We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 Pismo Beach(Pismo Beach)
$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceano Inn(Oceano)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Plaza Hotel(Oceano)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$153
$142
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Casa Grande Inn(Arroyo Grande)(Great Value!)
$85
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn(Arroyo Grande)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
55
95
51
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
95
51
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspismo beachfront deskplace to staycomplimentary breakfastcinnamon rollsgreat showerconvenient locationbit datedan overnight stayyogurtclean roomsmini fridgenice staybed was very comfortablefreewaysinksbalconies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 237 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right off the 101 freeway, it's very convenient. The entrance is tricky to find as the sign is blocked by plants. We were upgraded to a fireplace suite. Very nice. On the backside of the hotel, so away from the freeway noise. As with every HIX, great shower head, very nice mattress and a satisfying breakfast. Love the cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside of the property, away from the freeway.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and this is our second time to stay here. Like before the hotel was clean, looked clean and smelled fresh. There is a small balcony if you want to drink your coffee and enjoy the crisp cool air. This hotel is within 15 minutes driving distance of anything you might visit in the area. It comes with free WIFI and had a small refrigerator. Adequate size of TV in place but who would want to just watch TV while visiting the Central Coast? Free breakfast is adequate but don`t expect 5 star buffet quality. Remember it was free. Front desk staff is friendly, professional and helpful. Bed is good enough but the pillows are way too small. Whoever made the choice of buying those pillows should be punished by using those pillows for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austriamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location with quiet clean rooms. 10 minutes away from local nude beach, 5 minutes from Pismo beach and town and Sycamore hot tubs. Walk to movies on cold days.
Breakfast included, clean big rooms. Plenty of restaurants in area. Just remodeled and nicer than previous times. So many beaches and great seafood in the area

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an average HIX - certainly not as nice as the SLO property about 15 miles up the road - and not walking distance from the beach. The rooms are not terribly spacious and the HVAC system (wall unit) is functional but a bit antiquated. Checkin was quick and was happy to be pre-assigned to a top floor (3rd) room in the middle of the wing. Nice view of freeway but reasonably quiet. Standard HIX bathroom with curved plastic shower curtain but with 2 sinks. Frig and 32" flat screen, std free wifi. Unimpressive free breakfast which upset my stomach one morning - beware of non-baked items. The bed was lumpy, pillows were mediocre. A broad range of clientele here including families, partyers, etc. but not upscale and mostly 1-night travelers looking for a place off the freeway.

There is a CVS across the freeway if you need provisions, and a Vons down the road towards Grover Beach with a starbucks.

Sad to say, but this property is better than many others in the area, all of which are overpriced due to location and seasonal weekend demand. Was debating the rating - it's really 2* on an overall scale (with Ritz and Four Season at top) but for HIX quality it is close to average, and average for the area, so I'll be generous with 3*. I doubt we will stay here again unless they replace the beds.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor, facing away from freeway.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Boraxo,

I want to personally thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express | Grover Beach - Pismo Beach Area. I'm glad you were able to stay with us during the lovely Central Coast's Summer season. I'm also happy to hear that we had you pre-assigned to a 3rd floor. I'm sorry to hear that you thought that your bed was lumpy, in addition to replacing A/C units we are also swapping out the current beds for new refreshed ones as needed. If you would be kind enough to message me privately letting me know the room number perhaps we can fix this so that your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express | Grover Beach - Pismo Beach Area is perfect. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sam M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the last place available last minute on 4th of July weekend.
Not near beach, but good convenient location just off freeway. We stayed in the rooms facing west so freeway noise really wasn't an issue. Guest noise was kinda annoying as doors were slamming and our neighbor was snoring like a chain saw. Also parking lot noise was noticeable.
The room was generally clean, but there were some annoying things like a grungy A/C unit that really needs to be replaced or at least cleaned. No fan in the bathroom - and apparently the vent in there brings in outside air because it smelled like chinese food for a long time! No guide for the TV,- small thing but really annoying. Internet was good, plenty of speed.
It was fine for 1 night but would trade up to a better place next time.
BTW - eat breakfast at Huckleberrys about 2 exits north off 101 in Pismo. Line looks long but they move em fast. Great food for cheap.

Room Tip: get room facing the back away from the freeway. Also make sure you don't get one next to the elevator
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Californiatripper86,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have you stay with us for the 4th of July Holiday. I apologize for the noise disturbance and the air conditioner. We are in the process of getting new air conditioners to better meet guests needs. I'm glad that you got to try Huckleberrys down the street from us, its a staff favorite. We hope to have you with us again in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews