We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable/Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My hubby and I stayed her May 1,2 and 3rd of 2013, got a awesome deal thru Groupon. I must say I was very impressed. We did get the Bridalvale Suite, which has a king size bed, 2 TV's, fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and a beautiful relaxing view from the back windows. This is on the 2nd floor, but the way it is set up when you look out the back windows you look like you are on the 1st floor, due to the hillside. Did not feel like a Hotel stay at all...very comfortable, clean, and quite!! A nice restaurant next door, Buck Meadows Restaurant. They are located about 12 miles to the entrance of Yosemite, then it is about another 12 miles from the gate to Yosemite Valley.

Room Tip: If you have the option, take the Bridalvale room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mzpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 924 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived late afternoon straight from San Francisco. I read from one of the reviews in TRIP ADVISOR , that management tend to be cranky towards late night check-in and so we made sure we checked in before 10pm. :) The front desk personnel during our visit was quite accommodating , we just presented our online booking voucher printout and we were settled in our room in a breeze. very nice !! These small things matter especially after a long drive :)
The facilities were decent. Nice big flat screen with lots of cable channels. We booked a room midweek and so we got a great rate at $150 for 2 nights. Since Cellphone coverage in the area was poor, the free wifi provided was very welcome.

We opted to drive down 6 miles to Groveland for our dinners, and were pleasantly surprised with the nice pizza joints in the area. We tried out "2 guys pizza" and we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: We were booked on the first floor and this was helpful, especially when you would need to bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dennis:

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Please visit us again. Book your next stay directly at yosemitewestgate.com and enter tripadvisor in the promo code section in order to save $5 per night!

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in their Bridalveil Suite, it seemed to have been recently updated and was nicely furnished. The big bed seemed more comfortable than the usual motel room bed but wasn't the California King they said it was in the description, probably a regular King sized. The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was a real treat after hiking and biking around Yosemite Park for 8 hours. Everything was clean and pleasant, nothing to complain about here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BekaEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Firstly, for $140 / night during off-season I expected something more than a cheap basic motel quality. The rooms were worth perhaps $70-80, as most other American Best Value Inn hotels charge. No breakfast is included or even offered, and a restaurant around the corner is mediocre as well.
But most insulting was the fact that they charged me $28 for the towels that they accused me of stealing! I travel extensively around the world on both business and pleasure, and this is the first time anything like this happened to me! When I called the owner to discuss this he was rude and abrupt, so I am disputing this through my credit card. Will add to this as events develop.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polyflon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

We wanted to address your review. First, we apologize that you had a mediocre stay at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. Our property is one of the closest and most modern lodging faciities nearby Yosemite and we strive very hard to make sure to provide high quality lodging to those visiting Yosemite. So we certainly apologize for your poor stay.

In regards to the charge for the towels. We inventory all linen daily and do charge guests for missing, damaged, or stolen laundry.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I can take a pretty firm bed but these were a bit to hard even for me. Housekeeping could have been a little better as there was popcorn on the floor under the edge of the bed and we were not eating popcorn! The small hot-tub was cooler than it should have been. They did have several seating areas around the grounds which we used to play board games in the evening. The play set was nice if you have children under the age of 12 (the posted limit of use). Was convenient to Hetch Hetchy were we went hiking on Saturday and then not to far to Yosemite Valley when we checked out on Sunday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k8kennelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was a lovely hotel, very lodgy feeling which was nice for where it is. Its only a short drive to the park entrance and excellent value considering the price to stay inside the park jumps exorbitantly. Rooms were clean and comfortable, all the usual things you'd hope for, and no issues with anything. Bathroom was massive and we were offered a jacuzzi suite as an uograde which was cool. We were grateful for this considering they had not honoured our American Best Value Inn membership card saying the website we'd booked through already gave us a discount. We weren't so sure about this but the upgrade was a very nice gesture so I guess we cant complain there. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Upstairs if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neridabronwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in room 503 on 4/29/2013. The room had recently been refurbished and if it wasn't new it was painted. The room size was average and bed bed linens were new. The room had the light sensors that would turn off lights that it did not sense activity near them. This was nice feature. The temperature was just right outside and I did not need the heat or ac. The front desk gal was helpful and friendly. This property is 11 miles east of Groveland which makes it closer to yosemite than any place in groveland. There was restaurant within walking distance that I went to for both dinner and breakfast. It was pretty good. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
15.7 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
832 reviews
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: $111 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing