We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The lodge just outside Yosemite is in a good location if you are visiting the park. Basic clean rooms with all usual facilities like fridge and coffee machine. There is also a self service laundry which was useful to us as we were half way through our tour. $1.50 each machine load and $2 for one pack of soap.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    369
    142
    51
    25
See reviews for
308
332
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great place to stay outside of the park. Reasonable too. Was a bit concerned when I made my reservation on line and when I was checking in they charged us $11.00 for an extra person?? Phones didn't work in our room (couldn't dial out) the owner, when I asked to use there phone told me to buy a calling card !!!! He wasn't accommodating at ALL (Cell phones didn't work ... No service)

Room Tip: Don't plan on the couch/fold out to be cozy. It's not !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, soft towels, friendly staff. They have a pool. Nice restaurant near by. Price is affordable. We've paid around $130 for Saturday night. Next time we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Yuliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share this with others your wonderful review of our property. Glad you enjoyed the pool and soft towels.

You can also let the folks know how you feel at Buck Meadows Restaurant and Bar on buckmeadowsrestaurant.com

Come back and see us again and book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We got a last minute room on expedia and it turned out great. We had snow the night we stayed there. Very cozy place, helpful staff. Great location, very close to the entrance of the park. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orb353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were thrilled to receive your perfect review of our property Yosemite West Gate Lodge! You were lucky to see the beautiful Spring snow fall.

Come back and see all of the Spring flowers that are in full bloom and book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Picked this place for our recent stay in Yosemite based on positive TripAdvisor reviews and am glad we did. Yes, it's a bit of a drive into the Valley (12 miles to west entrance of the park and then maybe another 20 or so to the valley floor) - might be about 45 minutes to an hour but wow, so many jaw-dropping gorgeous views especially after the recent snowfalls, I really didn't mind the extra driving time - just think of it as viewing a panoramic nature movie and allow yourself time to stop and take photos (best if you're driving with someone you can share the driving with so you can take turns driving or admiring the scenery).

The facility is clean and well maintained, looks like it was renovated recently. Setting is quiet and peaceful. Our room had all the conveniences we like - microwave, fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer. Plenty of space for our family of 4, beds were comfy, staff helpful and courteous. Only a couple minor quibbles - the door to our room looked like it would benefit from some weather-stripping since we could see under it (we had a drop cloth in the car that we used as a draft guard so it wasn't a problem), and the hot water faucet in the bathroom sink was a bit tricky because it didn't shut off easily, you sort of had to move it back and forth to find the "off" position - we mentioned both of these items when we checked out and the man behind the desk said that they'd get it fixed.

A good value IMO, esp. since the only thing you could get in the valley at this price range is probably the tent cabins with the shared bathroom/shower facility. The restaurant next door was also nice - family friendly, reasonably priced, good size portions.

So, overall, great place to stay for a Yosemite trip as long as you don't mind the added driving to get to and from the park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyCatsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

So, glad to have you as a guest here at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the trip from here to the Valley floor and appreciated that there are many spectacular views along the way.

We are fortunate to be nestled here in the Stanislaus National Forest offering our guests the perfect Mountain retreat.

Come back and see all of the Spring flowers that are in full bloom and book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel was perfect for us after hiking all day in Yosemite National Park. The price was right and the location was not too far from the park. The rooms were large and had a nice big fridge for our water/snacks that we brought to the park with us each day. They do have free wi-fi, however the signal was very weak at night. We found the signal to work much better in the morning, or out in the parking lot also.
The bar/restaurant next door has good food but closes at 9pm so plan ahead if you plan on being out at the park all day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Anne-Marie,

Glad you were able to come and relax after hiking in our beautiful Yosemite National Park!

All of our rooms have refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker for your convenience.

You can also leave a review for the Buck Meadows Restaurant and Lounge. They appreciate hearing from our guests.

Come back and see all of the Spring flowers that are in full bloom and book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place was just the right spot for us,12 miles outside the park.
It was easy to access and a comfortable place to relax after a day of hiking and exploring.
The restaurant next door had good affordable food and a family atmosphere for those traveling with children.
The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Nancy,

We are always so happy to find our guests have positive reviews of our property. We thank you for taking the time to share this with others.

You can also let the folks know how you feel at Buck Meadows Restaurant and Bar on buckmeadowsrestaurant.com

Come back and see us again and book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Regards,
Kristy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Property: Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing