We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for and the some”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for and the some”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a wonderful place!
First of all all, the price - i would suggest booking on Westgate's website. With the deal they had we ended up paying $66 per night.
Rooms - place has been recently redone and i mean the carpet's still soft. We got the room on the 1st floor and were a little worried about the noise, but we haven't heard anything from neither upstairs nor the next door room. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Kahaz:

High Five! Wow! We are so thrilled to have received a Perfect Score Review from you for your stay at Yosemite Westgate. We couldn't be happier to see that all of our hard work paid off to bring you a cheery stay. We have built Yosemite Westgate Lodge as THE PLACE TO STAY when visiting Yosemite from Northern California.

We hope to see you again. Next time directly on our website at yosemitewestgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

See you again,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    370
    142
    51
    25
See reviews for
308
334
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Good place to stay, very comfortable and in the middle of yosemite valley but a little pricey. We had booked another cabin nearby but as it wasn't comfortable we went about finding another hotel. We were very lucky to find this in the middle of night around 12:30am. we woke up the owners and they were more than willing to register us for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathyaraj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Cracking 3 nights stay. We did our research on trip advisor and it lived up to expectations. Room was very comfortable with good shower. Good night was had downstairs in the bar, food and drink was excellent. Only an hours drive into Yosemite Valley, but this was in October so guessing longer in peak season.

Room Tip: Book early if staying over a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Ian:

Thanks for taking the time to leaving us a positive review of your stay at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. We're glad that you found what you read right here on TripAdvisor to be accurate and live up to your expectations. We work really hard to make sure The Westgate Lodge is one of the best places to stay when visiting Yosemite.

We hope to see you again in the future. Next time directly on our website at yosemitewestgate.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Thank You!

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

this place is absolutely fine as a place to stay for access to yosemite - it is a long way out if you are going every day into the park every day but we used it as a overnight the day before going in and it did the job.
couldn't get the coffee machine to work and the shower was pretty hopeless, but the beds were comfy and the room was warm.
what got this place the very good rating however was the dinner attached to it. Great diner food (enormous meal), incredibly friendly service and a good atmosphere. Definitely worth saving a few cents and eating here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattie_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nothing fancy but the location so close to the park was fantastic. And the price was so incredible. The front desk extended our rate for an extra day as we wanted to stay another night and spend another day in the park.
Rooms are large, clean and comfy. There are fridges, microwaves and coffee makers in the room. All the basics you want. It is a great place to stay outside the park but yet be close to everything. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at Yosemite Lodge in early October, during the government shutdown. Rooms were newly updated and very clean and comfortable. Check-in and out was quick and easy, everyone very pleasant. Although the park was closed, this hotel is close to the entrance. Ate at the restaurant next door several times. Food was excellent and staff is very friendly. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Darlene:

We are so sorry you had to deal with the incompetence of our Congress and had your vacation impacted by the Governent Closure. We are pleased, however, that you had a great stay and shared such a sentiment with the TripAdvisor Community. We work really hard to provide one of the best places to stay when visiting Yosemite and kind words like yours help highlight this.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save even more!

Thanks,

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a trip that included Yosemite. We stayed at the Westgate Lodge for two nights. The recent fire came VERY close to this property - walk behind the buildings and you can see the fire line - so there is still a slightly smoky smell to the area. Not pervasive, mostly pleasant.

Check in was quick and easy. Alyssa set us up, gave us the free wifi password, and gave us the scoop on the restaurant next door.

Our room was large and very clean with new furnishings and a very update bathroom. The sheets were new, and a little on the rough side, but the bed clothes were really clean. The carpet was brand new and still very clean. We had a small coffeepot and good sized mini-fridge, both of which we used. The coffee maker was fine, but their brand of coffee wasn't great.

It was cool while we were there, so we didn't try the pool. The hot tub was not really clean enough for our comfort level.

The one drawback, which is NOT the hotel's fault, is that there is NO cell service in this area. There is free wifi, but that won't help you make a phone call. You'll have to go all the way into Groveland, to the very highest point, to get a decent cell signal. My husband has Verizon and I have AT&T and neither of us had a signal.

That being said, we went all around the park and this hotel really does seem to be the closest to Yosemite Valley sites. Even those hotels in the park itself aren't as close, and the roads to get their are steep, windy, and narrow.

There is a three-day cancellation policy, which we understood upfront and were prepared to invoke when the government shutdown closed the parks. We got to see most of what we wanted to see there anyway, shutdown or no.

If you go, eat at the Buck Meadows Restaurant next door. Food and staff are wonderful. Fun atmosphere, great beer options.

Room Tip: If it's a busy season, ask for a room on the top floor. If you're on the lower level, you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlannerRaleighNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

I wanted to personally take the time to thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of your stay at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. Such reviews really help our business tremendously.

We'd love to host you again. Book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our lowest rates. In fact, use the promo code tripadvisor and save $5 per night!

Thanks,

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Property: Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing