We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth the price” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Grover Beach B&B and Inns
San Rafael
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We are the most accepting travelers you'll ever meet - we consider a Motel 6 to be like the Taj Mahal.... that being said, this place was so awful you had to laugh.. BYOT (toilet paper!) - The TP was like the stuff you find when you're using a porta potty. This place had no: ice, glasses, blankets, AIR CONDITIONING, clock, hangars, coffee in the rooms, need I go on. Honestly, it was a mess. However, I have to say that the beds/pillows were actually super comfortable and I slept better than I do at most other hotels. So go figure. As long as we were asleep, the place was fine. And BTW, there's a reason why nobody's ever heard of Grover Beach. It's definitely not a tourist destination. Just sayin. And this place cost us $75 for a Friday night! Really not worth that price. Maybe a great steal at $45.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_traveler483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    6
    41
See reviews for
10
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. Read poor reviews. But one said they have new beds and are renovating. So we gave the place a chance.....and should not have!!!
We checked in at 9pm and were tired from our full day. Room carpet is old and looked dirty, dust on tv, & tables in room. Dresser drawers wouldn't close without shoving hard--stains on top of dresser & dust-laden Tv on dresser. Weird old table next to bed--dusty. What, no housekeeping?
No bathmat to step onto--can slip on wet tile floors.
A weirdly placed mirror that was probably bought at a yard sale hung in the bathroom between sink and shower.
The Lobby was not inviting. And should have been our clue.
Sheets were clean but no blanket..just thin bedspread, so need to keep heater on to stay comfortable. I mentioned my concerns to owner when we checked out....he didn't say anything. I told him I'll never stay there again.
If they are upgrading. Just new paint will not work. And not at their prices....I've stayed at Motel 6 and had a better room!
Won't be back...won't recommend at all!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Loretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grover Beach hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We paid 57$ incl tax for one night. Nice king bed. The carpet was dirty, the interior really need to be fixed and it was reasonably clean. Not more. No breakfast, but one block away there is a 7/11 where we bought sandwiches and tea. The motel had a very low budget feeling and we would recommend another place to stay if you can spend some more dollars.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningAround42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Grover Beach Inn. This hotel was recently acquired by a hardworking entrepreneur - Kevin Shukla. Like most small businessmen, Kevin is working hard to bring the hotel up to his standards. He first replaced the beds to insure his customers a good night's sleep. He is working on paint and fixtures now. While this hotel is not at "resort" standards, it was clean and comfortable. Kevin was responsive and eager to please when we encountered a few "quirks" with the plumbing. The hotel is within blocks of the beach and the price more than compensated for the work Kevin is still completing. If you want a nice vacation on the California coast with a comfortable night's rest at a very accomodating price - you have found your place... and supporting a local small business owner is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CABudgetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place has been recently renovated by the new owner Kevin, and the place looks great! Perfect location maybe 2 blocks from the beach and 1/2 mile from Pismo. Stayed on a Wednesday night and payed only $43! Kevin is more than willing to accommodate you with your every need and gave some great tips on the local 5 cities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTUDEHOPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

When we read the reviews we were scared. When we got there it was not as bad as the reviews. The sheets where new and the room was remodeled new paint and carpet. when speeking to the owner he said he had just bought it so he was working to remodel all the rooms. I saw no roachs or rodents. The beach is just a couple of blocks away. At night we drove down on the beach right there and had a camp fire. We loved it the room is cheap and the are lots of things to see the butterfly trail is right down the street too. Its worth the trip. we had plenty of towels the owner was very polite. I would take my daughter back. Planning another trip in April.

Room Tip: The rooms by the office are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janicehyns48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Definitely the worst hotel i have ever seen let alone had the misfortune to stay in for a night. The walls are peeling paint and dirty. The carpet had lice and grease and dirt dirt dirt. The bathroom toilet seat was broken with masking tape on it to fix it. The toilet itself was dirty and the shower was full of mold and smelled of rotten eggs. There were bed bugs in the bed. When I asked the manager to clean the room, he said, "we don't do that here, we only provide sheets and towels. It is the responsibility of the customer to clean and you see how they treat the place." Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room for any reason. You will regret the experience and may need a doctor to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 9Countriesofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grover Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
2.3 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn

Property: Pacific Inn
Address: 150 and 135 S. 5th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433 (Formerly Grover Beach Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful 45-room property, with amazing weather, and many local attractions just a few miles or even feet away. Such as the lovely local Grover Beach within 1-2 blocks from the motel, and Pismo Beach, Avila Beach Pier, and the sand dunes perfect for a ride on the 4-wheel drive, for a small fee. We welcome visitors and newcomers, and support our troops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pacific Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grover Beach Hotel Grover Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing