We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The weekend we went there were several problems. The elevator was broken on the three days we were there. Bringing your luggage up several flights of stairs is no easy task. The Hallways smelled like homeless people lived in them? The staff was trying to fix the odor by opening up all the door and windows in the building. The Door handle broke off in my hand to the main entrance of the building. All the lights were miss matched soft white, white, bright, yellow it looked very tacky and strange. The A.C. units were super old and rusty looked like something from the 70s. The stair well was repaired with sheetrock compound but never painted just leaving the exposed joint compound. Where they decided to paint and repair they used paint that was similar but not the exact same leaving the walls looking like one big patch work project. The shower curtain was not long enough to keep the water off the floor which was creating floor damage. It looks like the repair guy just keeps adding caulk around the tub floor where the wall and floor is rotting. Just buy a longer curtain no caulk needed. There was no toilet seat lid just the seat, Very strange? The good, Breakfast was very good they have the coolest pancake maker that spits out pancakes at the press of a button. Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, yummy sweet roles, sausage, eggs, cereal and more. The staff was really nice and were enjoyable to talk to. The room was very large and our bed was comfortable. So overall if you want a comfortable bed and great breakfast this is a good place to stay. Just hold your nose and have a good sense of humor regarding all the crazy attempts at repairs. Also keep your fingers crossed that the elevator works!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Mark J,

We appreciate you leaving a review on your recent stays with us. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am deeply sorry for any issues you have encountered.

We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We will pass over you comments made to our Maintenance Manager in order to investigate further.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night. We were looking for a hotel right off the freeway and Holiday Inn Express fit our needs well. Parking and WiFi were free. Rooms were comfortable with two queen beds, a TV, a table, a refrigerator and a coffee machine. The friendly lady at the reception gave us bottles of drinking water and small packs of yogurt for our toddler - five stars for service. The breakfast was OK - bagels, biscuits, bread, eggs, bananas... would have loved a bit more variety

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you Karthik S for your review, we love hearing that you had a great stay and that the service was of 5 Star quality! We, as a brand, are revamping our breakfast bar and adding more items to the menu to improve the guests overall experience. We hope that next time you are in the area that you come and see our new changes.

Thank you, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Initially I thought I was getting a property near the beach but found myself inland near Arroyo Grande and the 101 Freeway. I was not happy as I was going to be attending an event in Avila and wanted to stay near the ocean for the next morning's adventure. Surprise. . .not only did we have the best breakfast ever, with hot and cold food, but this very comfortable, quiet, and spacious lodging was near a butterfly grove filled with returning monarchs! Adventure fulfilled after a very comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanesSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

JanesSal, thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. We are happy to hear that we surprised you with our hotel and our breakfast, which will be actually improving in the next few months. We hope that you'll come back soon and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 days. There were a number of things that were wanting. There was no bottled water for all 3 days, we had one hand towel on the second day instead of the 2 we started with, during our first breakfast the eggs, bacon, and gravy were empty and we waited 20 minutes, used coffee cups were left in the room each day, the liner for the ice bucket was not changed until we complained, on the last morning there was no coffee and when I called for coffee the large package was brought up not the one that fit in the coffee maker. We had coffee but had to clean up the spill. It was the worst HIE we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you jerholm for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for the Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach - Pismo Beach Area. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations during your stay with us. The hotel is going through some new and positive changes in the very near future and we would love to welcome you back to stay with us again to see the service we offer. Again, accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. It's our goal to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one, we hope next time we can WOW you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend, so maybe the rates were a little high because of that. I expected something a little nicer for what we paid. On the other hand, the hotel was easy to find right off the freeway, there was plenty of free parking, and the room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was OK. No real good views from this hotel. Overall, probably a good place to stay if all you need is a comfortable bed and a convenient location, not so much if you are hoping for a hotel that is part of your travel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

60sd, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that the hotels location was convenient for you and your needs and that the hotel was comfortable. Thank you, Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was booked very last minute on our journey down the coast and was actually a great place to stop over.
We arrived at about 2pm but the room was ready and we were then able to use the little pool they have.
Room was a good size and clean.
There is no laundry on site but the front desk staff directed us to one just a five minute drive away.
We had dinner at the steak restaurant in the grounds of the hotel and it was really good value for money.
Breakfast the next morning was complimentry and there was a great choice too.
Can highly recommend it and the location is great if you're travelling along Highway 1.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an older hotel with about 3 separate buildings. It had a nice garden and the staff were friendly.
However, after asking for a quiet room, we were given one overlooking the noisy freeway! The balcony was so small that there was no room for chairs let alone a table!
The room was clean and comfortable and nice and big but a bit dark. The bathroom floor flooded because the shower curtain was not long enough to reach the top of the bath! Breakfast was nice but some of the choices we had been used to were missing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the freeway!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandrincruzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
2.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
882 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Address: 775 N Oak Park Blvd, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range: $113 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing