from Los Angeles so our standard for food is a bit more critical but still impressed with the numbers of customers that showed up

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing