We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch”
Review of Izakaya Raku

Izakaya Raku
Ranked #12 of 56 Restaurants in Grover Beach
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed lunch here, two grandparents, two teenage girls, and all were happy. We picked from the combo lunch menu where you get "one from column A, two from column B" and the possible combinations are boggling! Everyone got just what they wanted, including an non-sushi eating grandparent. With drinks, the bill came to about $45 for fresh, tasty and good sized portions. The Rainbow roll is excellent, and the iced green tea good as well. Would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrZ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
389 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We live walking distance from Yanagi. Like the food but hate the atmosphere. Feel so rushed! The music is loud and obnoxious! Then we found the sushi oasis! Love this place. Darling nice servers. Fresh amazing sushi. Poke is awesome. I will not eat sushi anywhere else in south county. Tempura light but substantial. Chamisal is their house wine ... Need I say more?

Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande
2 reviews
“Always a good time!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I always have a great time and the food is great too! Very friendly crew! Popcorn lobster roll is over the top, and I like the salmon, yellow tail and albacore sushi!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geewiz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a great Japanese/sushi place. We love their specials and the creativity of the dishes, non traditional take on some of the traditional dishes. Try something you've never had (or heard of before). Very nice staff. Great spot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLOtownStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good meal at affordable price”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The lunch specials were satisfying and fresh. The children's meals were very filling. My sons liked the Ninja special with the Udon noodles. It is a very small place that closes between lunch and dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Raku also viewed

Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Grover Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Izakaya Raku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing