We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is an average HIX - certainly not as nice as the SLO property about 15 miles up the road - and not walking distance from the beach. The rooms are not terribly spacious and the HVAC system (wall unit) is functional but a bit antiquated. Checkin was quick and was happy to be pre-assigned to a top floor (3rd) room in the middle of the wing. Nice view of freeway but reasonably quiet. Standard HIX bathroom with curved plastic shower curtain but with 2 sinks. Frig and 32" flat screen, std free wifi. Unimpressive free breakfast which upset my stomach one morning - beware of non-baked items. The bed was lumpy, pillows were mediocre. A broad range of clientele here including families, partyers, etc. but not upscale and mostly 1-night travelers looking for a place off the freeway.

There is a CVS across the freeway if you need provisions, and a Vons down the road towards Grover Beach with a starbucks.

Sad to say, but this property is better than many others in the area, all of which are overpriced due to location and seasonal weekend demand. Was debating the rating - it's really 2* on an overall scale (with Ritz and Four Season at top) but for HIX quality it is close to average, and average for the area, so I'll be generous with 3*. I doubt we will stay here again unless they replace the beds.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor, facing away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Boraxo,

I want to personally thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express | Grover Beach - Pismo Beach Area. I'm glad you were able to stay with us during the lovely Central Coast's Summer season. I'm also happy to hear that we had you pre-assigned to a 3rd floor. I'm sorry to hear that you thought that your bed was lumpy, in addition to replacing A/C units we are also swapping out the current beds for new refreshed ones as needed. If you would be kind enough to message me privately letting me know the room number perhaps we can fix this so that your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express | Grover Beach - Pismo Beach Area is perfect. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sam M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the last place available last minute on 4th of July weekend.
Not near beach, but good convenient location just off freeway. We stayed in the rooms facing west so freeway noise really wasn't an issue. Guest noise was kinda annoying as doors were slamming and our neighbor was snoring like a chain saw. Also parking lot noise was noticeable.
The room was generally clean, but there were some annoying things like a grungy A/C unit that really needs to be replaced or at least cleaned. No fan in the bathroom - and apparently the vent in there brings in outside air because it smelled like chinese food for a long time! No guide for the TV,- small thing but really annoying. Internet was good, plenty of speed.
It was fine for 1 night but would trade up to a better place next time.
BTW - eat breakfast at Huckleberrys about 2 exits north off 101 in Pismo. Line looks long but they move em fast. Great food for cheap.

Room Tip: get room facing the back away from the freeway. Also make sure you don't get one next to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Californiatripper86,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to have you stay with us for the 4th of July Holiday. I apologize for the noise disturbance and the air conditioner. We are in the process of getting new air conditioners to better meet guests needs. I'm glad that you got to try Huckleberrys down the street from us, its a staff favorite. We hope to have you with us again in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We got the last room. We had to pay for the upgraded king room with a fireplace which bites in June anyway. It appeared that the fireplace doors didn't work even if we had wanted to use it. The real problem was that our air conditioner dripped water. Maintenance came twice but couldn't fix it....just put a bucket under it and let it drip. Staff was friendly and the place was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tjshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Tjshade,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your open and candid comments. I would like to first express my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with the A/C unit, we are currently in the process of updating our A/C units so that an issue of this magnitude doesn't happen again. I'm happy to hear that my hotel was not only clean but that my staff was friendly, our hotel prides itself in having sincere, genuine, and friendly staff members.

Thank you again,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is a decent hotel. It is a bit far from the beach, but then again the beach is not much to write home about. A friend suggested I check out Pismo, so I did.

The rooms are clean, and a lot more modern and comfortable than other Holiday Inn Express properties I have used. Shower was very good. Soaps good. Electrical outlets a bit hard to find. Complementary coffee and tea all day in the main office.

Why the three star rating? Well, I am not fond of the fact that the buildings being separate. The main office is separate from the two other buildings. Thankfully I had good weather. Next, the walls are a bit thin. There were some loud kids outside playing some games, and you could hear them quite well. The parking in some cases is on a hill that is higher that can look right into your room. No view in any direction.

Location is not too terrible, though. Right down the road is a very nice set of outlet stores - Tommy, Polo, Guess, Sketchers, Nike, etc. Highway entrance is right there...

I paid $82 on Hotwire (3* hotel in Pismo). It was as low as $77 before moving up bit by bit.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. I'd try to find another property in Pismo first before settling on this one, however then again, I'm not sure I'd be stopping in Pismo again anytime soon.

Room Tip: Hotwire booking - $75-85 for 3* hotel in Pismo Beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsk9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear tsk9383,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed the shower. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your feedback is very important to us. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the property and room accommodations caused by the noise. Rest assured, your review will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked this hotel on our way from la to sfo. Rooms were simple but clean and comfy bed. Internet was free and breakfast was very simple but enough for us. Bagels, cereals, toast, jam butter, coffee tea. Some fruits. Perfect if you travel from la to sfo or vv.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank hoodyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Archie L,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to give us your candid comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to have you and your furry friend back with us in the near future!

Thank you again,
Sam M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a clean well kept hotel. There is a pretty good restaurant next door. We took our small dog so we were relegated to the lower floor directly across from the driveway and restaurant so (due to traffic and young people running around upstairs) it was pretty noisy late into the evening.
There was a pretty good breakfast set up at 6:30a.
We had an issue with Hotels.com when we had to cut our five day trip down to 3 days and we did not receive a refund for the 2 days.. The hotels a nice place though.... conveniently located and the staff is great!

Room Tip: Stay off the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in February for his birthday. We got to get away not only from the kids but from outside noises both day & at night! While our stay was definitely too short, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. We had never stayed in this area and were nervous about what we would get. We were both very happy with our stay here and highly recommend this location to anyone looking to be in the area. We plan on returning every year for his birthday!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SABRINAM532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
905 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,442 reviews
5.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
1,057 reviews
2.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Address: 775 N Oak Park Blvd, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range: $105 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing