We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, nice room for price, would stay here again. Good free breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We got this place randomly on Priceline for a low price. It's a two-star hotel and we are used to 3+ star hotels but none were available in Pismo so we decided to chance it. We were prepared for the worst but were pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean, AC worked fine, fireplace was cool, and the bed was comfortable. We ate dinner at the attached restaurant (AJ Spurs) and had a great time. The food is fantastic and the servers were fun. Plus hotel guests get a 10% discount coupon.

For negatives, there was a funky smell in the second floor elevator area, and the jacuzzi was not working. Both were minor inconveniences.

I give the hotel owners BIG credit for not tearing down a beautiful giant oak tree that's obviously been there for at least 100 years. They built a nice walkway around it on the path to the restaurant. I've attached a picture.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

This must have been the "Grover Beach Motel" or "Quaint Seaside Inn" or whatever a long time ago. The place is clearly OLD and in need of renovations, despite Holiday Inn's attempts at making it look newish on the surface.

My room was large enough, but what's the use if you can't be comfortable in it. The very worst was I couldn't adjust the climate in the room. It was a bit chilly, and when I went to look for the heating/cooling unit, I finally found it ON THE UPPER WALL, near the window, like those boxy 1970s half inside/half outside A/C units. It looked so dusty and gross I didn't want to touch it, but I was freezing so I attempted. It sputtered, and I couldn't get the thing to work and it creeped me out cause it was so dusty and rickety. When was that filter last changed?!?! I don't even know if it had a heat feature. There were no extra blankets, so I just wore some extra clothes to bed.

There is no fitness room here. I chose this location because my travel agency site said there is. Oddly enough tripadvisor indicates there is a fitness room as well. Well, there is none. There used to be, I was told by the girl at the front desk, but no more. So be aware.

The TV had limited channels, and the rugs are reallllyyyy dark brown, adding to the 1970s vibe and you wonder what stains lurk... Is it clean? I dunno... that gross wall heating/cooling unit wasn't. Yuk!

The breakfast was sub par. You'll probably just leave with a coffee and yogurt as everything else was pretty lame.

I will definitely be looking at other nearby options next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelingrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Our room had several problems. The cable reception was TERRIBLE, couldn't watch the movie channels because there was so much interference. (Saw this was on another review from a previous year, so it must be an ongoing problem). Our in room fireplace didn't work & we were told we would be given a discount, however upon checkout were informed that they would not do it because the discount would be applied to a travel website. One walls power kept going out, causing the rooms alarm clock to keep resetting.

We left behind a sizeable piece of luggage (including x-mas gifts) & a cell phone charger plugged into the vanaty. The staff did not call us to inform us that our items had been left in the room or put them aside. Had they notified us we could have returned for them the same day or shortly after. When I called the next day we were told that housekeeping didn't "find" anything. I am disgusted with the treatment and dishonesty of the staff.

I am also irate that when I posted a travel review on the website we purchased the room thru... they edited my review & removed the information about my property being stolen and the staffs handling of the situation. I will not book my rooms thru this other website again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garlicriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

We only had the Holiday Inn express booked in Grover Beach as a quick stop over place on our travels. It actually turned out to be be one of the nicest places we stopped at on our holiday and the only place that gave you a complimentary breakfast!
The Holiday Inn was easy to find and our room was large, comfy, very clean, and a fridge too!! The receptionist was really helpful when we asked about places to eat. There isn't much to do in Grover beach or Pismo beach we had planned on hiring dune buggys & going on the beaches, but unfortunately the place had closed down and so it wasn't to be.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Original_Bobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

This hotel is of the expected standard of HIE - the room was of a good size and was clean, but was on the bottom floor of the block at a corner and the outside space was not much use (avoid these rooms if you want to use the balcony).

The pool is fine and breakfast is of the usual standard (acrid orange juice and some other rather odd items, but generally fine). This hotel did us very well and the beach is about 10 mins drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mad_scotty_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The rooms stink and bathrooms are unclean. I paid about $200 per room. Not at all worth staying. The hotel indicated that they are walking distance to the beach, which is not true. The breakfast is O.K. which is the only thing that is acceptable. In the same trip I stayed in Country Inn for $110 and it was far better in quality than the Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vij_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We were on our way up to Monterey from SoCal and decided to stop over in Grover Beach/Pismo area. Our first stop was a Motel 6...just because we were trying to stay on somewhat of a budget. We decided that we should look for a hotel rather than a motel and came across Holiday Inn Express just up the street. WOW....we were sure glad we found it. CLEAN, Large rooms with extra amenities....in room coffee, refrigerator, blow dryer, and comfortable beds. There was a great little breakfast downstairs......and best of all, It didn't even have a hotel smell....which was a huge bonus in itself. The price was very reasonable...it was only about 30 more than the Motel 6.

The only complaints we had were that the shower curtain rod had been bent...and the shower curtain wouldn't stay in place....also, it felt like an expensive hotel until you sat down on the cheap toilet seat (just being honest here). Other than that, we would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ocshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
2.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
884 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Address: 775 N Oak Park Blvd, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range: $112 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing