We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found bed bugs in the beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found bed bugs in the beds.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I checked in after a long day of driving, the rooms we a little dingy and the carpets were old and looked dirty; as we layed down for the night I noticed something crawling on bed so I killed it, turned on the lights I had no idea what the bug was until I googled it on my phone real quick it turned out to be a bed bug; we instantly packed up got a refund and went to a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scardoza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Scardoza1,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the unusual condition of our hotel that fell below your expectations and any inconvenience this may have caused you. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with our room accommodations. After you departed from the hotel a third party came and inspected the room and no bed bugs and/or traces of bed bugs were present. However, we do appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention so that we can address them immediately.

Sincerely,

Sam M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
70
76
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff was great to work with and great with directions to great locations. Did all of our travel on our bike pedals once we check in. The shower head was fabulous,the outside spa was clean, the expanded continental breakfast was exceptional. And a Great steakhouse within a 5 minute walk with tasty food.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk what you need to sleep soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I occasionally stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels because they are generally up to date, clean, and reasonably priced. This hotel, however, needs a serious renovation. Everything about this hotel shows that it was once some other motel that was converted and whitewashed to make it a HIE. The carpets are dirty, the rooms are small, there are balconies but they are not appealing or anywhere you would actually want to go out onto, and the beds and pillows are below the standard of most HIEs. The people were friendly, but the property needs some serious work.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Simpkeys,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your recent stay. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. Please allow me to apologize for the unusual condition of our hotel that fell below your expectations and any inconvenience this may have caused you. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with our room accommodations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grover Beach hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel has a great location. It’s right off the highway but not so close that noise becomes a problem. There are a lot of fast food and restaurant choices in the area. There’s also a few shopping centers nearby. It’s probably 8 miles inland of the coast in a more business friendly area.

Breakfast was great with a selection of the usual continental fair plus bacon and biscuits and gravy. Check-in was seamless and friendly. Wireless was one of the fastest I’ve had in an hotel. Beds had plenty of pillows but were a little soft.

There’s not a whole lot to say about the hotel beyond that. It’s simply a place to stay for those that don’t care about seeing the ocean from their rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spankytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

First, I booked the hotel using Hotwire. Never will do that again, as it saved only $15 per night and would have moved hotels after the first night if it was not pre-paid and non-refundable. I think we probably got the worst room and since we did not book with Holiday Inn Express, did not have any bargaining power. Our room was along a busy side street that the front-desk person said quiets down at night...NOT! I found the room to be very dingy (carpets, walls, furniture). The carpet down the hallway did not seem to be vacuumed the three days we were there. Personnel at the front desk were not very helpful as far as assisting with recommendations. Continental breakfast was poor quality and needed to be replenished. My final thought is you get what you pay for. It might be OK with kids, but I found it lacking in every area. All my posts to Trip Advisor have always been a rating of excellent. This one not...sorry.

Room Tip: Stay as far as you can from the side street...noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BDD_11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear BDD_11_12,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here while taking the coastal route. Didn't plan to stay in Pismo, but the day was just so beautiful we hated to leave without seeing the sunset over the Pacific.

Room was clean and comfortable and near the beach.

Room Tip: The hotel is built along the side of a mountain. If you're traveling with heavy luggage ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szyque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of a family holiday in August. we stayed two nights on our way to Disneyland. We were very pleased with our choice as this hotel was a great little base. The service at the front desk was very friendly and advice always forthcoming. the rooms were typical HI Express and very clean. There was a small pool which we had to ourselves for two days and the kids loved it. Breakfast was good and the location was good too. AJ Spurs steakhouse next door serves great food.

Room Tip: Got a good deal through Hot-wire
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmattersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
0.3 mi away
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
Best Western Casa Grande Inn
#1 of 5 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.7 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande/Pismo Beach Area
5.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
Address: 775 N Oak Park Blvd, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing