We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go back every year !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our first stop on our annual Yosemite/Hwy395 road trip . We like to make it our base camp for a few days while we go see Yosemite Village,Groveland,Evergreen area. Our daily goal is to be back to the pool and dinner by 5:00 ! The pool area could use some maintainance but other than that, the staff is friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: They are all good that I have been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calio65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for coming to stay with us every year. As you have probably seen, we reinvest in our property significantly to want you to come back and visit every year. We do apologize if the pool area needed some attention -- we have been working on replanting the plants in the area and sprucing the pool area up. Next time you come visit, you'll see some improvements in our landscaping.

When you visit next year, be sure to book directly with us at YosemiteWestgate.com!

Thank You,

Lucy - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 915 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved how close this was to one of the entrances/exits out of Yosemite but keep in mind there is not much else near this hotel. The room was nice and spacious and it was equipped with a mini fridge and a microwave. As you are leaving Yosemite there is a General Store along the way so you may want to pick up some snacks and drinks to store in your room. The one down side is we were on the second floor and had to walk our luggage up the stairs; luckily the staircase is not too steep.

We made the error of leaving through a different Yosemite exit (Mariposa) on our second day so we could find some spots to eat. We did find many options of places to eat but we had to take Route 49 to Route 120 which was very curvy and scary at night with no lights. Next time we'll just load up at the General Store or eat at the restaurant next to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paris1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest:

I wanted to take the time to thank you for leaving such a stellar review of our hotel Yosemite Westgate Lodge. Reviews like yours help future guests better plan their trip. We thank you for your advice to guests and positive marks.

Do spread the word and come visit us again. You can book direct with us and save at YosemiteWestgate.com.

Regards,

Lucy - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We live about an hour from west gate but after camping a week & driving 10 hours decided to stop. What a gem! Daughter loved the pool & swing set. I loved the hot shower, coffee pot, blow dryer, & comfy pillows. Can't wait to visit in winter...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCM599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. Please do come back and visit us. Next time, book directly at YosemiteWestgate.com and find our lowest rates.

Hope to see you again,

Lucy - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the location of the lodge, it's the nearest accommodation to the west entrance of Yosemite. The rooms were spacious clean & well presented & it was great having free wifi. The reception staff were friendly & helpful, they advised us to visit Rainbow pool (3 miles down the road) which was a lovely natural water pool & waterfall - it was great taking a dip in the pool after a long drive. The staff were great about advising an alternative route to avoid the mountain roads of the 120 as we left to make towards Carmel. The restaurant next door comes highly recommended too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezzab67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Kezza:

THANK YOU! Your awesome, Perfect Score, review really makes us super happy. Our staff and ownership really work hard to make The Yosemite Westgate Lodge the best place to stay in regards to comfort, location, and value when visiting Yosemite and your review really affirms the hard work we put in day in and day out.

We hope we get to see you again. Book directly at yosemitewestgate.com and come visit us again.

Regards,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic place. All the rooms have recently been redone and are fantastic. Splurge and get a deluxe room on the end and you have more room than you can imagine. Our room had a microwave and fridge along with a coffee maker. The staff was very kind and helpful. I highly recommend you stay here. You can't get any closer the the park entrance. Thanks for helping us with a great vacation.

Room Tip: Get a suite, it is worth the little bit extra - lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetaH0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Leta:

WOW! Thanks for the Perfect Score review. We are always excited to receive such glowing reviews. Staff and ownership work really hard to make Yosemite Westgate Lodge The Place to Stay when visiting Yosemite and reviews such as yours really help highlight our hard work, so thank you.

Yes, to book all of our different room types, book directly at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our Queen Deluxe and several King size room types.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the property for just 2 nights on August 1-2. We arrived several hours ahead of check in time, but thought we'd stop before heading to the park to see if we could atleast drop luggage off. The person checking us in said our room was not ready yet, but she would let us in so we could drop off our luggage. The only thing not ready were the beds being made, and we really appreciated being able to drop our bags off, and re-arrange our things for spending the rest of the day at the park. There is not much else close to this except Buckmeadow restaurant next door. You can drive into Groveland - probably another 15+ minutes up the road, but at the end of a long day of hiking, we enjoyed just being able to walk next door. The rooms had a microwave, mini-fridge and the shower/toilet were separate from the sink. The bathrooms look like they have recently been redone and were spacious for 3 of us trying to get ready at the same time. If we come back to Yosemite, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Working2Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This lodge was clean, great location to the park, and a very yummy restaurant next door. However, upon arrival the manager and staff were very rude to us. They questioned our reservation and number of people in our party. I explained to the manager that I had called when I booked the room on May 16 and the person I spoke with said all would be fine. After much debate and additional cost we were given a room. We stayed for two nights and on the second day our room wasn't cleaned or given new towels.
Not a customer friendly place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jlatkins55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Jlatkins:

I wanted to personally write to you to apologize for your poor experience at check in at Yosemite Westgate Lodge and consequently any issues that might have arisen due to the your party's extra persons. Our property does charge extra person fees and they are assessed at check in so we apologize if there was any miscommunication.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to leave us a review and hope you give us a second chance to make things right. Please book directly at yosemitewestgate.com to get the lowest rates and accurate reservation details.

Sincerely,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
553 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
593 reviews
15.7 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,201 reviews
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $103 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing